Alterations

Oh, Monday. You always come too quickly.

My weekend flew right by. I have come to the decision that all weekends should be 3 days. Who do I talk to about this?

At least I got the week off to a decent start with a good workout this morning. I’ve been feeling pretty weak running hills lately, so I decided to do a slow treadmill run with lots of inclines built in.

It looked a little something like this:

Minute Pace Incline
0-5 4.5 1.5
5-8 4.5 3
8-10 4.5 4
10-12 4.5 6
12-14 4.5 8
14-15 4.5 10
15-18 5.0 1.5
18-20 5.0 3
20-22 5.0 4
22-24 5.0 6
24-26 5.0 8
26-27 5.0 10
27-30 5.0 1.5

Phew! This was a lot tougher than I thought it would be, but I guess it’s a place to start with the whole hill situation. I figured it couldn’t hurt to alter my routine and see if there’s any impact.

I followed it up with Jackie’s Upper Body and Abs portions to the Total Body Circuit. I did the whole thing on Friday and concluded that I hate doing lunges and squats most of all in any strength training routine. I don’t like any of it, but I just dread the lower body work. Yes, I know it would probably help me with the hill running situation, but I’m taking baby steps.

baby steps

Thank you, Dr. Leo Marvin, for changing my life.

This morning, I’ve just been plugging away at work. I’m a little stressed because I make my big debut in Washington, D.C. next week, and I don’t want to look like a fool. Study, study, study!

Also, in a rather unfortunate turn of events, I didn’t bring any business attire with me from Richmond to Michigan, so I don’t really have anything to wear next week.

image017

I have a pretty hard time finding anything that fits me well, and I kind of want to class it up so these people take me seriously. My solution was to buy a couple of inexpensive dresses at Marshalls and then take them to the tailor. Hopefully, she’ll be able to alter them before I have to go without breaking the bank.

Double cross your fingers for me!

Two questions today:

How are your hill-running skills?

I used to run up 2 huge hills all the time in my neighborhood last summer, and I kinda loved it—like I was kicking some serious butt when I did it! But since then, not so much.

Do you have many things altered?

I’ve only really gotten jeans hemmed, and a dress or 2 here and there. But if this works out, it may be my new go-to for work clothes!

7 thoughts on “Alterations

  1. I’m just starting hills too. Hate them so much! But they do kick your butt.

    I’ve never had anything altered. If something doesn’t fit, I take that as a sign that I don’t need it. You know, FOrever 21 has some really nice stuff for cheap and they have smaller sizes. Maybe you can try to find one of those?

    • I should check it out. The problem is, the DC crowd calls for CONSERVATIVE so I need to be really careful about length. I got a Calvin Klein dress at Marshall’s for $50 and the alterations were $25, so not too bad for a custom fit. We’ll see what the finished product looks like.

  2. Good luck with the dresses. I hate getting things altered, but sometimes you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do. I’m sure you’ll look great.

  3. Katie says:

    I always had my mom hem my pants because I’m short and even ‘short’ pants are too freaking long. But I think I need a professional tailor. I bought a dress that I need some help with and I’m still freaking short! 🙂 I’ve never went to anyone and I guess it is mostly stubbornness that things should just FIT me. Riight, because we’re all shaped the same way.

    • I tend to feel the same way, like when I buy something, it should just fit and I shouldn’t have to spend extra to get it right! Unfortunately, I have a pretty hard time finding anything that fits me well, too, which leads me either to the tailor or to spend more $$. 😦

Leave a reply

