Bound and Determined

I think I’m starting to get the hang of this vacation thing.  Last night, I was asleep by 11 and woke up at 8:30 this morning.  Although I woke up a few times (and was actually WIDE awake at 6:30 and almost got up), I’d count that as a very successful night’s sleep! 

After lazing around for a bit with the Today Show and a cup of coffee, I was bound and determined to have a fantastic run!  I took yesterday off and was more than ready to get back in the saddle again with a 6 miler. 

The sky didn’t look too cooperative.

002

But I was bound and determined, I tell you.  Bound and determined.  So I decided a jaunt on the treadmill was probably my best bet.

001

The treadmill here at my parents’ house is kind of a dinosaur.  It’s been around for quite some time, but still works just fine.  What I don’t like about it, however, is that the lowest incline setting you can give it is 1.5.  To the people who made this treadmill, 1.5 is not flat.  It’s not a huge hill, either, but not flat.  I started with a mile warm up at 6.0, then decided to amp it up for some intervals since I was hoping that the change up would break me out of my running funk.

3 minutes in, I was dead.  D.E.A.D.  I jogged another couple of minutes and called it quits on the treadmill. 

But I was bound and determined, remember?  So I strapped on my iPod and braved the stormy-looking sky to finish up my run.  And guess what?  It was fantastic!  Open-mouthed smile

005

Can I get a WOOT WOOT??  It wasn’t all that hot today, but when it’s super humid, running in just a sports bra really helps me breathe.  I may get a few dirty looks from some of the women who I run by or a catcall now and then, but I’m over it.  The benefit of actually being able to breathe far outweighs the negatives. 

Since I was feeling so great after my run, I decided why not go big or go home?  I popped in Jackie Warner’s Total Body Circuit and completed the Abs and Upper Body portions. 

As usual, I cursed at Jackie the whole time.

012

I was more than ready for some eats after all that!  Peanut butter and banana oats sounded about right, but I had to have a snack in the 5 minutes while they were cooking because I am an animal.

014

Have you tried these Clif granola bars?  To die for.  I first tried these about a year ago and loved them, but then somehow forgot about them.  Crazy, right?  Especially with their macadamia nuttiness and little pockets of white chocolate?  These babies rock my socks.  They were the perfect little something to snack on while my oats cooked.

016

They were worth it, though.  This was one delicious batch of oats!  I’m giving credit to this fancy looking Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla I found in the pantry.

015

I have to ask my mom where she got this because it is seriously the best vanilla extract I’ve ever tried.  No more being cheap and getting the store brand.  This stuff is out of this world!

I’ve also decided I need to invest in some cute dishes.  I mean, don’t you just want to eat oats out of this little bowl?

017

Pretty sure these bowls came from a vendor at the Ann Arbor Art Fair several years ago.  I’m hoping to make it there in July so I can scout out a set of my own.

019

The other day, I made an identical batch of oats and posted on Twitter about how creamy and delicious they were.  Seriously, the peanut butter stirred in takes on an almost frosting-like quality.  Not making this up!  In case you were wondering, here’s how I make mine.

Peanut Butter Banana Oats

Serves 1

1/4 cup each old fashioned oats, water, milk (I like coconut best)

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 splash good vanilla extract (I totally felt like Ina Garten typing that—isn’t she always talking about good vanilla?)

1 ripe banana, sliced

1 T. peanut butter.

Put the oats, water, and milk in a small saucepan with the cinnamon and vanilla and heat to boiling.  Reduce the heat to medium so that they are still simmering and cook about 2 minutes before slicing the banana into the mix.  Cook another 3 minutes, then swirl in your peanut butter.  And that’s it! 


After yesterday’s debacle with the asparagus pee, Karolina linked to a great article that “solves” the mystery. 

Asparagus contains a sulfur compound called mercaptan. It is also found in onions, garlic, rotten eggs, and in the secretions of skunks. The signature smell occurs when this substance is broken down in your digestive system. Not all people have the gene for the enzyme that breaks down mercaptan, so some of you can eat all the asparagus you want without stinking up the place.

Guess I was absent the day they were handing out those genes!  As Karolina pointed out, interesting and a little gross, but I think we crossed the gross threshold long ago, no? Winking smile

Since the weather isn’t really cooperating with my plan to lay by the pool today, I’m thinking a trip to the mall is in order.  I’m on the prowl for a great deal on a dress to wear to some of the weddings/wedding-related events I have to attend this summer.  Shopping Gods: please send me a great deal!!!

When you’re really hungry, can you wait for your meal or do you have to have a snack while you cook?

You obviously know my answer. Smile

14 thoughts on “Bound and Determined

  1. Katie (Recovering Runner) says:

    I either have to have a dinner ready when I get home (leftovers) or ready within 5-6 minutes, or I end up snacking in the meantime. Today? I’m starving so there is definitely a pre-dinner please-hurry-up-and-cook-yourself snack to be eaten. 🙂

  2. Look at you, you skinny thang you!

    Yay on having a great run! I loooooove the white chocolate macadamia Clif bars and granola bars – SO GOOD. It’s like eating dessert! But there’s really not much Clif stuff that I don’t like (really only the gels).

  3. ohh I’ve never stirred the peanut butter in before that does sound yummy 🙂
    I usually just wait for my meal because I love to be hungry to eat but I do tend to get HANGRY!

    Do you have a snack before you run? I’m just trying to think of why you might be feeling up for it lately. Hope you continue to get into vacation mode! 🙂

  4. Wow- so many comments here. I’m so happy for you finally getting your workout/running mojo back:) it’s hard to be in a funk, and always exciting when it finally breaks. Way to go:) I LOVE cliff bars- have you ever had the blueberry ones. LOVE. When it comes to cooking, I definitely will snack if I feel the food will take too long. When I get hungry I can get pretty shaky, which makes cooking a little challenging sometimes (sharp dangerous knifes?), so I try to keep little candies or cookies around to get a quick sugar rush and a few calories. Thanks for the shout out on the blog about asparagus pee. I thought about you as I was eating some at dinner tonight:)

  5. Outdoor running is so much bettah! There’s just something about the treadmill that creates a mental block in my head and makes it so much harder. I dunno. I was begging for it to rain on this morning’s run, though. The heat and air was dreadful. The sky only spit out a few drops of liquid. Dang.

Leave a reply

