I Am So Inappropriate

So now that I’m on summer vacation, I am finding that my life is alarmingly unstructured.  This does not fit well with my type-A psyche, but I’m trying to embrace it and let myself relax.  Until I find my footing with this whole “no routine” thing, I’m unsure about the frequency and regularity of my posts, but I promise this: I’m not going to post just for the sake of posting.  That’s not really what I want my blog to be.  I still want to chronicle the things I’m doing, random musings, thoughts, feelings, etc., but I also want to post when I have something genuine to say. 

Yesterday, I did the whole dentist thing and left with 2 of my 4 teeth repaired, half of my head numb, and my bank account significantly diminished.  Then it was off to Bed Bath & Beyond for a little bridal shower shopping.

2011-06-21_15-47-16_252

I’ve gotta tell you, I was impressed!  The customer service was fantastic.  One of the things I hate most about buying gifts from a registry is hunting around the store for them and trying to decide what to buy.  I just picked out my items on the list and the associate got them for me and gift wrapped them right up!  Everyone was really eager to help and super friendly.  A+ for Bed Bath & Beyond!

I also got my hair trimmed because it was looking rather ragged, and I love my hair stylist here in Ann Arbor best even though she never styles my hair the way that I would do it at home.  Does this happen to anyone else?  I really want to like the way she does it, but it’s just not me.  Should I tell her?

Later on, my dad and I met up with my Uncle Jon and his friend at 24 Seconds in Berkley for drinks and dinner on their rooftop deck.  Even though it was overcast and humid, we still had so much fun.  My uncle and I have always been close, but I hadn’t seen him in ages.  We had a blast catching up.  He is seriously hysterical.  We are actually only about 10 years apart, so he’s always been more like a big brother to me.

001

I had a Leinenkugel Summer Shandy served in a plastic glass.  Apparently, they can’t serve anything in glass on the rooftop because people might . . . throw them off???  It didn’t affect the flavor or anything, but I think I prefer my beer in a real glass.  Or a bottle.  Not that I’m picky or anything. Winking smile

We started with some seriously decadent spinach artichoke dip.  I had my fair share, plus some. 

003

You know it’s good when you can see a little pool of grease at the bottom of the dish.  To balance it out, I had a grilled veggie salad for dinner.

004

It was actually really good!  Grilled tomatoes, peppers, and asparagus on mixed greens with Gorgonzola, parmesan, and pine nuts.  There were also ciabatta toast points on the plate.  I had a couple, but they were nothing special so I had a few of my dad’s waffle fries instead. Smile

So, usually I avoid asparagus not because I don’t like the taste, but because I really really hate asparagus pee.  Is that inappropriate to say?  My apologies.  I just cannot handle it.  Totally grosses me out every.single.time.  Last night?  I ate the asparagus.  But I was dreading the effects and said so to the guys.  Yep, I told my dad, uncle, and my uncle’s friend who I had never met before that I had asparagus pee fear.  Classy.

Well, uncle’s friend told me that pineapple supposedly counteracts the effects of the asparagus and balances things out so as to avoid the dreaded stench.  I went ahead and tested the theory with a vodka and soda + pineapple juice. 

The verdict?

No dice.  I guess I just can’t eat asparagus.  It’s a sacrifice I have to make.

Something I will never give up though?  Late night trips to Taco Bell after drinking. 

007

I eat Taco Bell about once every 5 years, but Mexican Pizza might just be the stuff of life.  I might need to try to make my own healthified version at home—kind of a perfect Party of One recipe in the making, right? 

Well, the sun is finally out, so I’m headed to soak up a few rays with my friend, Steph, before it tries to rain again! 

Are there any foods you can’t eat because of what they do to you?

I think my only “off limits” food is asparagus.  I’ve also read that not everyone gets the grossly scented after-effects from eating asparagus, but that it runs in families.  Random, much?  Winking smile

14 thoughts on “I Am So Inappropriate

  1. Wow this is quite the long blog post for not having anything to say. (twitter) 🙂 I love Leinenkugel. They have one called Berry Weiss or something like that, and it is my FAVORITE.

    Hair chic – yeah, my hair chic can’t style for shiz but I love her cuts. I just tell her to not even dry it when I’m there and I do it myself when I get home. But I think you should say something. I mean, if she knew, I’m sure she would be mortified that you never said anything and she was giving you something you didn’t like for so long.

    And whhhaaaaa? The aspargus thing runs in the family? I HATE asparagus pee, so I don’t eat it often either. Other foods I can’t eat but sometimes do: sugar free jelly bellies, Boca burgers, Pure Protein protein bars. They all give me gas. And I’m finding peanut butter does the same so I’m switching to Sunflower seed spread.

    • If you mix the Berry Weiss with the Summer Shandy, it’s called a Rocky Mountain Lemonade aka DELICIOUS! I need to buy them both so I can make some 🙂

      Yeah, I thought I had nothing to say, and honestly, I think this post is pretty boring, but whatevs. Can’t all be homeruns, as they say.

  2. Summer has been difficult for me too because, like you, it’s a lot more unstructured which is hard for my Type-A Personality. i’m far less effective…but maybe better with the self care? The beer looks DELICIOUS!

    With asparagus- some people have the enzyme that can smell it, and others don’t. It smells for everyone I guess….it’s just that some people can genetically smell, and others can’t. Interesting, no?

  3. haha! You’re too funny with your asparagus pee fears. It definitely does affect mine but I don’t worry about it too much. I would say that most of the time my tummy does well with all healthy foods. But somebody else that I umm live with sometimes overdoes the beans and veggies and well, lets just say there is a lot of noise going on! 😛

    So glad you are getting to catch up with so many wonderful friends and family! 🙂

  4. They never fix my hair the way I want them to… My hair is straight, no ifs, ands, or buts about it, but they ALWAYS try to put some curl in it… which means that my hair ends up looking like limp macaroni within 0.5 seconds of leaving the place. siiiigh.

    and i totally agree with paula on your “not having anything to say” comment on twitter! i had nothing to say and my post had one picture and maybe 5 sentences, lol. so props to you!

    • Yeah, but I thought I was so boring! I hate when I have to force it. I think I’m just super tired from the school year and it’s finally catching up with me now that I’ve slowed down. Nothing a few days by the pool can’t cure!

  5. YAY BB&B! I’ve spent a significant amount of time there lately due to the move. Who knew how much shelf-liner this kitchen would need? Anywho, I’m with you on the asparagus issue, but I’m willing to overlook it for a good meal. I LOVE roasted asparagus as a dinner side, but only up to once a week 🙂 And I think a healthified Mexican pizza for one sounds fab. I bet you could make it even better than TB’s!

  6. I hear ya on the unstructured life kinda being stressful. I’m very confused between loving that I have all this free time and being all, I’m wasting my days. But whatever, I will not complain.

    All your food looks so delicious!

  7. I get super anxious when I have nothing to do so I try to plan out my day to add structure. The easiest way for me to relax is reading by the pool. Hope you have lots of time for that!

  8. Yayyy Michigan and Ann Arbor!! 🙂 I never like the way my hair is styled after a cut either. My hairdresser is all about curling under the ends with a curling iron!?! I just put my hair in a ponytail in the car!

Leave a reply

