Three Things and a Little Therapy

I confess.

I had to go back to my PC to blog today. OK, I didn’t have to. But I wanted to. I just can’t leave my Live Writer behind!!!

Enough about that. Lots to catch up on now that I have pics for you and whatnot. I figured I’d do jump on the 3 things Thursday bandwagon. But I might have more things . . . hope you don’t mind. Winking smile

1. 10 lb. Slimdown Extreme Upper Body

001

I did this workout on Exercise TV on Tuesday. Honestly, it was lame. I mean, the weight training itself was OK, but the little cardio bursts in between?

002

I just watched her do them. Oh, and took pictures of it. Because I thought they were dumb. So there. I’d rather do Jackie, to be quite honest. So there’s that.

dontkillme

2. Root Vegetable Soup

Makes 3-4 servings (1-1 1/2 cups each)

1 T. Smart Balance Light (or butter)

1 parsnip, peeled and diced

1/2 small onion, diced

1 large stalk celery, diced

1 t. minced garlic

1 t. thyme

3/4 t. sea salt

1/4 t. pepper

1 medium turnip, peeled and diced

2 cups chicken broth

1/4-1/2 cup milk

019

What the what?!? Yeah, that’s a parsnip. It looks like a big, white carrot. I share this instructional tidbit not because I think you’re stupid, but because even the woman checking me out at the grocery store had to ask what it was. You’re welcome.

018

It has kind of a sweet flavor, and it’s really one of my favorite fall/winter vegetables. So you’ll need to pick up one of those. This one is ~ 9” (TWSS), for your reference.

017

The other veg you might not be familiar with? Yep, that’d be a turnip. Checkout girl also had to ask about that.

The only thing I can think to compare it to is jicama, which isn’t much of a reference point. The texture is kind of apple-like, but it’s not sweet. One this size yields about 2-2 1/2 cups chopped.

Soup It Up

OK, so here we go. Add the Smart Balance or butter to a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Toss in the parsnip, onions, and celery and sauté about 5-7 minutes, until they start to caramelize. Add in the garlic and thyme and sauté an additional minute. Stir in the S&P and turnips, then add the chicken broth to the pan. Bring it to a boil , then reduce the heat and cover the pot. Simmer the soup for 25 minutes, covered. Add in your milk—I did 1/4 cup to start.

Carefully ladle the soup into your blender. Make sure the lid is on tight and top it with a dish towel. Then, blend it away until it’s smooth. Add more milk if needed.

028

Creamy and thick, this soup is PERFECTION for lunch on a chilly fall day. And it has around 110 calories per serving, so that doesn’t hurt. I’m all about volume with my food. So I don’t make low calorie things so I can consumer fewer calories; I make low calorie foods so I can eat more. Logical, right?

029

I topped mine with a few Veggie Sticks from Trader Joe’s. These things are seriously addicting.

030

Again, with the volume. One serving is 50 pieces!?!? Yes, please!

031

3. Match.com is Depressing

I know what you’re thinking: she’s been doing this for all of 2 weeks and she’s giving up already.

MATCH QUIT

Well, kind of. I mean, I’ll stay on there, but I’m not all that excited about it. The guys, by and large, are pretty lame. Maybe I’m not giving it enough of a chance, but I get so many emails every day from guys that I’m not at all interested in—and not just because I don’t like the way they look.

matchnew

It’s clear that most of them haven’t read my profile and that we have nothing in common. One guy actually wrote, “I see you like to get outside!” Um, no. I actually specify in my profile that I DO NOT enjoy camping.

i-love-not-camping

I really went in trying to be open-minded, but it’s a teensy bit hard not to be jaded by the experience thus far.

matchcom

Anyway, I will stick it out and try to be open about it. My membership is 3 months I think? So maybe I’ll have some luck. And maybe I won’t.

Truth be told, I just really feel like I need to date someone else to get over my ex once and for all. I know this is the thing you’re not supposed to admit, but I still really miss him (even if he is a jerk), and at this point, I think the only thing that’s going to get me over him once and for all is to find someone to distract me. It’s not that I don’t want to be over him—in fact, it kind of pisses me off that I still think of him—but I don’t know what else to do to get past it. Ugh. I feel pathetic. Sucks.

Enough pity party. Hopefully this marathon post made up for my boring short one yesterday!

I will leave you today with a few pictures of last year’s Halloween costume.

shame1shame2

It didn’t photograph all that well, but I was “Walk of Shame.” Messy bedhead and smeared makeup, tight mini skirt with a guy’s sweatshirt overtop, wearing one shoe and one earring, bra hanging out of my purse, and my personal fav, hickies that I painted on my neck with makeup. I was super proud of those. Winking smile

Do you like to dress up?

I love it. I have a purple wig that I would wear pretty much every day if I could.

purple wig

It suits me, right???

8 thoughts on “Three Things and a Little Therapy

  1. um, i freaking love that purple wig, that thing is AWESOME. i was just thinking on my drive to work this morning that i have not given halloween any thought this year AT ALL and it makes me a little bit sad. i don’t even think i’m doing anything. when did i become a middle-aged woman without the perks of middle-age (like having lots of money – that happens to everyone right?).

    maybe i’ll buy a wig.

    • OH and about your ex, i think it’s totally normal still think of him and i think you probably will until you date someone else – at least that’s how it always worked for me. and i copied your speeds on your tempo run the other day for mine today. #twinsies 😉

      • YAY for #twinsies! I think you should totally buy a wig. It will make you feel fabulous and you can wear it whenever you feel lame and middle-aged. It’s automatic awesomeness. XO

Leave a reply

