Panic, Procrastination, and other methods of Self-Sabotage

I am running around like a chicken with its head cut off. For real.

Not only do I have a ton of work to do, but I also leave today for a 6 day tour of sorts.

Yep, my trip to Richmond somehow got sandwiched between work trips to DC and Boston, so I’ve decided to go ahead and panic because I’m really good at that. Packing? For 6 days? With work clothes? And regular clothes? And race clothes?

If anyone would like to come over and give me oxygen, I’d be oh so grateful.

But, even though I’ve been running around and worrying for the last 2 days, I realized this morning that I can buy anything I forget, so there’s no real reason to worry.

Despite that, I hadn’t thought of that yet on Monday, so I went ahead and freaked out when my feet got a telltale pain in them during my run. Yep, my shoes are shot. Those of you who put heavy mileage on your running shoes know exactly what I mean, right? Suddenly, one day your shoes are just done. I should have thought of this before, I don’t know, 5 days before my race, but that would have been too easy. So I rushed home, jumped on the Running Warehouse website, and prayed to God that my new kicks would arrive before I leave today. They promise 2nd day air, and I checked the tracking info and they’re already out for delivery, so here’s hoping!

Oh, and I realize that you’re not supposed to wear new shoes for a race, but I would rather risk new shoe pain than old shoe pain. Plus, my feet love every pair of Adidas running shoes I’ve ever purchased, so I’m not too worried.

And in the interest of positivity amongst all this chaos, today, I’m happy with the fact that I can handle all of this! I’m not having a meltdown, I’m not (totally) freaking out, I’m just taking it in stride and trying to enjoy the ride. Afterall, I have a great job that I’m good at, a race I’m crazy excited about, and seeing my BFF tomorrow to look forward to!

Do you panic when things get chaotic or keep your cool?

I tend to panic first, but usually I can pull myself together. Usually.

4 thoughts on “Panic, Procrastination, and other methods of Self-Sabotage

  1. breathe little girl, breathe…..everything will work out the way it is supposed to!
    best of luck with your race and enjoy your time with your friends in richmond!! xoxo

  2. I think I work best under pressure. I don’t think so when I’m actually under the pressure, but when everything lightens up a little bit, I miss it.

    Girl, you got that packing thing. Jeans and lots of black stuff that looks like you keep switching your outfit but you are really in the same stinky one. Works like a charm for me. 🙂

Leave a reply

