Keepin’ It Classy

Hey guess what???

005

I made it to Michigan!  Can I just tell you what a total cheeseball I felt like when I recognized the sign for the highway that leads to my hometown?  Grinning from ear to ear!  It’s good to be home! Open-mouthed smile

Poor Frank, however, is a little worse for the wear.  I feel like such a bad fishy mama. 

Along the Pennsylvania Turnpike, there was quite a bit of traffic as well as construction, which never makes for a good combination.  A mini van literally merged into me where there was no shoulder and I had to slam on my brakes and do some pretty crazy defensive driving to keep from crashing.  After my accident a few weeks ago, I’m starting to feel a little bit like a target! 

Anyway, when I swerved and hit the brakes, things went flying and a bunch of water sloshed out of Frank’s little tank (I had it in a box on the floor of the front seat.  It looks like he lost some scales and there’s a big bulge on his belly.  (Sorry for the quality of the photo).

2011-06-18_17-06-50_161

He still seems to be his usual feisty self, doing laps and aggressively attacking his “Betta Buffet” fish flakes last night, so I’m hoping he’s going to be ok.  I know he’s just a fish, but he’s my little buddy. Sad smile

Before I even went home, though, I had a very important stop to make.

007

Keepin’ it classy, dontcha know?  In Michigan, we don’t have ABC Stores, but we do have Liquor Stores or what most of us call “Party” Stores.  I remember sometime in college I said this to someone from out of state and they laughed at me, but we really do call them that!  Any non-Michigan folks ever heard of this?  I didn’t think it was that odd, but maybe I’m wrong?

After my quick errand, I finally made my way home! 

Remember how I keep talking about having dinner on the deck at my parents’ house?  Well, here’s just one of the lovely views of their yard.

011

I just snapped this quickly as we were hanging on the deck, but I’ll take more pics of the yard soon.  This is a (kind of bad) view of the pond and the side of the fountain.  Even though it’s not the best pic, it’s still pretty!

We relaxed on the deck for a bit with some wine and olives, ‘cuz that’s how we do!

008009

And then my dad made us the best summer dinner!  Grilled tuna steaks and a veggie sauté!

015

Check out the grill master in action!

012

He marinated the tuna in a quick mix of teriyaki sauce, olive oil, and garlic, and then grilled it to a nice medium rare.

016

While he did the marinating, I chopped up a bunch of veggies for our side dish.  Red bell pepper, broccoli, tomatoes, red onion, carrots, spinach, and mushrooms went into the mix along with some garlic, olive oil, and S &P. 

013

I promise you, I’m not just here for the food, but if I were, would you blame me?  I’m telling you, this is the best restaurant in town! 

We sat out on the deck and chatted for a while, before taking a walk around the block, and then heading to Dairy Queen.  I forgot my camera, but I eat DQ frequently enough that you all know what that looks like. Winking smile

Then we came home and popped popcorn so we could settle in and watch The Hangover.  Yes, I watch stupid funny movies with my family.  We’re not that evolved. 

I am still just so excited to be home.  I don’t even think it’s fully hit me yet that I get to hang out here for a while.  After school gets out, it always takes me a few days to relax and power down, so I’m waiting for that to hit.  Best feeling ever!

Today, we’ve got some celebrating to do for Father’s Day!  My sis and I have some fun things planned to do with Dad, so I’ll be back later with the details! 

Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

Does it take you a while to relax when you first go on vacation, or can you let go right away? 

I’m thinking I should be relaxed by . . . Wednesday?  Let’s hope! Smile

10 thoughts on “Keepin’ It Classy

  1. I like party store better than liquor store – it just sounds more fun!! Here in WA, all the liquor stores are run by the State of Washington, which I thought was totally weird when I first moved here… But they have a neat website you can check the prices before you buy – kinda cool!

    Dinner looks great! Have a great day with your father and family!!

  2. Katie (Recovering Runner) says:

    I didn’t know that ‘party’ or ‘liquor’ store wasn’t the normal term.

    It also took me until college to find out our “Michigan lefts’ aren’t normal.

    I really need to get out of this state for a while!

Leave a reply

