Testing Times

While I have been feeling pretty down the last couple of days, a lot of your comments this afternoon helped to put things into perspective. Given that we are all constantly changing and growing, it makes sense that sometimes people grow in different directions. While that’s tough to accept, it is what it is. That’s not to say I care any less for friends who’ve grown in the other way, it’s just to acknowledge that our lives have gone down different paths. And if we’re both happy in the long run, that’s what counts the most.

Susan also made the following comment that really spoke to me:

You know I think if most people were really honest with themselves they would find they only really have one or two really close people (outside family) to them that they can call true friends and people they rely on, most others are people who will eventually come and go from your life over time. It happens to everyone. I think too you will be surprised at how many people you will meet through your new job. And remember – testing times help build tough character. You will be fiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnneeeeee!!

If testing times are an indication of character, I’m one tough cookie! Winking smile 

But really, I think this is so true. It’s also important to remember that friends sometimes disagree. We’re not all perfect 100% of the time; we’re just doing the best we can. I acknowledge that sometimes my best falls short just like anyone else. But at the end of the day, I have to answer to myself, and if I can feel ok about who I am as a person, that’s what matters most to me.


In an effort to move on from the foggy feeling I’ve had this week, I made one of my favorite recipes for the family tonight! Yep, I finally cooked. But I didn’t just cook—I grilled! Open-mouthed smile

This is sort of a big deal for me because I am secretly afraid of the grill. Surprisingly, I didn’t screw it up! In fact, I think I did a pretty decent job!

While I made a party of one version of this salad a few months ago, it just tastes better when you have someone to share it with!

I used Giada’s recipe for Neapolitan Calamari and Shrimp Salad, substituting scallops for the calamari, not only because our store didn’t have calamari today, but also because I am a sucker for scallops!

I followed the recipe pretty exactly, but used garlic salt to season the veggies and seafood and only about 1/4 cup of olive oil.

Check it:

006

What’s in that bowl, you ask? Well, there’s orzo cooked in chicken broth, cannellini beans, arugula, basil, and parsley . . .

009

. . . grilled eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes . . .

011

plus bay scallops and shrimp . . .

015

tossed with lots of fresh lemon juice, olive oil, and S&P for my favorite salad of all time!

010

Set for 3 . . .

012

Plus ambiance, of course.

013

We feasted!

017020

It’s a beautiful night! Back to the deck for me! Open-mouthed smile

2 thoughts on “Testing Times

  1. You know, Susan is totally right. I once told my hubs about one of my friends, “I like her and like her company, but if I didn’t see her again, it wouldn’t matter.” I know that is a shiz thing to say…but I totally feel that way. Some people you keep getting closer to and some people you get further away from. And she’s a further away type. She has 50% qualities I look for in a friend and 50% that I avoid like the plague. So, it’s a weird situation.

    Anyway, I’m sure if you made that salad more often the new friends would come flocking to you. 🙂

Leave a reply

