New Year, New Goal

Happy New Year, friends!!!

I hope everyone had a safe and happy time celebrating last night. We went to a restaurant in Ann Arbor, solely chosen for their stellar wine list. The food was decent, the ambiance was fair, the service was mediocre, at best. But the wine? The wine.was.GOOD. I’m so easy to please. πŸ™‚

Overall, it was a pretty low key New Year’s Eve, which is fine by me. I’ve never been all that into New Year’s. It just always seemed to be unnecessarily hyped up, ya know? Spend a ton of money just to get in to some sticky bar. Then you’re sandwiched together like sardines, the music is blaring, and you end up getting super hammered and making bad decisions. Or maybe that’s just my experience. πŸ˜‰

Several years ago, I went out with friends on New Year’s Eve and had a similar experience. Except worse. After midnight, we were all dancing and drunk. My friend Ian, who is about twice my size and almost a foot taller than me, started to slip on the champagne-drenched floor and grabbed onto me to steady himself. Well, as you can imagine, that didn’t go so well. As he went down, he took me with him. I sailed over the top of him and face planted on a sharp ledge next to the dance floor where people set their drinks. Thank God I was so drunk, or I’m sure it would have really hurt. Fortunately, alcohol provided an excellent anesthetic, and I thought I was totally fine. I proceeded to stay out with my friends, continuing to bar hop despite the crazy swelling on my face. I wound up staying with friends who were kind enough to take care of my hot-mess self.

When I woke up in the morning, I was in some seriously intense pain. My face was mangled. Oh, and I was staring down one of the worst hangovers of my life. I had to call a cab to take me home, but I realized at that point that I had lost my wallet. Of course I did. My friends lent me some money, and I hopped in the cab to go home. The driver was pretty concerned. He kept looking at me and asking if I was sure I was ok. Can you blame him?

IMG957441

Thank you, Mom, for immortalizing this moment in my history. See how even my ear was sticking out? HOT.

When my parents saw me, they made me go to the ER, where I was grilled within an inch of my life. I spent at least an hour promising that no, I had not been assaulted, and yes, this was a dancing-related injury. A cracked cheekbone and a concussion later, they sent me home. NBD. Needless to say, I’ve shied away from anything too crazy on NYE ever since. BUT, in an amazing twist, I did get my wallet back with all the cash in it! Yep, some good samaritan found it early on New Year’s day while out for a run and turned it in to the police station. Pretty sweet.

Thankfully, I woke up this morning hangover free! I’m still questioning my judgement a little bit, though, because I did this:

Marathon registration

Yep, I registered for my first marathon! Yikes!

I saw this marathon on Sara’s blog the other day, and thought it might be a good first marathon for me before I run New York next fall. I’m pretty nervous, but also excited! I think. πŸ˜‰

I’ve never really wanted to run a full marathon, but I kind of want to see if I can do it. That’s how I started out running longer distances–I just wanted to see. And I could. Since it’s a new year, why not start it out with a new goal, right? Plus, I know I have a stellar network of awesome runners who will support me!

Do you have a big, scary goal for 2012? Or a not so scary one? πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “New Year, New Goal

  1. πŸ˜€ Hopefully after January 15 I will be able to give you good pointers for finishing in one piece and finishing quickly (though quickly is no problem for you, obvs ;-)!) Love you friend HAPPY NEW YEAR! I just know this will be a great year for you!

    • AHHHH! Can’t wait for all of your pro-pointers! I’m terrified!

      Love love love you, too! You’re going to have your best year yet–I can feel it! XO

  2. What’s this NYC business? I thought that was a lottery? Do you have a special “in” that we don’t know about? Soooooo excited about your first marathon! Just to see if I could is exactly why I signed up for my first.

    And that eye is CRAZY. You must have been drinking a lot to think you were good to go for the rest of the night.

    • Yeah, I was still in college, so those were my quality drinking days πŸ˜‰

      Apparently, if you run a qualifying time, you can register without having to be in the lottery. My time in Richmond was in that bracket, so I figure I might as well do it!

  3. Congrats on taking the plunge! I’ve also signed up for my first Marathon this year (in March) and I’m already considering New York as well. Good luck with you training!

    • Same to you, Jim! New York registration opens at noon today–you know I’ll be on my computer trying to register right then! πŸ™‚

      Good luck to you, too! What plan are you using?

  4. shelleyko says:

    Melissa, congrats on signing up for your first Marathon!! Carmel is a cute town, I think it will be a good race for you! The NY Marathon has such amazing energy! I watched it this year and literally had to hold myself back from running along with everyone! I can’t wait to read all about your training!

  5. MELISSA, I’M SO EXCITED YOU SIGNED UP THE FULL WITH ME! You are going to rock your first marathon and it’s going to be an awesome journey. I’m really looking forward to meeting you. =)

Leave a reply

