Where’s My Fairy Godmother?

Hi kids! I loved reading your thoughts on weighing yourself yesterday, and I have to say, I’m totally impressed by those of you who have taken off so much weight! That is a seriously amazing accomplishment. Hats off to you!

My Saturday is not shaping up to be as fun or relaxing as I’d hoped it would be.

For instance, this stresses me out:

035

But not as much as this:

034

I wish my apartment could just pack and move itself. I need some Disney magic here. My fairy godmother should be showing up about now to wave her wand and make it all go away, right?

FairyGodmother

I’m sure she’s just running late. Winking smile


Last night, I got a much-needed break from my work/moving/general life craziness and had a girls’ night with Danielle.

026

Yep, there was wine involved. Are you surprised???

We sat out on the deck at the Boathouse and enjoyed the gorgeous view while chatting the evening away.

015

We were lucky enough to nab a couple of seats at the bar overlooking the lake. It was the perfect summer evening—not too hot and bug free!

011012

I love sitting at the bar for dinner—they never rush you and it somehow feels more ok to take your time, ya know? It was nice to take a deep breath and relax amidst all the busy-ness that’s been going on lately. We kicked back with our vino and some crab and artichoke dip.

013

A little while later, we started to get hungry for real, so we shared a white pizza and a spicy tuna roll. Pretty random combo, but it worked for us!

018

I love their pizzas—crispy, thin crust, roasted peppers, garlic, oregano, arugula pesto and chhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeze!! Both mozzarella and goat. Perfection.

020

The tuna roll was good, but it didn’t knock my socks off. I wish it were a little spicier, actually. (and I just typed “I wish I were a little spicier.” Not sure what that means!)

Anyway, it was a much needed if not bittersweet girls’ night. It’s probably the last one Danielle and I will have before I leave Richmond. Sad smile

And to that end, the final decision, (made even more final by a few follow up discussions with my bosses) is that I am headed back to the mitten.

smitten

Even though it’s the decision that makes the most sense for my happiness, I am sad to leave Richmond. This last year has been transformative for me in so many ways. I feel like I have a lot to say about that, so I’m going to save it for its own separate post.

And with that, I’m off like a prom dress to get my pack-on! Hope your Saturday is more fun than mine!

11 thoughts on “Where’s My Fairy Godmother?

  1. Sounds like a great girls night. Congrats on making the big decision! Living near your family will be totally worth it. Friends, BF’s, pets, etc., will never replace them. I’m so glad I decided to move back.

  2. Sounds like a great night! I’m so glad that you’ll be heading back to your happy place! It’s nice when things work out the way you’d like them to. 🙂 Like you said, things aren’t set in stone. If the desire arises you’ll still have the opportunity to move back, if you’d like. You’re in a great position….one with many possibilities. So happy for you!

  3. Katie says:

    Yay on a decision! Just make sure you come back before it snows. 🙂 You can enjoy the last bit of summer and the way-too-soon start of fall. I haven’t moved away and still don’t know what I’ll do when winter starts!

Leave a reply

