My Lorelei Gilmore Moment

Oh my God.  OH.MY.GOD.  It is freezing here!  I think I have to go back to Virginia.  A high of 67 today?  Not acceptable.  I was really counting on some pool time this week and Mother Nature is screwing me up.  Mother Nature, we are officially in a fight.  Get it together.  Sheesh.

Last night, I was awake from 12:30-3 AM worrying about stupid, irrational things.  Not sure what that was about, but my takeaway from nearly 3 hours of obsessing was this.

crazy

Me being both the “I” and the “you” in this scenario.  It’s times like this when I need someone around to talk me down.  Had my sister been home, I would have woken her up and made her listen to my crazy neuroses until she told me to take a xanax and chill the eff out because really, that’s what I needed to do. 

Anyone else ever get irrationally defensive?  I was definitely having a Lorelei Gilmore moment.

Lorelai

Thank you for making me feel normal, Lorelei.  You’re the best.

This morning,  I woke up with a sore ankle.  I have absolutely no idea how that happened, seeing as I went to bed last night feeling just fine.  Perhaps to go along with my irrational thoughts I now have an irrational injury?  Is my life so good right now that I have to invent problems?  I told you I have issues.  Iss.ues.

However, this problem allows me to make the best use of frozen peas.

2011-06-24_10-28-42_487

Hope this makes the pain go away quick because I clearly need a good run to take the edge off my crazy. Rolling on the floor laughing

In the meantime, I also made a killer smoothie for breakfast this morning.

003

Like ice cream.  For real.  Probably not the best choice of breakfast when I’m absolutely freezing to begin with, but I ate it sitting under a blanket and that worked out pretty well.

In the mix:

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

5 frozen strawberries

1 frozen banana

1/4-1/3 cup coconut milk

2 handfuls of ice

This was suuuuuper creamy.  Now that I’m off for the summer, I love having time to make breakfast at home.  So much better than the on-the-go breakfasts I was eating at school.

I was so surprised at how many of you liked the second dress from last night’s post!  The fabric is kind of shiny in person, and I wasn’t too sure about the flowers, but maybe I’ll go back and get it since y’all seem to think it’s a great dress!

2011-06-23_14-01-18_3152011-06-23_14-03-22_134

The people have spoken! 

When was the last time you were being completely crazy and knew it, but just couldn’t help it? 

This happens to me with a ridiculously high frequency.  Somehow, I’ve convinced myself that it’s ok as long as I’m aware of it.  I can rationalize my way out of anything. Winking smile

15 thoughts on “My Lorelei Gilmore Moment

  1. Ahh Gilmore Girls! Best show ever. I know, it’s freezing today!! I sometimes ruminate on things out of my control, and it does help to just recognize that I’m being irrational.

  2. I was just saying the same thing…I think the weather Gods hate me and want me to move back to FL. Why has it been so freakin cold this year?!

    You remind me so much of myself. Wish I could have given you a pep talk!

  3. I hate the mind-racing-I-might-be-crazy nights. I usually get up and watch trashy TV to distract myself.
    Ya know, I’ve never gotten to use frozen peas. I’m kinda jealous <- proof I'm crazy.

  4. Renee Byard says:

    I drive myself crazy, quite often! Who doesn’t?!?! BTW….LOVE the tangerine colored dress! Will I see it this coming week? 🙂

  5. Um. You have the body that looks good in ANY dress. The orange one would make me look pregnant and the ruffled one would make me look dumpy. You rock them both! Loralei would buy both.

  6. Oh my gosh, can I just say how much I fell in love with you!? SO glad to see another Gilmore Girls fan out there (I own the series on DVD, haha).

    So glad I found your blog 🙂

    That breakfast smoothie looks delish by the way – I might have to make one for myself tomorrow…

Leave a reply

