Summer in a Glass

The good news: no new cavities.

The bad news: I have four, yes four, old fillings that need replacing.  To the tune of $500.  All cosmetic, of course.  Because decaying teeth are totally acceptable in the eyes of my insurance company.  *Sigh*

I guess I have been blessed with needy teeth.  Not only did I have that front tooth that needed replacing, but I also have deep pits in my teeth (sexy, I know) that often need filling.  Even though I floss and brush and take great care of my teeth, no matter what I do these teeth of mine are determined to get cavities.  Don’t be jealous.

So I did what I always do when I get bad news or need to feel better.  I went running!

009

Nope, I’m not super sweaty after my run—I’m drenched!  This afternoon, Southeast Michigan saw some drizzly weather, but I didn’t let that prevent me from getting my run on!  I didn’t want to get my iPod wet, so I ran sans music today which I almost never do.  I had to hear myself breathing.  Let me tell you, it was appalling.  I have decided that I hate the sound of my breathing while I run and will never run without my iPod again.  The end.

I also bought myself this nifty eye-roller thing.  I’m going to use it for 2 weeks and no one will ever call me “ma’am” again! Open-mouthed smile

011

I will be sure to report back on the results!

For dinner tonight, we headed out to Sidetrack Bar and Grill in Depot Town.  Located in the next town over from ours, it’s a cute place with a great outdoor patio, fantastic burgers, and a huge selection of draft beer!

For the Restaurant Guide.  Angela J. Cesere | AnnArbor.com

I chose my poison in the form of a local favorite: Bell’s Oberon!

016

This is a summer signature beer for most Michigan folks.  A wheat beer with a fruity, citrusy note to it, Oberon is like summer in a glass to me!  Plus, it has a fun label!

OberonLabel.small.crush

Cute, right?

And although I look insanely tired in this photo, I assure you I was happy to have my Oberon!

018

To go with the Oberon, we started off with fried pickles!

019

If you have never had fried pickles, stop what you are doing right now and go find some.  They are the best bar food on the planet.  I’m not kidding.  I’ll wait. 

020

Last summer, we were out to dinner on a local sidewalk and my mom’s trainer was seated at the next table.  We had an order of fried pickles and he asked what on earth we were eating, nose turned up.  Yep, he thought the fried pickles looked less than appetizing.  We offered him one to try, and he promptly shut up.  Fried pickles are where it’s at.  I would not lead you astray!

To balance out the indulgent bar food, I ordered a light Summer Cold Plate for dinner.

021

Avocado, hard boiled egg, grilled Amish chicken, strawberries, and cucumber slices plus a side of pita bread.  There wasn’t really anything wrong with this plate, it just wasn’t as fresh as I’d hoped it would be.  It did the trick, though.

Now, I’m watching the spectacle that is The Bachelorette.  I’ve decided all the guys are boring, and she’s driving me crazy.  And still, I’m watching.  Silly rabbit.

What are your favorite local seasonal products?

In Michigan, it’s Oberon in the summer and honeycrisp apples in the fall!

17 thoughts on “Summer in a Glass

  1. Kira says:

    I despise running without my iPod. I’m convinced I don’t push myself as much when I have to listen to myself breathe! Love honeycrisp apples in the fall!!!

  2. What a wonderful way to spend the day! 🙂 I love bells oberon, midwest beers really are awesome. I am a big fan of Two Brothers which is made just outside of Chicago.

    The cold summer plate looks so perfect for a hot night. I am a big fan of crispy raw veggies, fresh berries, and corn on the cob 🙂

  3. omg. girl. i think i have worse teeth then you. seriously. it is always somethinng. i need to have a bridge done or an implant. my insurance will not pay for implants…..and the tooth had TWO root canals done….so i am left with no choice but this. ugh.

    the beer looks completely amazing and the fried pickles. just had last week for the first time!!!

    glad you are back in michigan with your family! will you be there the entire summer??
    enjoy! xo

    • And the implant lasts longer than the bridge, so the insurance company is just being stupid, right??? Mine cost $4K. Depressing.

      I’ll be here at least a month, maybe longer. Loving it so far! 🙂

  4. Gahh i feel ya on the needy teeth! I have had countless cavities despite brushing/flossing my whole life and always taking care of my teeth. Oh and one root canal, that was fun.
    I have never tried fried pickles.. but love both of those things. So together, it must be a rather amazing eating experience 🙂
    I also watched the Bachlorette last night and the whole season is just plain annoying me! But I can’t help but continue to watch it and just complain about how much it is irritating me haha

    • Haha–glad I’m not the only one annoyed by the Bachelorette. I want to shake her and tell her to have some self respect! And I really hope she doesn’t get JP–he’s too good for all that.

  5. Alright, you and I are seriously the same person. I find this creepy and comforting all at once. I have the WORST problems with my teeth. So does my mom. I always have to have fillings replaced because they crack (I grind my teeth at night and have chewed through 5 – count em – 5 night guards.) The dentist gave me a gold filling once because I kept cracking the porcelain ones. ($800 – insurance wouldn’t pay any of it) It kept popping out and I had to have it replaced with a half gold crown ($400 with insurance helping).

    Oh, and I’ve never had the fried pickle spears! The ones I got were the dill chips and they were equally fabulous. Dip those babies in ranch and I’m pretty sure that covers all the food groups for dinner!

Leave a reply

