Badly Interested

Dude. I am crazy ass busy today.

I don’t like a busy Friday. I like a nice, calm, phone-it-in Friday. But since that’s not happening, I decided to make myself a cozy Fall breakfast, put my head down, and get ‘er done.

4 new recipes in one week?!?! Guess I’m enjoying having my own kitchen again, huh?

In case you missed ‘em:

Coconut French Toast

Apple Bacon Panini

Roasted Acorn Squash with Apples & Sausage

and . . .

Apple Cinnamon Oats

Serves 1

1/4 cup oats (not instant)

1/4 cup each milk (I use coconut) and water

1/2 t. vanilla extract

1/2 an apple, chopped

1/4 t. cinnamon

1 T. nut butter (I used peanut butter, but I think almond butter would be awesome)

Add oats, liquid and vanilla to a small sauce pan and heat over high heat until it comes to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and add the apples and cinnamon. Simmer 5 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed and the oats are cooked. Top with a scoop of peanut butter.

I know it’s a teeny tiny bowl, but it’s the perfect amount for me for breakfast.

Plus, there’s so much going on, that I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything. The apples still have a little bit of a crunch to them so it gives it a lot of texture, which I totally dig.

Plus the peanut butter gets suuuuuuuuper melty which is the best way to have PB IMO (<—special for you, Rachael!)


Soooo, for your entertainment I have decide to try online dating again. You know, the thing I have previously compared to interviewing for a job you don’t really want? Yeah, that. I am somewhat flattered and slightly terrified that my profile has already had over 500 views and I’ve gotten 40 emails so far . . . and I reactivated it Wednesday night. This is where my anxiety sets in. Am I not as cute as previously thought I was? Is that why I’m attracting so many guys that are clearly old/out of shape/creepy??? Is this all that’s out there? It’s like my own personal Bachelorette nightmare come true!

I mean, if I’m feeling desperate enough that I think I have to go online to meet men, and the field of them seems even crazier than the groups of nutjobs they find for the Bachelorette, then I’m in serious trouble.

My favorite so far is this email:

Subject: Badly interested!

I’m a stylish, intellectual and high educated guy who is interested in dating a girl. I’m single and never married. So committed and faithful to the relationship. So I highly recommend myself to a girl who matches me and my qualities.

And apparently you write in broken English? Well, if nothing else, I suppose this will make for excellent entertainment. It may be slightly depressing, but I’m trying not to focus on that right now.

Wilford Brimley is putting the smack down on me. Got it. Head down. Time to work. Quit bitching about online dating. Maybe just maybe, there will be a diamond in the rough. If not, at least I can say I tried something. And then no one can bug me when I get my cats and housecoat.

Have you ever dated online? Had any luck? I’d love to hear your (horror) stories!

11 thoughts on “Badly Interested

  1. Ok, I am SO trying your coconut french toast this weekend…YUM!!!

    With the online dating – I have a few friends that have been very successful with this…as in are now married with child on the way successful. Just try it out and have fun. Who knows right?! But please pass on Mr. Highly Interested….;-)

  2. Oh friend, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with online dating. That’s like saying there’s totes something wrong with meeting all your friends online. And if there’s something wrong with that then I don’t wanna be right! (That was so lame). But seriously, some of my favorite people (ahem: YOU) are people I’ve met online. So why would dating be any different? Besides, outside of meeting people in college I don’t even see how you do meet people to date these days.

    • Ha! Love it! I kind of thought the same thing, though. I mean, I adore you and we met online, so this isn’t so different. Just more weirdos to weed through.

      My best guy friend and I discussed it at length, and we both agreed that this was probably my best shot, so we’ll see how it goes!

  3. Dude. I thought you were on a blogging frenzy. This same post showed up in my reader three times. What’s with that craziness?

    I think you are going to need to document more of the emails you’ve received. And that many responses is good! More to choose from. YOU choose THEM baby, not the other way around. Work it! I think you need to find a neat freak. That’s what I’d look for if I online dated. In fact, I’d probably respond to your profile if I went “that way.” 😉

    • Sorry to blow you up. My post wasn’t completely showing up, so I kept trying to republish it. UGH. Anyway.

      Don’t you worry, there will be plenty more documentation. The fun is just beginning. And you know, if I get 1 or 2 possibilities out of that field, that’s decent. I like this neat freak idea. So far, I’m ruling out anyone who likes camping. You know, since I love NOT camping.

  4. SO happy you’re giving it a go! And it’s def NOT desperate — it’s great for picky people like us. And really, shouldn’t we all be picky about the person we want to SPEND OUR LIFE WITH! Shahhh! I could name all the couples I know that met online, but it would take too long. Seriously. And gems like Mr. Badly Interested just make for extra laughs. I love it. 😉

  5. I’ve had so many horror story dates that I could honestly write a best seller. Friends have asked me to retell stories when they’re having a bad day just so they can get a laugh. I’ve been left places, had a guy take his teeth out of his mouth, a guy told me before picking me up that he looked like “shit”…and he did, another turned white when I told him my uncle was in the FBI (I usually mention it as a joke, but obviously he was involved with something) and also fell prey to a guy without a US citizenship. So, if you’re ever having a bad day, give me a ring and I’ll make your belly hurt from laughing. 😉 I’ve literally sat on dates wondering, “how this is really happening?”

    Be open to finding someone though. Rob and I met on Match. He was the only one that I contacted on my own and look what happened. If there’s someone you’re interested in, definitely take the chance. The guys that should take a chance don’t and then there are others you must figure that they’ll take chance because it can’t hurt. One guys opening line to me was “Nice hair.” LOL. Yeah…I never responded. Rob and I still joke about that one.

    • OMG Kim! I literally LOL’ed at that! Wow! I’m so glad to hear you found Rob on match–that gives me hope! You 2 seem like such a perfect fit and you seem so happy with him. 🙂 But the bad dates do make for great stories, don’t they?

Leave a reply

