Long Winded

I don’t know if you noticed, but blogging didn’t happen yesterday. My apologies to those of you who need your dose of Melissa to get through the day!!

Why didn’t blogging happen, you ask? Well, on Saturday, I did this:

And I’m still figuring out how to use it. So far, I’m loving my Mac. But I will say this: I can’t find a blogging software that equals Windows Live Writer. I tried to use Qumana, but I totally hate it. I can’t see my pictures, it’s not intuitive–I’m just not a fan. Mac users: what kind of blogging software do you use??? I’m still trying to figure out if I can get Live Writer to run on my Mac. If so, I will be one happy chick.

Saturday, I had 14 miles on the ol’ training plan, so I cranked ’em out with the help of my Under Armour Cold Gear, and a variety of fuel.

 

I went with Gatorade Prime and half a vanilla gu before the run. I’m not blaming the gu directly, but in the first 7 miles, my stomach was NOT happy with me.

By the end of the 7th mile, my playlist coincided nicely with the way I was feeling.

Because who doesn’t want to feel that way in the first half of a 14 mile run??? Panera to the rescue! It was the only place open that early, and it saved the day! I finished my first 7 in about 66 minutes, stopped at my car for another half a gu and some gatorade, and set out to finish my 14 in a total of 2:05–about 8:58 pace! Very fast for me, and I felt fantastic during those last 7 miles. No knee pain, no leg pain, just pure running euphoria. Yep, I was the crazy chick running with a giant smile plastered on my face.

Oh, I haven’t told you that I am great at posing for race photos? Yeah, I go for that effortless thing. I should be a model. πŸ˜‰

The most exciting part? I felt like I could have gone even faster! Bodes well for the upcoming race, no???

After my disastrous 13 miler a couple weeks ago, I was glad to see my body hold up for this run. My training plan wants 2 more 14-milers before my race on November 12, but I’m thinking one will be plenty. Then maybe 10 the week before? Thoughts? Also, I probably need someone to MAKE me not run far that weekend before the race. I am addicted to the long run!

I did make myself do more of the strength training on Sunday. I know it’s good for me, but I still hate every.single.second of it. I can’t think of anything I’d rather do less. OK, maybe one thing.

Yeah, I’d strength train before I’d go camping. But I wouldn’t like any of it. However, if my quicker pace is somehow related to the strength training, then I’m in! Honestly, I would much rather spend 2 hours running than 40 minutes lifting weights. That’s normal, right?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Friday night, I made another fabulous fall dinner–no pumpkin involved!

This was one of those, “I don’t know what I want, and I’m not going to the store, so I’d better invent something based on what’s in the fridge” type of meals, and it worked out pretty fantastically, if I do say so myself.

Butternut Squash & Balsamic Onion Quesadilla

Serves 1

For the onions:

2 small onions, thinly sliced

1 t. olive oil

1/2 t. each salt & dried thyme

1/4 t. pepper

2 T. balsamic vinegar

For the squash:

1/2 small butternut squash, peeled and sliced

1/4 t. each S&P

1 T. brown sugar

1 t. olive oil

For the quesadilla:

1/4 cup shredded fontina (or mozzarella)

1 tortilla

Slice up your onions and caramelize them. I just heat the oil over medium heat, add in the onions and seasonings, and saute them for about 10 minutes until they start to soften. Then, I back the heat down to medium-low/low, stirring them every so often for another 15-20 minutes. Add in the vinegar and cook another 5 minutes. Done!

Not difficult, but it requires a little babysitting. If the onions start to brown too fast, just back the heat down and keep an eye on them.

While the onions cook up, toss the squash with the sugar, oil, and seasonings and roast on a sprayed cookie sheet for 30 minutes at 400*.

Then, assemble your quesadilla! Make a single layer of squash slices on half of the tortilla, top with the onions and cheese, and fold over. Grill in the same skillet you used for the onions over medium heat. You’ll want to crisp up the sides–keep an eye on it or it can go from crispy to burned pretty quickly! I’d say about 5 minutes per side, maybe less.

A twist on a fall combo–fun, right?

And actually, amazingly delicious. Gooey cheese, crispy tortilla, sweet squash, and a little tang from the balsamic.

OK, so it takes a tiny bit of time with the onions and the squash, but none of it is hard. Worth the effort–I promise!

Phew–apparently I get a little long-winded when I take a few days off from blogging! Lots to say!

One more thing to share: here’s what my parents’ backyard looked like on Sunday

 

YAY for fall!

Mac people–please point me in the direction of some decent blogging software! So far, it’s the only thing I don’t like about my Mac! 😦

17 thoughts on “Long Winded

  1. You’re my caramelized onion and balsamic loving soul mate. Now I have to try this combo with butternut squash too!

    I have a Mac and honestly blog through the web – not the most user friendly but I don’t get too fancy with my blogging either, so it works for me. Good luck!

  2. That quesadilla looks soo delicious. I’m on a cleanse right now but definitely going to bookmark that and make it next week.
    That backyard is stunning. Fall is so beautiful =)

    • It’s a little pink Sony–nothing special!

      Of possible interest, when I was ready to die in the first half of that run, I said to myself, “If Rachael were running with me, she would tell me to stop for a bathroom break.” And so I did. πŸ˜‰

  3. Quesadillas…yum!!!! Even with the squash.

    Yay for your new Mac! I love mine – I will NEVER go back (well, except for at work). I just use WordPress to blog – so I’m no help there. I’ve heard that Ecto is OK – but it’s not the same as Live Writer.

    Awesome job on your super speedy run!! I’m thinking if you are addicted to the long run you need to train for a marathon! No pressure πŸ™‚

    • I am afraid of marathons! When I see people running, like, 18 miles, they just look miserable. No desire to replicate that. Of course, if you have a glowing race recap of your marathon, maybe I will change my mind!

Leave a reply

