Slimer!

I tried to fight through it this morning, but by mid-day, there was no denying how incredibly exhausted I am.  Ever since my car accident a few weeks ago, I haven’t been sleeping well.  Last night was definitely the worst of it; I barely slept 4 hours.

insomnia

When I got up this morning, I was so tired I felt sick.  Like a hangover without the fun the night before, I was incredibly nauseated and had a splitting headache.  I even had to lie back down during my morning routine because I felt so lousy.  Not a fun way to start the day. Sad smile

Luckily, my stomach settled down and a little coffee seemed to help my headache, which was definitely a good thing because I had plans with my co-workers to go out to breakfast!  Since today was our last full day of school and the next 2 days will be taken up with an awards ceremony and class picnic, we didn’t have any planning to do during our planning time.  It was quite the treat to leave for a little while and have breakfast out! 

2011-06-09_17-20-33_591

I’m used to a pretty light breakfast, but I wanted to be social and hang out with my co-workers, so I ordered eggs, toast, and hash brown casserole.  Our meal was taking a little longer than usual, so the server brought us complimentary biscuits and gravy.  All of it was pretty “meh” and if I had been with close friends or family, I probably would have had a few bites and just waited for something more appealing for lunch.  But my co-workers sometimes comment about my weight, and I felt like I had to eat in front of them.  Do you know what I mean?  It’s not that I don’t eat or that I don’t love to eat, I just really want to eat a). when I’m hungry and b). food that tastes good!  For some reason, I felt like I had to save face.  So I ate the whole thing.  And proceeded to feel absolutely awful for the rest of the morning and into the afternoon. 

Stupid stupid stupid!  And yet, if I were in the same situation again, I’m not sure I’d do it differently.  I just really hate when people comment on my weight or eating habits and I’d rather avoid the situation. 

Anyway . . . what’s done is done.  Just curious to know whether anyone else can relate?  Please tell me I’m not the only one who does stupid stuff like this! 


Determined to feel better, I went for a slow but steady 5 mile run this afternoon and sat by the pool for about an hour before dinner.  I was hoping the pool would be more relaxing, but there were a lot of kiddos there, and I needed quiet time, so I headed home to make a smoothie fit for Slimer!

slimer

It’s a little hard to tell from the pic, but this guy was disgustingly GREEN! I went a little overboard with my spinach, so I added a heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder to take the edge off the spinach flavor. Usually, I can’t taste the spinach in my green monsters, but I guess I was too heavy-handed tonight. The cocoa powder rescued it, though! Smile

006

I also enjoyed a ginormous bowl of strawberries alongside.

010

I was hoping a light, fresh dinner would get me closer to feeling 100%, but I think the lack of sleep is winning out.

I’m dedicating the rest of my evening to resting and an early bedtime!  Cross your fingers that I can actually sleep tonight!

Questions of the evening:

Have you ever been in a situation where you felt like you had to eat something, but you didn’t want to?  How did you handle it?

Do you ever have trouble sleeping?  What helps you?

15 thoughts on “Slimer!

    • I guess we are the only ones who know exactly what goes into our bodies! Admittedly, these co-workers aren’t the healthiest eaters and they think that my running is preposterous (they don’t work out at all), so we just have a different mentality about health and fitness. I guess that’s ok. 🙂

  1. Renee Byard says:

    I’ll eat just about anything, BUT….biscuits and gravy just remind me of a “heart attack on a plate” I can’t being myself to try it……guess I’m still an East coast girl at heart. Don’t think you need an excuse with something like that~ YUCK!
    Hate when I can’t sleep and the more I try the longer I’m awake.
    PS….try “word’s with friends” (me) or “Angry Bird’s”, cause drowsiness too~ 🙂
    PSS..Advil PM or Tylenol PM

    • I used to think the same thing about biscuits and gravy, but my ex used to order it all the time and once I tried a bite. Yes, a heart attack on a plate, but also SO freaking good!!! I only have a couple bites every once in a great while. 🙂

      A cocktail of half a xanax and 2 Tylenol Simply Sleep is on the menu for tonight! I’ll let you know how it works!

  2. I had a really hard time sleeping after some friends died in a car accident a few years back (i was not in the car though). The one thing I finally found that worked was falling asleep in front of the TV. I was able to disconnect for a few minutes, and have my mind focused on something else.
    Most of the time when I go out with friends, I buy a small appetizer or something like that, and then eat at home (mostly to save money). They’ve learned to expect that from me, and are fine with it.

    • Melissa says:

      So sorry to hear about your friends. I would definitely be unsettled after that. Glad you’re sleeping better now! 🙂

  3. Haha, Yeah I’ve had those comments. And I don’t consider myself small or skinny. But I guess it’s all relative.

    I still get mocked and made fun of for how I eat on a regular basis. And I never go out to eat with colleagues. However, it’s super easy for me to blame it on food allergies. Can you make up a fake one? 😉

    The smoothie looks yummy!!! Even if slimy!

  4. So sorry to hear about your breakfast M, I have been in situations like that. Not too much anymore but when I’m with my in laws I know that my MIL is ALWAYS watching me bec she doesn’t believe that anyone can truly overcome an eating disorder. sigh.

    I’m sure that once school is over and you can truly recuperate, you will feel much better. Your smoothie and strawberries look WONDERFUL! 🙂

    • Melissa says:

      That would drive me crazy! I hope your MIL will get over that and some point and back off. I would hate to have to live with that. 😦

  5. I’m kinda the opposite. If someone comments on me not eating or drinking, I’ll go out of my way NOT to have anything even if I want it. I was at a party not long ago and I didn’t want to drink at all. About 2 hours into the party, I was in the mood for a beer. But because everyone was making SUCH a big deal out of me not drinking – I refused to. I hate that pressure and I’ll get snippy with people if they keep commenting.

    So, girl. Eat however you want. You can think WWPD next time? 😛

  6. Going out to lunch with my coworkers stresses me out because they A) already poke fun at me a lot for running and working out so much and B) make fun of me for eating so healthy all the time. I tend to eat less healthy then I would otherwise when I’m with them to show them that I’m human and then I regret it for the rest of the day. So I feel ya. (And this makes my coworkers sound mean but they actually are awesome, just not healthy lol)

  7. Melissa, I can completely relate to this. I get lots of comments about my weight and exercise and I hate it. I would NEVER comment on anyone’s weight. Sometimes I go along with the crowd and eat what everyone else is eating but most of the time I don’t. This is going to sound bad…but I hate wasting my calories on something I don’t enjoy and will make me feel like crap.

    • Exactly. When is it EVER ok to comment on someone’s weight??? Somehow, if you’re smaller, people think it’s ok. Ugh. I 100% agree about wasting calories. Why bother, right? On the other hand, if I feel like a candy bar for lunch, I’m going to go ahead and have it! I just want it to be my choice, ya know?

  8. I am personally rather thin and very muscular, so I am always getting “boney” and “stick-like” comments. Sometimes, it can be too hard for me to handle but other times I try to just laugh it off. I get these same comments when going out to eat, so I dont really go out to eat unless I am going to be eating with my family! While, I know I am thin I do not think people have the “right” to comment on my size. I mean, I would never go up to a large person and tell them they are “fat” and do NOT need to eat. It is just unacceptable!

Leave a reply

