No Way to Sugar Coat It

There’s no way to sugar coat it, so I’m just going to say it.

I had a shitty day.

There were tears. There was stress. And I’m fairly certain it did nothing for the anti-wrinkle campaign I’m attempting.

It just wasn’t a good day.

But in the interest of moving past it, I poured a glass of wine, did a little baking project, and made myself a delicious simple meal.

004

Look familiar? Yep, that’s Monday night’s dinner repurposed as a salad. I have to re-invent my leftovers or else they bum me out. Given that I wasn’t up for cooking anything new tonight, this actually worked out perfectly.

002

I tossed a bed of spinach in Garlic Gold Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette, then topped it with leftover sautéed veggies and strips of Bourbon Brown Sugar Pork Tenderloin.

006

It didn’t totally fix my bad day, but it sure didn’t hurt.

005

Time to finish my wine while watching reruns of Bones.

bones

I’ll do my best to be more upbeat tomorrow, promise.

For now, though, that’s all folks!

8 thoughts on “No Way to Sugar Coat It

  1. So sorry you had such a stressful day M, there’s no need to sugar coat it we all have them and can totally relate. Sounds like you’re doing the best you can to move past it and be kind to yourself. I hope you have a much better day today. Sending a BIG hug!

  2. I’m sorry you had a bad day, too, but I’m really impressed with how much you accomplished despite whatever ick you were dealing with. Baking? Healthy dinner? Those both take thought and work. And any day that ends with a glass of wine and a show you love (for me its True Blood and Glee) isn’t so horrible 🙂 Here’s to 4 fours until Friday!

Leave a reply

