Calories Licked From a Bowl Don’t Count

Do you know what this is???

001

Hey, Michigan!  Is that a bright, clear day you have for me this summer?  Punctuated by just a few clouds to break up that glaring sunshine and a perfect breeze . . .

002

That’s the stuff! 

Ashley and I had a great time sitting poolside (with SPF for me, thanks!) and catching up this afternoon.  It was an absolutely perfect pool day!

004

I did get a little sun, but didn’t burn thanks to the sunscreen, so I’d say that’s about the perfect storm for me.  With freckles and lots of red in my hair, it’s not likely I’m ever going to have a nice tan, so I’ll take what I can get!

When I got home tonight, it was just Mom and me for dinner, so we tag-teamed to make Sautéed Bay Scallops with Edamame Succotash.

I first started making this summer recipe 2 or 3 years ago, and I look forward to it every year.  Plump scallops served over the top of fresh veggies, it combines pretty much everything I love about food and flavors.

037

Sauteed Scallops with Edamame Succotash

Serves 2

2/3-3/4 lb. bay scallops, patted dry

1 medium zucchini, quartered and sliced

1 small yellow squash, quartered and sliced

1 package frozen edamame, shelled (you could sub any beans here: black, cannellini, lima, etc.)

2 ears corn, cooked with kernels sliced off the cob

1 pint grape tomatoes, halved

1 small shallot, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tsp. olive oil, divided

1 T. apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup fresh basil, sliced

1 wedge of lemon

Get all of your veggies cut up and ready to go first.  I just throw the zucchini, squash, edamame, and tomatoes in a bowl together, then dice up the shallots and have those ready in a separate bowl, and keep the corn, garlic, and basil separate from everything else. 

Make sure the scallops are patted dry really well with paper towels, then season them with a little sea salt and fresh black pepper.

When everything’s good to go, heat 2 medium skillets, each with 1 tsp. olive oil over medium heat.  One pan is for your scallops, the other for the veggies.  Start with the shallots in one pan.  Season with S&P, and sauté them about 3 minutes until they start to caramelize.  Then add in your garlic and sauté an additional minute.  Then, add all of the veggies except for the corn and basil to the shallots and garlic.  In the other pan, add the scallops.  While the veggies cook up, keep a close eye on the scallops—they only need 2-3 minutes per side.  Toss the veggies occasionally, cooking about 7-8 minutes total.  In the midst of all that, turn the scallops when they are done on one side, and cook an additional 2 minutes or so on the other side.  They cook up quickly, so be sure not to cook them too long.  I confess: I usually just taste one for done-ness. Smile

Take the scallops off the heat and set aside.  Then, add the corn and cider vinegar to the veggies and give them a final toss. 

To serve, put a portion of veggies on a plate, top with scallops, basil, and a squeeze of lemon juice.

038

So incredibly fresh and delicious.  This is how I want to eat all summer!!!  But honestly, I would eat a placemat if it was covered with fresh basil.  Probably my favorite herb of all time.

I love scallops, but I’m always a little intimidated to cook them.  I don’t know why, because they’re really pretty easy!  I guess it’s a fear thing I just need to get over!

I made a fresh batch of brownies tonight, too, since the brownie recipe from the other night was decidedly salty and thus, inedible.  If I am eating a brownie, it had better be a damn good one!

As soon as they went into the oven, I made sure to lick the bowl.  For quality control purposes, of course.  And because calories licked from a bowl don’t count.  Didn’t you know? 

Are there any foods you’re afraid to cook?

I’m ok with shrimp, but most other seafood intimidates me.  And I’m the worst at the grill.  Grilling anything freaks me out.

13 thoughts on “Calories Licked From a Bowl Don’t Count

    • Most fish is safe to eat if cooked only to medium rare (I worked at a seafood restaurant in college, so I was educated in all things fish!). You should try it! I think if you follow a baked fish recipe, it’s pretty easy!

  1. That recipe sounds awesome! I get nervous with scallops too, and mussels as well! But I think the scariest thing for me is steak – I never know when it’s cooked the way it should be! One day I’ll learn… hopefully!

  2. I’m not a scallops girl, but this looks delicious all the same! And calories licked from a bowl totes don’t count. 😉 And I didn’t get to comment on your last post (you’re too fast for me, girl!), but I like to preserve my fair skin, and I think it’s great that you do, too! I used to be tan, and I had a major tan goin’ on when I was a lifeguard, but I’ve since learned that my skin is happiest (+ prettiest!) when it’s protected. 🙂

  3. I’m with you on the tanning. I need to go out for 20 minutes a day for a full week to get a slightly golden look. I can’t just go out one day and BAM be tan. BAM!
    Just thought I would say that twice.
    It almost looks like you have your “sunflare” picture early. I’ll be keeping my eye on you to see if that one is reused!

  4. Katie says:

    I want that food, but I’m too lazy to cook it. And I have been avoiding baking in my apartment for so long and I’ve wanted a brownie so much! Feel free to eat a few for me. 🙂

    I was vegetarian for 14 years, and so now I’m afraid to cook chicken and not kill myself. I buy pre-cooked stuff to stay on the safe side. Turkey and hamburger I can do (although maybe I overcook it a little to be safe, HA).

Leave a reply

