Supa Freak!

In case there was any doubt, I am a super freak.

Yes, this morning, I continued my tradition as the world’s most accident-prone person ever while making breakfast. I really wanted a Mc-muffin style sandwich, so I got to work on my little egg white patty. I spray the inside of a small bowl with cooking spray, add in the egg whites, S&P and some cheese, then microwave it for ~90 seconds with a piece of turkey bacon while my English muffin toasts. Not a tough task, comes together pretty fast, and it’s totally delicious.

So, the muffin is in the toaster oven. The egg whites and cheese are ready to go. The turkey bacon is in the microwave. Then, in only a way that I can execute, I somehow managed to splatter the entire cheesy uncooked egg whites all over the kitchen. We’re talking all over me, all over the stove, in the burners, on the floor–just everywhere.

This is my life. Can you imagine if we added a man, a child, or a pet to that mix? Me neither. Hot mess.

Anyway, before the breakfast debacle, I cranked out 7 tempo’ed miles on the treadmill at the gym in just under an hour. It looked like this:

1 mile @6.0 (10:00 pace)

5 miles @7.4 (8:27 pace)

1 mile @6.5 (9:13 pace)

I prefer to do tempo runs/mile repeats on the treadmill so I can regulate my speed a little bit better, but it’s hard to know if you’re really going the right pace. I googled last night to see what treadmill pace was equivalent to 8:27 and came up with results anywhere between 7.1 and 7.4. I know the incline affects it, but why so many different results??? I also kept track on my Nike+ ipod sensor, but it said I only did 6.4 miles, so I really have no idea. Basically, I have probably been running further and faster than I think I’ve been running because the Nike+ isn’t all that reliable. I need to stop being such a cheap-o and get a Garmin already. It’s not like I wouldn’t use the damn thing every.single.day. Duh.

I have much more to say–recipes up the wazoo (dirty)–but I really really hate blogging from wordpress. This may be the single thing that I absolutely hate about the Mac. Today, I tried a blogging software called MarsEdit, which I also hated. Nothing compares to Live Writer! I know there’s a way to make it run on a Mac, so I need to investigate that. I can’t even figure out how to download pictures onto my computer and get them on here, so that’s going to be a problem, too. Yep, I’m the nerdy chick who has to go to the Apple store for a class on how to use her computer. Actually, the nerdy chick would already know how to use her computer.

Sigh

So if I figure this out, you may get another blog from me today, but in the meantime . . .

What kind of Garmin should I get?

Where can I find a reliable treadmill conversion chart?

I’d like to run the right pace for these training workouts!

 

7 thoughts on “Supa Freak!

  1. I tried to make an egg sandwich a few weeks ago and I microwaved my egg patty for too long… it exploded in the microwave. alllll over the microwave. i was mortified.

    as for Garmins, I love my 405 and I got it from heartratemonitorsusa.com (or something like that – if you’re really interested let me know and i’ll send you a direct link) for less than $200. Get one. You will love it. 🙂

  2. You need a Garmin! I have the 305 – but if I could do it all over again I would just get the 205 because I don’t use the heart rate monitor. It’s not as fancy as the 405, but it’s easier to read and (imo) use.

    As for pictures – just stick the card into the SD slot (TWSS?) (it’s the slot next to headphone plug) and you can upload them to iPhoto. What I do is upload them to Flickr and then embed the pictures into my post (save space on my computer and they are backed up).

Leave a reply

