You Have GOT to be Kidding Me

This morning I slept in. Yep, I skipped my workout. Yep, I feel a little guilty. Yep, I’m glad I got that extra hour of sleep. Sometimes you’ve just got to make a tradeoff.

Without even knowing it, I wouldn’t have been able to make it to the gym anyway {<– foreshadowing, stolen from Paula}.

I’ve been having issues with my garage door for the past few weeks. Occasionally, it will only open halfway which is generally annoying, but not insurmountable given that it always opens eventually. Well, yesterday it wouldn’t go up at all and seemed to be off the track (which may or may not have been caused by the user). My landlord came over to fix it, and while I didn’t have a lot of faith in his handyman abilities, the problem appeared to be eradicated. We tried it several times, and it went up and down, as garage doors should, without incident.

This morning, I got myself all ready to drive into the office, and lo and behold, the damn door wouldn’t go up. Not wanting to mess with it, I just heaved it up manually, loaded my car, and got ready to go.

And then my car wouldn’t start.

This is the point where I started looking for the hidden camera. Seriously? Seriously??? Was I being punked? At 8 AM on a Monday morning, I’m in no mood for Ashton Kutcher’s antics.

You are not funny OR charming.

So yeah. I popped the hood and looked under it like I had some clue what I might be doing. I was hoping there would be something obvious that would jump out at me, but given that I have zero knowledge of cars, that didn’t happen. I checked the oil since that’s one thing I do actually know how to do, but it definitely wasn’t that. So I did the only other logical thing. I called Dad.

He asked questions about the sounds it was making and all that, then told me to turn the key while flooring the accelerator. Truth be told, the idea of that kind of freaked me out, but I did it and it started right up. Dads know their $h!t. Just saying.

But I can tell you one thing: I sure as hell wouldn’t have been happy if I had the same experience at 6 AM when I was trying to get to the gym. So there’s that.

*******************************************************

Also of possible interest, I had a fun-filled day of Christmasing with my parents on Saturday. We shopped, we ate, we shopped, we ate some more. I purchased several pieces of holiday decor

(because that is the only decor I excel at),

found some fun gifts,

Please note the manger ornament in the background.

and had my first experience at Zingerman’s deli.

Those of you who are local are totally rolling your eyes at me right now. How have I lived in Ann Arbor my whole life and never been to Zingerman’s??? It is kind of ridiculous.

{BTW, in my head I have totally been saying “ridic” a la Kourtney Kardashian lately, and I’m even annoying myself. But I also find it secretly fun. Secret from . . . myself? Since I’m only saying it in my head, well, yes.}

Totally ridic

Anyway, Zingerman’s is famous not just locally, but also nationally, for their amazing deli–sandwiches, bread, and cheeses, among other things. It’s expanded into quite the empire, with an off-site bakehouse and cheese shop and a restaurant in the area as well.
While you wait for your sandwich, you can peruse all the goodies they have lining the shelves. Like 15 year old balsamic vinegar and other things that cost an exorbitant amount of money.

Then, we sandwiched!

I went for the Turkey Reuben because I’m super boring, but it was fantastic! Thick cut bread, real turkey (not like you’d get at the grocery store deli), tangy sauerkraut, and rich Russian dressing. I ate half and even took off some of the meat (TWSS), and I was STUFFED!

We also shared some beets and carrots with fresh basil.

It was incredible. I heart beets. Forever and ever. The end.

You know how sometimes you go to a place that’s been totally hyped up and you get these really high expectations and then it’s a total letdown when you find out that the place is kinda “meh?” That didn’t happen. Zingerman’s is legit. Sure, they want $15 for a sandwich, but they use really high quality ingredients, and they don’t apologize for it. If I’m paying for quality, I don’t mind paying, ya know?

We rounded out our Saturday with dinner at our favorite restaurant and a drive by what is locally known as “the house.”

My crappy cell phone photo doesn’t do it justice, but I’m pretty sure you can see this house from space. They go all out, but it’s not tacky, just fun. I can remember bundling up in the car to drive around and look at Christmas lights 20+ years ago, and this place was always the highlight. To this day, it’s still the best around!

Are there any houses near you that go “all out” with the Christmas lights?

Tried any famous places lately that lived up to the hype (or not)?

13 thoughts on “You Have GOT to be Kidding Me

  1. It’s funny how things always happen for a reason. I’m glad your car situation worked out, it’s nice living near your parents, I don’t know what I would’ve done!
    I love driving by the crazy houses! It’s so fun. And also, I say ridic all the time, and am pretty sure I have for years. I didn’t know that was a Kourtney Kardash thing, I just shorten a lot of words. should I be embarrassed and start only saying it in my head??

  2. Ok – first off – I don’t think we can be friends anymore. You like beets? GROSS
    Second…how have you never been to Zingerman’s??? awesome.
    The fact that you ordered a Turkey Reuben redeems your friendship staus with me…except spicy mustard no russian dressing. 🙂

    ridic – wow i dont think I have heard her say that but i dont watch the show enough either….sounds slightly annoying – if Im being honest. 🙂

    xoxo from Trinidad

  3. Mmmmmm beets. I hated beets. Or so I thought. Until Michelle made me try them one day. Now, I will never go back.

    And speaking of “ridic,” you should join Michelle and I and say “totes.” All the kids are doing it.

  4. So annoying about the garage and car situation. You’re so lucky to have a dad you can count on. Sounds like you had a great weekend though. 🙂 Growing up there was a house that was always decked out for the holidays. Anyone in my family (and most likely in my home town) knows what I mean when I mention the “purple house”. Maybe I’ll get to go back and take a picture this year.

  5. Ok Lady….HOW THE HELL HAVE YOU LIVED IN ANN ARBOR ALL YOUR LIFE AND NOT BEEN TO ZINGERMAN’S?!?! (<——that's me yelling;-)
    Ridic is right! Once upon a time, I drove all the way from Kalamazoo to Ann Arbor JUST to go to Zingerman's…I freakin' LOVE that place! So yummy! One of these days when life settles down (it has to at some point right?!), I am going to visit you and we are toatlly lunching there, m'kay!

Leave a reply

