Panera’s Got Nothin’ On Me!

I’m glad everyone found my long run treadmill tips helpful! I can’t say with any authority that I know what the heck I’m doing, but I do know what works for me, so I’m happy to share anytime!

This morning, I was at it again with a 7 miler at 8:21 pace. This is my “pull back” week on my training plan, so I have three 7 mile runs, plus a 5, I think. Since I’m running a half next weekend (instead of the 18 that’s on my training plan), I’ll probably do some tweaking, but for this morning, the 7 was perfect.

I’m really surprised that I wasn’t sore at all after Saturday’s 16 miler, but I did a lot of stretching with my yoga DVD yesterday, and my legs felt fresh this morning. In the interest of injury prevention, I kept the pace at a nice, steady 7.2 and did a pyramid with the inclines. Basically, every 5 minutes, I upped the incline by 0.5 until I reached 2.5, then ramped it back down by 0.5 at 5 minute intervals on the way back down. That left me with a few extra minutes that would’ve been at a 0, but I had a little more in me, so I finished by upping the incline by 0.5 every minute until I hit 7 miles.

Did I need to do that? Nope. Did it tire me out a little? Yep. Was it satisfying to challenge myself? Of course. Always is. While I know the value of easy days, it’s also good to challenge myself in new ways. I know hills are great for training and seem to help my knees, so why not, right?

Today was a rather blah day where I just could not get motivated to do much in the way of work. Know what I did instead?

Catching fire

Perk of working from home. 🙂

How good is this series, btw??? I liked the Hunger Games, but I LOVED Catching Fire!!! I just started Mockingjay, and I’m already 100 pages in. I’m already getting a little sad that I’m on the last book in the series–I hate it when they end!–but at least I’ll be ready for the movies when the first one comes out in March!

Hungergames

But really, I don’t see Miley Cyrus’ boyfriend as Gale. I just don’t buy him as tough.

Movies the hunger games gale hawthorne

An.y.way . . .

Panera did this really dumb thing back in the fall where they changed their Turkey Artichoke Panini into a Roasted Turkey Artichoke panini, thereby totally ruining it. Why must they mess with a good thing? Ya know??? Fortunately, I have my trusty Griddler at the ready to remedy such situations!

Blog 001

My version is easy, cheap, and delicious–oh, and waaaaay better than that garbage they’ve got on the menu now! 😉

Turkey Artichoke Panini

Serves 1

1 ciabatta roll, insides scooped out

1 serving thinly sliced deli turkey

2 T. prepared spinach dip (I use Tostitos in the jar)

1/3 cup canned artichoke hearts

Layer turkey, artichokes, and spin dip inside ciabatta roll. Press on panini press for 8-10 minutes and eat!

Is that even a recipe???

DSC06332

Easy peasy and completely delicious. I could have eaten several of these. Actually, you could probably eat 2 for the same amount of calories and much less fat than there is in one of the Panera version.

DSC06336

Sorry, Panera’s got nothin’ on me!

DSC06333

I actually had this for lunch today, hence the daylight making an appearance in my photos.

Have you ever have your favorite thing taken off a restaurant menu? Did you recreate it at home???

Have you read The Hunger Games yet?

21 thoughts on “Panera’s Got Nothin’ On Me!

  1. MAN, you make me want to try harder on my runs. Stop making me feel guilty, k?
    Funny you mention the turkey artichoke panini. Besides their bagels, that is the only thing I like about Panera. Sad they crapped it up with some roasting.
    Oh, and I loved Catching Fire more than Hunger Games too. 🙂

  2. I love making paninis at home! They are so much better than buying them and they always have exactly what I want on them! 🙂

    Also, loved the Hunger Games….I was so sad when I finished the 3rd book! I didn’t want it to end!

  3. The Hunger Games Trilogy was great! I couldn’t put the books (errr…my kindle) down. I knew they were making a movie, but didn’t realize it was going to be out so soon. I’ll have to make it a birthday request to go see it in March. 🙂

    Your panini looks yummy! Obviously, Panera has nothing on you, girl. 😉

  4. Mmmmm your panini looks delicious! I still haven’t read the hunger games, but when I read a bit about it, it just didn’t appeal to me. I dunno. Maybe I’ll give it a try after all! For now I’m reading Anna Karenina and a bunch of yoga materials. Should keep me busy for a while!! Hope all is well with you! xo

  5. Dear gawd, I can’t wait for that movie to come out. I’ve read all 3 books and I know how it ends (haha). I’m hoping they make more than one movie because there’s no way you can squash it all into 2 hours and do it justice. We’ll see!

Leave a reply

