Clif Lovin’

Aside from a forecast that includes the words “humid” and “uncomfortable,” things are going fantastically here in DC!

Yesterday was packed with meetings and today is more of the same. While it’s certainly not thrilling every minute, I am still loving it! I know this might sound cheesy, but it’s sort of fun to take the train to work and go through the metal detector on my way into the building. I guess there’s a sort of novelty to it—just the newness of it all. And the fact that I set the metal detector off every single time I walk through it keeps things interesting! I’m not packing! I promise!

One of the things that I always found challenging in the past when traveling for work was maintaining a consistent workout schedule and keeping up with healthy meals. I usually make healthy meal choices anyway, but when I’m running around like a crazy woman and working with other people’s schedules, sometimes I get so busy I don’t have time to eat. Or, I get stuck in a place where there aren’t a lot of good options, so I end up waiting to eat until later when I can find something I like. By that time, I’m ravenous and end up stuffing myself with something really healthy, like a burger and fries.

What I’ve found works best for me is to bring along lots of bars—granola, protein, etc.—that I know I like, are easy to eat on the run, and keep me decently full in the event that I have to stretch one out into a meal.

My favs are all of the Clif variety:
Regular Clif Bars

whitechoc

I’ve sampled several flavors of the original Clif bars, and White Chocolate Macadamia and Crunchy Peanut Butter are my hands down favorites. Some of the other varieties get a little protein bar-y, with a bit of an odd flavor/texture, but for the most part, I really love Clif Bars. Plus, they have a ton of protein, so they stave off my hunger!

Clif Mojo Bars

clifmojo

Granola bar? Meet protein bar. Chewy and crunchy, these have great flavor and keep your tastebuds happy with a little salty/sweet action. Peanut Butter Pretzel? Yes, please!

Clif Z Bars

clifz

I realize that these are supposed to be for kids, but they’re a great snack option for grown-ups, too! And the Chocolate Brownie flavor? It tastes like a chocolate brownie! Perfect for my sweet tooth!

Clif Granola Bars

clifcrunch

I tried the White Chocolate Macadamia flavor of these crunchy granola bars for the first time last summer. Holy yum! They have little pockets of white chocolate that are just the slightest bit melty—such a treat! I’ve also had the Peanut Butter flavor which is good, but doesn’t compare to the WCM.

I think I’m pretty much their best customer. Smile

Do you like protein bars? What are your favs???

18 thoughts on “Clif Lovin’

  1. I REALLY DO LOVE CLIF BARS BUT MY ALTIME FAVORITE BAR IS THE P90X PROTEIN BAR IN PEANUT BUTTER! DO U THINK WE LIKE PEANUT BUTTER CAUSE IT BRINGS US BACK TO OUR CHILDHOOD AND PEANUT BUTTER SANDWICHES JUS SAYIN AND THINKIN, ABOUT SILLINESS. HAVA GR8 DAY IN WASHINSHINGTON OH TELL MICHELE HI!

  2. It’s almost embarrassing how much Clif products I have… I literally have a shelf in one of my kitchen cabinets stocked with Clif bars, Clif Mojo bars, and Clif Shot Bloks… I’d say I account for a good amount of their profits, lol 🙂

  3. I LOVE Clif bars and practically live off of them during marathon training. My favorite is the Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Clif bar. You should definitely try it if you haven’t!

  4. Nora says:

    I live in DC and let me just say that this weather is brutal! silly me in the middle of marathon training. Luckily I’ve only got a 15 miler this weekend, but with temps supposed to be 86 degrees by 6am on Saturday still won’t be much fun. But! if you are able to get up early enough and aren’t exhausted you should try to get a run in on the rock creek park trail. It’s awesome and shaded and on the weekend parts of it are blocked off to traffic, makes for awesome running! now about this heat/humidity….

    • Wow! You are a trooper! I would be on the treadmill for that 15 miler!

      I probably won’t get a chance this time, but I will definitely check out that trail next time!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  5. Clif, Luna, Lara: My survival tools for business trips for sure!! Hope this heat isn’t getting to intense! It’s suppose to be even HOTTER tomorrow in DC!

Leave a reply

