Is This Real Life?

Yesterday was busy busy busy and the next few days hold more of the same!

Thank you to those of you who weighed in about my dilemma of where to move.

To recap, the choices are:

  • Stay in Richmond and commute to DC once a week
  • Move to DC—no commute
  • Move back to Michigan and commute to DC once a month

All 3 options have me working from home for at least 3 days a week. My biggest worry is that I’ll be too isolated if I stay in Richmond or even if I move to DC because I don’t have a network.

feel-trapped-relationship-with-myself-cry-for-help-ecards-someecards

Yesterday I put on my big girl pants and asked my bosses if commuting to DC once monthly was even an option. I didn’t want to get my hopes up about moving back to my family and friends in Michigan if it wasn’t really an option.

But guess what?

funny_pictures_kitten_has_a_happy_3-s500x375-149396-580

They said yes.

So at this point, I can pretty much do whatever I like.

is this real life

I mean, who gets everything they want? It’s too good to be true! I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop because that seems to be a main theme of my life, but things just keep going well. I think it might be time to buy a lottery ticket.

 winning

I still haven’t made an official decision, and I plan to explore the DC area a little when I’m up there tomorrow for work. But even though Michigan is cold and gray, I’m leaning towards going back. I love the milder weather here in the south, but my people are there. I’m missing too much. Right now, it feels like that’s where I need to be.

This experience of moving away on my own has shown me that I can do it. If I want to move again in a year, then I will. If I want to stay put, then I will. It’s all up to me. I am finally at a place in my life where I know I can be happy anywhere, even if I am lonely, and I trust myself enough to know that whatever decision I make will me the right one.

Have you ever made a big move? What factors weighed heavily in your decision?

10 thoughts on “Is This Real Life?

  1. congrats on having a DREAM job! that is so awesome!!!
    i vote move to michigan…that’s your comfort zone…you have friends and family there and they can cheer you up on a horrible day!!!!
    i have thought about moving down south, but i think i would be too lonely and instead of making me happier, i am afraid it would do just the opposite. i am all about nice weather. i cant handle cleveland winters much longer!!!! good luck with your decision! i am sure it will be right no matter what!! xo

  2. Yay, that’s what I picked! I win! 🙂

    I moved from Bradenton to Orlando (about a 2 hour drive between cities). That’s the biggest move I did on my own. But it was a biggie because I was moving out of my mom’s place and living on my own with a roommate in a new city. The factors that weighed heavily: I wanted the job I was offered and my best friend lived in Orlando. I only knew one person moving here and she was REALLY good about spending most of her time with me until I met new people and she could let this baby bird fly! LOL

  3. Jill says:

    Congratulations… cooolll!!! No pun intended. If you go to Michigan remember you would still be travelling to “balmy” DC and afterall that’s what winter vacations someplace warm are for!!

  4. I am a firm believer in doing what makes you happy! I am in DC now, and to be completely honest with you, it is not where I want to be. I am planning a big move back home to California in a few months!

  5. Definitely time to play that lottery ticket! I’m so proud of you for asking for what you wanted and am happy that you got the response that you did.

    I recently made the move from CT to NY. It was hard leaving my family and everythint that I’ve known for over 30 years. I tend to be a very rooty/sentimental person, so the move was tough on me emotionally. It was all for the best because I get to be with my boyfriend every day now. I also found a great job where I’m able to utilize my skills much better. My family is less than 2 hours away, so I can always visit on the weekends, when I want to.

  6. I’m so glad that everything is working out so well M! What a perfect example of how stepping up and asking for what you want (and taking some big jumps) can really pay off.

    Our big move has turned out well and I have some more exciting professional stuff in the pipeline. 😀

  7. That’s great news!

    I moved to NH & then FL & lived away from my family for 6 years. Moving back was one of the toughest decisions I have ever made & it was a ROUGH transition but I’m so happy to be back near my family!

Leave a reply

