Dad’s Day

Father’s Day at our house started off right—with gifts, of course!

018

I know what my daddy likes best!

021

By request, Father’s Day breakfast was bacon, overeasy eggs, and white toast with real butter.  I think he was pleased. Smile

Then, we saddled up and took a drive out to the Irish Hills.

032

Irish Hills is a recreational area about 20 miles from my hometown.  With lots of lakes and campgrounds, it’s a summertime destination for the “touristy” type activities offered there.  Our destination?  Port to Port Adventure Golf!

028029

Admittedly, I am not the best mini-golfer.  I make up for it by coordinating my ball, club, and tank top.

033

Pink, pink, and pink!

These two are a bit more successful when it comes to the whole golfing thing.

034

Perhaps part of my problem lies in my technique . . .

035

I am so inappropriate.  Luckily, my sister is, too.  We made sure to pose with as many mini golf statues as humanly possible.

041043

After I embarrassed myself on the course, we headed over to Randy’s Roadside Bar-B-Que for a little lunch.

050

Straight country, Randy’s is just a trailer on the side of the road.  And in case you had any doubts about what they serve, this is helpful.

045

While we waited for our lunches, we posed a little.

photo(2)

Now, it’s clear that there is a family resemblance between me and my sister, but she totally looks like me in this picture.  So much so, in fact, that if I hadn’t taken it, I would wonder if it was of me.

048

Creepy, but awesome.  For those of you who know us personally, is the resemblance not startling???

Anywho, shortly thereafter, it was time fo’ lunch!

053055

Pulled pork and cornbread—swoon!  The pork was perfectly smoked and tender, with a sauce that was the ultimate balance of sweet and spicy.  And that cornbread?  It was more like corncake.  So incredibly moist (and yes, I hate that word, too, but it just was).  To say it hit the spot is putting it mildly.

Good thing we refueled, though, because then it was time for Go Karts! 

056

Why is go karting so fun?  Seriously.  Is there anyone out there who can drive a go kart and not have a huge grin plastered on their face the entire time.  Great Father’s Day fun! 

Thoroughly tuckered out after an afternoon of fun, we came home for nap time and a little rest period before convening on the deck for some snacks!

059

I could have made a meal out of this alone.

057060

But there was steak to be had!  Filet mignon wrapped in bacon at that!  067

I am probably going to gain 20 pounds being here this summer, but I don’t even care.  I mean!

068

Best restaurant in town—I’m tellin’ ya!  My sister wanted me to make sure you knew how much she enjoyed her corn.

065

Swear to God.  She asked me to take this picture.  And now the world gets to enjoy it.  Love you, Jenn! Open-mouthed smile

Hello, summer dinner! 

063

Best of all, my dad said he had a really great Father’s Day with his favorite people.  What more can you ask for than that? 

I am so blessed to be home with my family and get to spend this time with my papa on Dad’s Day.  What makes my relationship with my dad even more special is that he’s actually my step-dad, although I never think of him that way.  He has raised me like his own daughter since I was five years old.  In the whole nature vs. nurture debate, nurture definitely wins out in my mind.  We are so alike in so many ways.  Blood or not, I’m his kid.  We chose each other.  I love you, Daddy!

Are you close to your dad?

I obviously am! Smile

And for those of you who aren’t with your dads today or have lost them, I’m sending a big hug to you!  XO

6 thoughts on “Dad’s Day

  1. Jenna says:

    I can not believe that you posted the picture of me eating that corn. I’m thinking of starting a blog just so I can effectively embarrass my big sis back! 😛 kidding!!

    I love this post Meliss, we’re lucky to have such a great daddy and I’m lucky to have my sissy back home with me!

  2. Those podunk side of the road food “cars” have the BEST food. My favorite hot dogs come from nasty vendors on the downtown streets of Orlando. They are SO good!

    By the way, I love that your dad loves t-shirts and alcohol for gifts. hahaha.

    I was close to my dad when he was around but we never lived in the same town. He spoiled me. BIG time. Oh, and I remember one day when I called him “dad” he was sad I didn’t call him “daddy” anymore. I have no clue how I lost the “dy” part, but I did.

    xxxooo

Leave a reply

