Birthday Celebration

So, I did it. I had a birthday, and it really wasn’t all that bad! Thank you so much, from the bottom of my heart, for your birthday wishes–I think they really helped me to actually want to celebrate this year!

While I spent most of the day working, I did manage to quit early to meet my mom for manicures and pedicures! I got this sparkly pink Barbie nail polish to be festive. I thought it might be too much, but nope! It’s just right! πŸ˜‰

DSC06364

Then, it was off to dinner at the restaurant where I used to work! I don’t really know anyone who works there anymore, but it was fun to go back as a customer rather than a server.

DSC06349

They had a number of new items on the menu, which was a nice surprise! I went with the Butternut Squash Ravioli, served with grilled shrimp in a blue cheese pancetta sauce. Rich, much? But totally delicious.

DSC06351

I also had a few of my mom’s Blue Cheese Scallops–I DIE! and stewed tomatoes. For something so seemingly blah, stewed tomatoes are actually kind of awesome.

DSC06352

And our server even made a special dessert platter for me! So sweet!

DSC06356

Key lime pie, chocolate brandy mousse, and pumpkin cheesecake with praline topping, which was easily my fav.

Then it was home for gifts!

DSC06357

Work clothes πŸ˜‰

Aaaaand . . .

2012 01 20 15 58 27 585

Youth in a box! Yes! I’ve been reading about Clairisonics for years, and I’m so glad I finally have my own. I’ll be sure to let you all know if it lives up to all the hype!

I’m probably more surprised by this than anyone, but I really did have a great birthday. Maybe because I just had absolutely no expectations, so nothing could disappoint me? Either way, it was a nice change of pace. Hopefully I’ve turned some sort of corner and can enjoy future birthdays, too. It wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world!!!

Have a great weekend!

Β 

13 thoughts on “Birthday Celebration

  1. Jill says:

    Glad that you had a great birthday. In the picture your nail polish looks like ruby red slippers – which of course rocks!!

  2. GOOD FOR YOU! I’m glad you were able to celebrate and actually enjoy your birthday evening! Manicures and presents certainly help, don’t they? That dessert looks amazing!!

  3. Glad you had a nice celebration. This is probably not the time to tell the Clarsonic giver that it was on Groupon yesterday for $60 and included some cool cleansers with it. I came THISCLOSE to buying it. Now I’m kinda wishing I had…

    Oh, and pink sparkly nails are NEVER too much.

  4. Well…see I miss one day of blogging and I go and miss your birthday! BAD BLOG FRIEND. HAPPY BIRTHDAY….you are younger than me….that must be why you run so fast! lol I’m glad you had a wonderful birthday….you deserve it. Your nailpolish looks awesome..you look incredibly HOT and the butternut squash looks delicious. YUMMY!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  5. Happy Happy Birthday beautiful!!!!!!!! You’ll for sure have to let me know if the clarisonic lives up to the hype! I have been wanting one forever and my bday is coming up… might be the perfect gift for us both! ❀ have a wonderful bday weekend!!!!

    • I’ve only used it a few times, but I LOVE it so far! My skin is already softer and smoother. It doesn’t seem possible, but the little lines around my eyes seem to have diminished, too. Crazy, but true! Highly recommend it!

Leave a reply

