Sweet & Spicy Chili

Look what came in the mail!!!

013

That would be the print I ordered from Etsy for my office. Isn’t it so cute? I love it!

{And trust me, the fact that I have used wine bottles to weigh down the corners and flatten it out is not lost on me. Winking smile}

I wish I had something exciting to report tonight, but today was incredibly ordinary. I worked. I ran. I ate.

I do have a recipe for you, though! Since it was a brisk Fall day, I decided it was time for chili! Sweet and spicy chili, that is.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

Serves 2

1 large sweet potato, peeled & diced

1 medium onion, diced

1 can black beans, rinsed & drained

1 clove garlic, minced

1 cup diced canned tomatoes

1 can diced green chiles

1 turkey sausage, cut up into bite-sized pieces

1 cup beer (you might have to drink the rest of the bottle—sorry Winking smile)

1 T. brown sugar

1 T. cumin

1.5 T. chili powder

1/2-1 t. salt (to taste—start with a 1/2, you can always add more!)

1/4 t. pepper

Place all ingredients in crock pot and cook on low heat for 10 hours or high heat for 6 hours. That’s it!

025

Gah! I love a good crock pot meal! Could it be any easier??? Although I have to tell you, it’s much more fun to have a crock pot meal bubbling away when you get home from work when you don’t work from home. You know how the smell hits you when you walk in the door??? It’s the best! You don’t get that so much when you work from home and smell it all day . . . you just want to eat it right then!

024

I loved this combo! So completely different than any chili I’ve made before, but delish no less!

021

This could easily be vegetarian, too. Just skip the turkey sausage, and you’re set!

You know what goes really well with this chili?

015

No, not decorative gourds! Wine!

But doesn’t it look like this guy has a personality? Like he wants in on some wine action?

014

Aren’t you supposed to play with decorative gourds? I mean, I know they’re decorative, but I like to get a little extra mileage out of mine.

In other news, I didn’t shower until after 5 PM today, but I did shower! And I put on pants. With a real waistband. My friend, Nicole, told me that’s a rule of working from home. Must put on pants with a waistband every day.

Check!

Given that this is how I looked for most of the day, I suppose it was a slight improvement.

hotness

No makeup, glasses, messy bun and Snuggie. Hotness. It’s really a wonder I don’t have men banging down my door.

Also of interest, I have a “thing” tomorrow evening. You know, meeting a person for a thing. Not sure how I feel about this, but I’m doing it. Hope he doesn’t check out this picture of me beforehand, or I’m pretty sure it will be canceled.

Anyway.

How do you like your chili? Do you eat it with cornbread or chips?

This was a really good recipe, but I think I’m more of a spicy chili gal. And it has to be thick. No soupy chili for me! And cornbread. Always. It doesn’t feel like a complete chili experience without cornbread. Open-mouthed smile

10 thoughts on “Sweet & Spicy Chili

  1. I love that it’s chili season again! Even if it was 86 degrees here today 🙂

    I’ve never made chili with sweet potatoes though – brilliant!!!

    Have fun tomorrow night 🙂 Maybe you’ll meet a “Ted.” If you do – give him a chance!!

  2. This chili looks fantastic, and I’m going to “star” it in google reader so I remember to go back and make it. YUMMY! Congrats on getting ready today. I certainly don’t often do that when I work from home. Enjoy your “thing” tomorrow;)

  3. You know I counted those ingredients, right? THIRTEEN. Are you trying to give me a heart attack? Because that chili looks awesome and it’s got about 12 ingredients more than I know how to handle.
    I like the green chilis idea. I stopped putting garlic in my chili because I can’t tell the difference when I forget it. Sometimes I use hot salsa instead of the canned tomatoes for extra kick. And of course…extra jalapenos. Look at me all talking like I know how to make something! 🙂

    • It only seems like a lot when you list it all out like that. I just throw things in the pot until it tastes good. Seriously. But I’m glad you took the time to count.

      Loving that salsa idea. Pretty sure I need to steal that. And how did I forget jalapenos??? Maybe I’ll add them to the leftovers. The green chiles are good. You should do that. Just have to open a can.

Leave a reply

