NOT Quiet

Hey hey from our nation’s capital!

I’m back in DC for the next 2 days for some “face time” in the office. I seem to be operating at about 85% capacity, so I’d say this illness is finally getting its butt out the door!

I took the 7 AM Amtrak into the city and after walking through an area where I clearly should NOT have been getting the teensiest bit lost on the way to the building, I made it.

which-way-to-go

While I really like being in DC—I’m a city girl at heart—I’m not the biggest fan of working in cubeland. I don’t actually have my own designated workspace here (I’m at the desk of someone who’s on vacation), and the office isn’t conducive to work at all. Well, maybe certain types of work, but for me it’s a little on the noisy side. When I’m writing or editing technical stuff, I need quiet. This place? NOT quiet!

Other than that, I’ve just been plugging away the best I can. Truth be told, I was pretty grouchy this morning when it was super noisy here, but it seems to have calmed down. And in case you were wondering, yes, I was the nerdy girl in the front row glaring at the kids in the back who talked during the lesson.

spano

I also had a kick-ass perm. Yes, Jessie Spano and I are oddly similar, minus the caffeine pill addiction. Winking smile

The pickin’s are a little slim around here for lunch since the food court is under construction. I nabbed a salad at Potbelly and brought it back to cubeland for lunch.

2011-07-27_13-13-56_870

HOT.

On the plus side, I seem to be able to tolerate food again without feeling like I’m going to die. On the minus, this salad was not my favorite thing I’ve ever eaten.

2011-07-27_13-14-05_861

Potbelly used to have the most delicious veggie salad. I don’t even remember now exactly what was on it, but I luuuurrrved that salad and was super bummed when they took it off the menu. Today I had an Uptown Salad (who names these things??) with grilled chicken, dried cranberries, grapes, apples. candied walnuts, and blue cheese topped with vinaigrette. The salad itself wasn’t bad, but the fatty chicken all over it really put me off. I picked it off right away because I could tell by the looks of it that I wasn’t going to enjoy it.

Guess that just means I have to find something really yummy for dinner tonight!

Have you ever loved a dish that got taken off the menu?

Aside from Potbelly’s Veggie Salad, I was also really disappointed when Wendy’s stopped making their pita sandwiches. Does anyone else remember them? I always used to get the Chicken Ceasar Pita at the student union when I was in college. Such a sad day when those went away!

9 thoughts on “NOT Quiet

  1. So glad you’re feeling better, but that’s too bad about the lackluster salad. Like you said, just means you deserve an extra special dinner to make up for it! And I totally know what you mean about wanting quiet while you work…I don’t know how I used to study at Starbucks. Oh wait, that’s right — I shot glares at noisy people like it was a library. Oops! 😉

  2. Kristin says:

    Maybe you’re thinking of Potbelly’s chickpea veggie salad? My fav. It had chickpeas, cucumbers, red onion, tomato, egg and blue cheese on it I think.

    • I think that’s the one they have now. The old one had chickpeas, roasted red peppers, tomato, cucumbers, croutons, and provolone . . . and they used to have this Asian Sesame Vinaigrette, too. Gah! So good! I want one now!!

  3. Sorry you’re stuck in cubeland M! That’s no fun, I’m so glad you’re able to take the Amtrack though, I was worried you were going to driving up and back to D.C. and that is no fun at all!

    I had a similar experience with potbelly’s uptown salad I wished I had just gotten a sandwich. Overall I always like subway better because I can ask for all the veggies on top.

    I miss Wendy’s pitas too! Though their salads are quite good 🙂

    Hope you feel right as rain tomorrow! 🙂

  4. Yay for getting better! I hope you feel 100% soon.

    I hate it when places take good stuff off the menu. This is the same but a lil’ different. My fav candy bar used to be a mint chocolate Hershey’s bar. They quit making it years ago, and I’m clearly still bummed about it.

  5. Katie says:

    Mine is also not a menu item, but I would die if they brought Peanut Butter Toast Crunch cereal back. Maybe not the healthiest thing ever, but I *love* that stuff!

Leave a reply

