2011 Eats!

After all the eating I did over the holidays, my thighs are rebelling just a tiny bit! I’m typically pretty good about eating when I’m hungry, etc., but that did not happen this holiday season. Instead, I ate EVERYTHING. Because I prefer not to pour myself into my jeans, I’m attempting to get myself in check with some healthier eats this week.

Like the other night, I ate salmon.

DSC06265

I don’t even like salmon. You know you’ve overdone it with rich food when your body craves something you don’t even like! This was really good, though. I may have to rethink my relationship with salmon. Maybe.

I also had a pile of veggies to go with it.

DSC06264

I’m hoping that putting some healthier foods in the tank will make me crave more healthy foods instead of eating half a dozen cookies followed by a candy bar chaser. Not that that’s happened or anything . . . 😉

Fortunately, my workouts aren’t slacking thanks to this puppy:

DSC06263

I am in love. Seriously. Me and this Garmin? We’re having a thing. So much so that I had to take myself out for 5 slushy miles the other day. I knew it was snowing, but it looked so soft and pretty out my window.

DSC06257

In reality? Not so much. The snow was literally pelting me in the face and my shoes were soaked by the time I got done, but I sort of loved every minute. I’m also blaming the stupid quickness of this run on the fact that I really really wanted it to be over!

Wednesday, it was freezing, so I gave up the Garmin for the day and hit the treadmill. My stomach was NOT having it, though, and I had to call it quits before I even hit 3 miles. I even jumped off the treadmill once to go to the bathroom mid-run just for Paula, but I still felt crappy. Yesterday’s run was slightly better, but not great, so I took today off from running, and I’m planning on a long run tomorrow morning with the group. I need someone else’s energy to get me going.

Anywho, since it’s the end of the year and I’ve been eating like I’m on death row, I thought I’d share my favorite things I’ve eaten this year because in the blog world, that’s a normal thing to do. 😀 I’ve never kept track of my eats throughout the year, so this was actually kind of fun to look back on.

Without further ado . . .

Eggless Cookie Dough

Blog 015

This was one of the first things I ever posted! And then I proceeded to eat it every single day for a month. Not kidding. I’m sure I’ll be revisiting this addiction at some point.

Roasted Vegetable Salad

Blog 021

Another one of my first posts! I could eat a roasted veggie salad at least twice a week. So stinkin’ good! I need to get some more of that Garlic Gold Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette!

Paninis

Blog 020

Eggplant Mozzarella, Bagelwich Breakfast, BBQ Chicken, Raspberry, Mozzarella, & Thyme, and French Onion. Mmmmm . . . time to bring all that back!

Stuffed Spaghetti Squash

010

This is actually Courtney’s recipe, and I adore it. I love high volume foods with tons of flavor, and this one delivers!

Pirate Sauce

005

Such a great recipe! Better on chicken than pork, I think, but so delicious!

The DAC

DAC 028

To celebrate my new job, my parents took me to the Detroit Athletic Club over the summer. It was one of the best meals I’ve ever had! Maybe I can convince them to take me back for my birthday!

Roasted Acorn Squash with Apples & Sausage

003

I know Karolina’s a big fan of this one! If you haven’t tried it yet, do yourself a favor and make is ASAP. Perfect winter comfort food!

Stuffed Sole

029

My dad is an awesome cook. The end.

Lemony Chicken Gyro

Chicken Gyro 003

My God, that was good. You may be seeing that again soon! 🙂

Stay tuned for tomorrow when I’ll share some of my favorite things I did this year (get your mind out of the gutter)!

What was the best thing you ate in 2011?

5 thoughts on “2011 Eats!

  1. Why is the blueberry crisp not on that list? And why can’t I ever forget about that?
    I’m certainly happy that you tried the old number-2-in-the-middle-of-your-run trick. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes the #2 is just a workout in itself. < —- you're welcome

  2. So much fantastic food. I think I need to try the eggless cookie dough- YUM! I am such a fan of that squash, and was explaining it to another person today! Have a great last day of 2011!

  3. I literally think about that french onion soup sandwich all.the.time since you put up that post, but I’ve yet to make it. I should put THAT on my things to do in 2012 🙂

Leave a reply

