Dinner on the Deck

Tonight was probably one of the last dinners we’ll have on the deck this season. Sad smile

After a week of rain, the sun finally decided to show its face, and we enjoyed one last summer day here in Southeast Michigan.

016

Naturally, there was wine . . .

015

And ambience . . .

018019

While dinner was cooking, we sipped away on a bottle of 2007 Stags Leap Cabernet

023and enjoyed some snacks in the form of Jarlsberg (best wine drinking cheese on the planet)

022

and root chips (sweet potato & beet).

021

Fresh from the farm cart!

029

I grew up less than a mile from where these tomatoes were farmed, and let me tell you, they were the perfect late summer treat.

031

Paired next to gorgeous sweet corn steamed on the grill

035

And BBQ chicken—caramelized and just a little charred! Perfection!

038

There are a lot of gourmet BBQ sauces on the market these days, but I grew up with this stuff.

032

OMG. It has high fructose corn syrup!!!! I’m pretty sure I’m going to die. But it’s the best. And I’ve eaten it all my life, so I guess if I die? Well, I had to die of something. Death by BBQ sauce!

036

As we finished up our delicious late summer meal, we got into a discussion about grammar.

What?!? This doesn’t happen at everyone’s dinner table???

Dad asked a question about commas.

When listing items in a series, do you use a comma before the conjunction, or not?

His English degreed daughter who has a job writing official documents for our own government (that would be me) replied,

Well, it depends.

AP Style (used by newspapers, magazines and government) says no. Other conventional styles (such as those I grew up with) say yes.

Dad felt it appropriate to argue.

Well that’s just stupid. Next thing you know, “whole ‘nother” is going to be in the dictionary!!!

Well, he does have point about the “whole ‘nother” thing. But stupid or not, that’s the way it is for commas. Nevertheless, he proceeded to argue with me about it for at least 10 minutes. Guess he was in an argumentative mood tonight! Winking smile

We also talked about the whole “2 spaces after a period” convention that I, and my parents, were both taught in school. Apparently, this is no longer correct. Now, I took typing nearly 20 years ago, but I know I learned it right! Regardless, the convention has changed. One space only!

$20 to the person who can tell me when exactly this happened and who made this decision!

Then again, 2 spaces after punctuation never made that much sense to me anyway.

Ahhh . . . this has been another stimulating edition of grammar oriented dinner conversation. Now that you all know how boring I really am, you can go back to watching Bachelor Pad. Smile

Are you a grammar stickler? Or do you not really care?

6 thoughts on “Dinner on the Deck

  1. That thing about the spaces after the period is so funny. When I first started at my job a women who is in get 60’s told me I didn’t know how to write a proper letter because I never put two spaces after the period. I had never even heard of doing that until I worked there.

  2. Danielle Byard says:

    I’d say you and I have had our fair share of grammar related conversations 🙂 I’m an english teacher at heart.
    Where did your parents get those cool candle/wine bottle/glass things? coolest! so smart!!

    • It’s just an empty wine bottle and they got a kit that makes it into a lamp. I think it’s just oil and a wick, plus the thing that holds it in the top and the little lamp thing on top. I’ll ask them!

  3. Stags Leap cab is delicious. I love jarlsberg as well, you are so right – def a great wine drinking cheese. I think we need to hang out, I have a feeling we’d get along really well over some wine & cheese!

Leave a reply

