Oops! I Did It Again!

Gahhhh!!! So much excitement today! Wanna know why?

2012 01 12 1038

That’s right! Oops! I did it again!

Before you freak out, no, I’m not running the full marathon! I’m not that crazy. Just mildly. Don’t worry, there won’t be a red leather jumpsuit involved or anything.

Oops I Did It Again britney spears 4354583 640 320

A few weeks ago, when I decided I needed to get out of town, I booked a flight at the end of the month to go down to Fort Myers to visit my grandparents. When I emailed Paula and Michelle about getting together, they responded that they were running the Miami Half Marathon that weekend (of course!), but that they were more than up for a meetup!

After doing a little coordinating with my grandpa, I was able to work it out. Miami, here I come!!!

Are you ready for me ladies???

Michelleandpaula

{I’m still secretly upset that Paula threw away that sweatshirt.}

I am PUMPED! Not just to run another half, but to meet 2 of my favorite blogging buddies in the flesh! Woot!

****************************************************

What else am I excited about? Another culinary success! I’m glad so many of you were psyched about the Turkey Reuben Paninis–it is now your duty to report back! Go that, Amanda? 😉

Last night, my brother, who I unapologetically refer to as “Brother Bear,” came over for dinner–Chicken Ceasar Salad Sandwiches!

DSC06328

Chicken Ceasar Salad Sandwiches

Serves 4

1 lb. chicken breasts

1/2 cup light Ceasar salad dressing

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/4 tsp. ground mustard

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. garlic salt

romain lettuce

some kind of buns–I used Aunt Millie’s Slimwich Sandwich buns

Put the chicken in a crock pot with 2 cups of water for 4 hours on low. Remove the chicken and let it cool, then shred it up. Discard the water in the crock pot, then re-add the chicken, dressing, cheese, yogurt, and spices and mix. Allow the chicken mixture to heat through for about 30 minutes, then pile on a bun with some romaine.

Serve with roasted broccoli, or whatever you like.

DSC06330

Wait patiently while your sister photographs the food . . .

DSC06331

What a good sport! 😀

{I gave him beer, which always helps!}

Easy and tasty–if you need a good recipe that requires almost no effort, this is it!

My brother also informed me that slaves originally discovered slow cooking, as they would take the scraps of meat that their owners didn’t want so they would have something to eat. They realized that if you cooked it on low enough heat for long enough, it was not only edible, but actually really delicious! That guy–he’s full of useless knowledge, I tell ya!

What useless knowledge do you have for me today???

My favorite useless fact is that if you have a song stuck in your head, drinking some milk will make it go away. True story. Come to think of it, that’s actually pretty useful information!

P.S. If you read this in a reader, will you re-subscribe to hungryhealthyMJ.com? Pretty please???

9 thoughts on “Oops! I Did It Again!

  1. I could have used that milk trick a week ago when Andy Gibb was stuck in my head. Are you kiddin’ me?? Andy freakin’ Gibb??? ‘I just want to be your everything……….’ Ahhhhhh!!!!!

  2. Yay! I can’t wait — and like P said, we are ready. I’m practicing sleeping naked as I write this 🙂

    Had no idea about that milk think. What about songs that are stalking you? Will it make those go away too?

    I think your new site is already showing up in my Google Reader – but I’ll keep monitoring.

  3. My stupid husband left me for a guys night last night so I could not make those yummy panini’s:-(
    And I even went to the store and bought sauerkraut! haha!
    That’s ok, I think that they will pair perfect with some football watching this wk. end.:-)

    Yay for your own domain….my google reader (which I JUST discovered!) is updated!

Leave a reply

