Runs-piration

Thanks for all your encouragement about my pre-race jitters! I’m taking today and maybe tomorrow off, so I’m hoping that’ll make me feel a little fresher for Sunday. And if nothing else, the race starts at 6:15 AM, so I’m hoping it’ll be over before I’m really awake!

In an attempt to pump myself up a bit, I took to Pinterest for some inspiration–makes perfect sense to me! Here’s what I found:

Runthru

I’ve run through all of these–some many more than others. I believe I’m currently in a fit of self-doubt, but that doesn’t mean I can’t run through it.

Believe

I stopped running for a long time because someone said I couldn’t. But when I decided I wanted to, it didn’t matter what anyone else has said or thought. I’ve believed that I could–and I can.

Iamarunner

Even though most people think running is nuts–from the price of shoes, to the 10 milers “for fun”; from the aches and pains, to the early wake up calls; from the sweat and tears, to the small fortune in race fees–it’s mine. No matter what anyone thinks, what I get from running can never be taken from me.

Astonishyourself

After my last half, I did literally astonish myself. I think this just goes back to believing. Even when I was doing it, I didn’t believe it. ย But it’s there, it’s real. Whether I choose to believe it or not. And there’s a lot of power in that.

Runningquestion

Rather than making pre-emptive excuses for Sunday’s race, I’m going to choose to be strong. Sure, there are a million excuses I can make, but at the end of the day, I have to answer this question with the only answer I can live with.

24 thoughts on “Runs-piration

  1. Love me some Pinterest motivation! That’s why us runners have boards devoted to said cause!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love that orange, “She believed she could so she did”. I would love a print of that for my office. Oh, the power of our thoughts! I believe that you are going to do AHHHH-MAZING! PR or no PR, I think you are going to have a blast…so GO HAVE FUN!!!

  2. You are going to do wonderful! I have a half this weekend so pretend you are just leaving me in the dust… not too hard to imagine since you’ll probably be done about an hour before me. Seriously though, good luck, you’ve got this!!

  3. You are going to ROCK the race this weekend Melissa! I love using pinterest for inspiration…and then I always find random other things on there as well that just make me smile :). Good luck girlie…even though you don’t need it!

  4. I love the first pic you posted. It was totally what I needed to hear right now. Thanks Melissa! Have a great race this weekend! No matter what, make sure you have fun ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a reply

