32

Today, I turn 32.

I’ve never been a fan of my birthday. I’m not sure exactly why, but I think it has to do with the fact that I just don’t feel like there’s very much worth celebrating. I’m not saying that for sympathy or pity; it’s just the way I feel. Truth be told, I’d rather just let it pass and move on with life. I don’ mind getting older–that’s not it at all–I just don’t want to be the center of attention.

Birthday 2

Oy vey.

To tell you the truth, the last week has been really hard for me. I get very anxious every year around my birthday, and this year hasn’t been any different. I want to like it, to enjoy it, to be normal, but it’s just not in me. Now, if people wanted to celebrate me running a great race? I could get on board with that. But celebrating my birthday? I kind of feel like–what for?

There are a lot of reasons why I don’t like my birthday, but I hate pity parties, so we’re just going to skate right past the “why” and move along.

29th birthday with my sis and dad

29th Birthday 003

These people always want to celebrate me.

In an effort to focus on the good things in my life, I’m trying to think of things that make me worth celebrating. Please indulge me. It is my birthday, after all, right???

Seasonal depression winter cold birthday ecards someecards

The truth is, I have a pretty great life. I have a great job that I’m good at and that I really enjoy. I’m completely financially independent and live in a nice place that I can afford all on my own. I have a wonderful family that loves me to death and never gives up on me even when I’m crabby and moody. And friends? Well, you blog friends are pretty awesome. You support me day in and day out in ways you aren’t even aware of. I love you all to pieces! Oh, and somehow, magically, in the last year I’ve become a pretty good runner. That’s something to feel good about.

So I’m going to try really really hard to like myself a little more and celebrate me today, because after all . . .

Jesusbirthday

and we all know how nuts people go for Jesus! 😉

{and thank you to my little sis for sending me that card and making me laugh out loud this morning!}

Hope YOU all have a fantastic day! Have a drink for me, will ya?

XOXO

20 thoughts on “32

  1. happy birthday sweet girl! i hope your day is extra special and you can embrace the moment! you have so many special things in your life! celebrate! xo

  2. Mila @ loftyappetite says:

    Your birthday post sounds exactly like my birthday post was in July. I get so down on my birthday even though there really is no reason to be sad! I’m just such a sentimental person and I think it gets quadrupled on my birthday and I get myself into a deep funk! But I’m trying to change this! It’s just like any other day except you are reminded of all the love in your life from people around you! Enjoy it and don’t forget to treat yo self too! 😉

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I’m so happy that you were born so that you could grow up one day to write this blog! I hope you had a great day celebrating your birthday and your life so far!

Leave a reply

