Wine & Winning

Wow, this day just flew right by! It’s actually kind of amazing, given the fact that I have done a whole lotta nothing today. I’m really glad Danielle and Bryce are so good at laying around because that’s all any of us felt like doing today. Probably because we were so busy having fun yesterday!

I wound up going to get a much-needed massage yesterday afternoon, and as I was driving back, Danielle called and asked if I’d like to meet them at Dave & Busters for arcade games and beer. Yes, please!

006

I’m not all that big on video games, but arcade games are fun! And even more fun with beer! Smile

We hit up skee ball

009

Basketball

012

Something called Fruit Ninja (which was actually a lot of fun!)

004

Guitar Hero (serious concentration going on—and we still stunk at it Smile)

015

And this random game where I hit the jackpot—392 tickets!

010

Since we weren’t in the market for any giant stuffed gorillas, we cashed in most of our tickets for game credit and a couple of treats. Nerds Rope, anyone???

017

Then we walked down the block to Keagans, an Irish Pub, to sit on their patio and have a beer and a couple of snacks.

024025

We had beef tips smothered in blue cheese sauce over crostini and hot pretzels with grainy mustard and cheddar ale sauce. Everything was absolutely delicious!

We hung out for a bit and enjoyed the milder temps while we enjoyed our snacks. Pretty evening, right?

021022

After weighing our options, we decided carry out pizza and wine back at home on the deck was a good plan.

026

I had never had Extreme Pizza before, but holy deliciousness! Some of the best pizza I’ve ever had!

We got a Pandora’s Box

027

Spinach, artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, feta, garlic, fresh basil, oregano and mozzarella

I loved this one, but we all agreed that the Hanoi stole the show.

028

Shredded pork marinated in a spicy hoisin style sauce, mozzarella, peanuts, green onions, jalapeños, carrots and fresh cilantro

All I can say is wow. I don’t know if I would have ever thought to put this combo on a pizza, but I will definitely try to recreate this at some point. It was incredible! The jalapeños weren’t too spicy, the hoisin sauce was just a tiny bit sweet, and the cheese and peanuts gave it a perfect salty bite. I loved every last bite!

We ended up cracking open a few bottle of wine and hung out on the deck all night. It was exactly how I wanted to spend my last Saturday night in Virginia with my bestest friends.

030031

We’ve just been lazing around watching movies all day, and I’m feeling a little sad about leaving tomorrow. I know I’ll be happier overall living in Michigan near my family, but I really have loved a lot of things about living here, namely those two people in the pictures above. I wish I could bring them with me. Or have my family move here. In a perfect world, right? At least I know I’ll be in DC once a month, so hopefully I can convince them to come up and see me!

Time to watch some more movies! Smile

Have you ever been to Dave & Busters?

It was my first time, and I loved it!

10 thoughts on “Wine & Winning

  1. I love Dave and Buster’s! My favorite game is a big Trivia Game at the one here. My problem is that I’m so competitive that I will just keep spending me money. (Yeah…I have no self control.) Needless to say, I don’t let myself go very often.

  2. Umm that pizza looks amazing! I am jealous!! And also super excited for you and that everything is falling into place 🙂 Oh and I haven’t been to Dave & Buster’s in forever but definitely want to go now that I looked through your picutres – how fun!!

  3. Renee Byard says:

    Awww……looks like you guys had a TON of fun! Wish I were still there. Maybe when they come back to Indy for a visit…you can come here too?!?! Be careful, have fun and laugh alot! love~

Leave a reply

