A Whole Lotta Nothing

How often do you eat outside in the summertime?  I could eat on the deck every single night when the weather is pleasant.  After some pretty wild storms this afternoon, the sun came out so we could enjoy a fresh summer salad on the deck. 

013

I marinated chicken breasts in balsamic vinegar, olive oil, grill seasoning, and rosemary, and let them marinate for about an hour before grilling.

019

Balsamic vinegar does good things on the grill.  I love how it caramelizes and makes the chicken just slightly sweet.

Then, I put together a simple salad to go underneath.

In the mix:

  • Baby spinach
  • Thinly sliced D’anjou pear
  • Toasted walnuts
  • Gorgonzola
  • Sliced mushrooms

012

The dressing was a light coating of balsamic vinegar and olive oil mixed with a little garlic, salt, and ground mustard.  I didn’t measure anything, so no actual recipe, but this was a tasty simple meal.

014

Taking, I don’t know, about 7 minutes to toast the walnuts in a dry pan does amazing things for their flavor.  They just get extra nutty or something.  Easily one of my favorite flavors in this mix!  I’m glad it’s pear season, too.  When they’re so sweet and juicy like they are right now, I could eat one every day! 

011

So aren’t you just dying to know what I did today?  A whole lotta nothing, that’s what!  I didn’t work out, I didn’t go anywhere, I didn’t even shower.  My friend, Steph, stopped by for a few hours to hang out since I hadn’t seen her yet, but she didn’t seem to mind my dirtass status.  Gotta love friends like that!  I’m sure she’s seen me looking worse! Winking smile

At any rate, it was nice to just let myself relax.  Tomorrow I plan to do more of the same.  I’m hoping the weather will cooperate so I can do it by the pool!  Didn’t I say I would probably relax on Wednesday?  I know myself so well!

What did you do today?

I feel completely disconnected from the outside world.  Please allow me to live vicariously through you!

3 thoughts on “A Whole Lotta Nothing

Leave a reply

