You’re the Best

First thing’s first: I have to thank you all SO much from the bottom of my heart for being so supportive about my meltdown. Embarrassed smile

I’m always a little nervous to share something when I’m feeling especially vulnerable, and I can’t thank you enough for being so sweet. At this point in my life, I’m a pretty good judge of what I need, and tough love isn’t it. Trust me, I’m being plenty hard on myself. So thanks for being nice to me. I need it right now!

best

I made my long commute out to the office and back today. It wasn’t a tough by any means, but I was still in a funk by the time I got back into town. Since I hadn’t been grocery shopping yet, I figured I should hit up the store. My appetite was pretty much non-existent, so I was hoping for a little inspiration once I got into the store. Sure enough, I made it about 2 steps into the produce section before I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner—Stuffed Spaghetti Squash!

The gorgeous and darling Courtney has posted this recipe a couple of times now, so when I saw a table of spaghetti squash on sale for $0.69/lb., it was a no-brainer.

I quickly looked up the recipe on my phone (where were we before smart phones?!?), and realized I could stuff my squash (TWSS) with anything my little heart desired! Wheeeeee!!!!

I followed Courtney’s method pretty much exactly, stuffing my squash with a combo of onions, garlic, spicy turkey sausage, orange pepper, yellow squash, zucchini, diced tomatoes, spinach, feta and oregano. For the topping, I used an Italian cheese blend with mozarella, parmesan, provolone, asiago, romano and fontina. Even though it took several steps, the whole thing was actually really easy to make—totally worth the effort!

005

Just what I needed! A veggie-packed dinner to brighten up my mood. OK, the gooey cheese on top didn’t hurt, either!

008

Kinda hard to resist, right?

011

Naturally, this happened.

001

Not too shabby for the inaugural meal in my new place.

009

And in case there was any doubt about how good this was . . .

012

Scraped clean!!! Yeah, you’re going to want to make this. Thanks for the recipe, Courtney!

Filling, but not so much so that you feel stuffed Surprised smile and absolutely deeeeelish!

I’m off to relax on my couch and get used to my new home. I’ll probably have to dig into one of these, too.

013

For a low-cal dessert, these are SO stinkin’ good! In fact, these are just plain good, low-cal or not. They don’t taste diet-y at all!

Rachael also posted a recipe for some yummy looking stuffed peppers today. I’ve got to put those on my list to make, too!

Made anything tasty lately? I’d love some ideas!!!

20 thoughts on “You’re the Best

  1. This looks amazing, Melissa! A perfect inaugural meal indeed 🙂 You know how much I love spaghetti squash, so I’ll have to make this! Oh, and I adore Mama Pea’s stuffed bell peppers. And I recently made some delicious butternut squash ravioli. Have a great night!

  2. I wish I could find spaghetti squash here….everyone keeps blogging about it..I’m green with envy! Looks amazing… I have been doing the smae thing but with zucchini and my mandolin…it’s been just as tasty! 🙂
    xoxo from Trinidad

  3. New reader here- found your blog from CanYouStayForDinner and noticed you’re from Michigan! I could throw a rock and hit the Big House! 🙂 excited to read more of your blog!

    XO
    Leigh

  4. bubblymel says:

    Oh that Squash looks yummo, I wish we could get it over here I am dying to try it! I made a really nice Chicken salad the other day with apple, blueberries, walnuts, celery, mixed lettuce and Fetta! It was so yummy and used white Balsamic vinegar for the dressing!! Glad to hear you are feeling better! Wine also looks very yummy!

Leave a reply

