On the Bandwagon

A couple of years ago, I tried cauliflower crust pizza, then promptly forgot about it. I have no idea why, because it is DELICIOUS.

Since it seems to be resurging with a vengeance in the blog world, I thought I’d give it a Party of One go.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

for one

2 c. frozen cauliflower

1/2 c. shredded mozzarella

1 egg white

1/2 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. minced garlic

pinch of salt

olive oil

Start by cooking the cauliflower in the microwave according to the package directions. Drain any excess water. Then, put everything into your food processor and blend until the cauliflower is smooth. Spread the mixture into a round about 1/4″ thick on your pizza stone or greased cookie sheet. Brush with olive oil and bake for 15-20 minutes at 450*.

Top with your favorite pizza toppings, then return to the oven to get everything melty and warm–about 10 minutes.

DSC06503

Topping-wise, I went for a spinach pesto (any interest in that recipe???), sautΓ©ed baby bella mushrooms, and fresh tomatoes with a sprinkle of parmesan.

DSC06506

And then I ate the whole thing.

DSC06505

While my sister tended to this little nut!

DSC06500

It’s next to impossible to eat or really get much of anything done when she’s running around, so I was ecstatic to dine in peace! πŸ˜€

It’s just so hard to say no to this face . . .

DSC06501

And those crazy day glow eyes. πŸ˜‰

******************************************************************************************

On the marathon training front, I think it’s safe to say I’m back! This week has been going so well. I was able to slow down to around a 9 minute pace on my easy runs on Monday and today, had a great speed workout of mile repeats yesterday, and loved getting in a little strength training through yoga and some Jillian Michaels love.

Aaaaaand . . . I’ve been stretching! I know–I’m as shocked as you are. It’s not much, but I’ve taken time after my workouts the last few days to stretch it out, and I feel so much better than usual. As much as I hate to admit it, spending the extra 5 minutes at the end of my workout is probably worth it. Now I just need to master the whole foam rolling thing. Perhaps this weekend after my 14 miler I’ll give it a go.

Speaking of which, who out there does ice baths after long runs? Do you notice a huge difference? Is it worth it? I’m not sold . . .

Β 

19 thoughts on “On the Bandwagon

  1. Jessica says:

    thanks for sharing– that recipe sounds delicious!! i’m totally going to try it out. πŸ™‚ i’m curious about the spinach pesto as i have a often buy spinach and can’t finish it.

    foam rolling is great! as for ice baths…i’m wondering the same thing. i dislike the cold, lol.

  2. The pizza looks delish… wonder if I can trick the kids and the hubs… Experiment may be in order.

    So glad you could slow down to my balls to the wall pace.. πŸ˜‰

    I believe in the power of the ice bath. I typically do one for anything over 13 miles and when I don’t it seems like the pain lasts longer. However, I have never foam rolled.

  3. Ice baths are totally worth it. I’m convinced they have kept me almost pain free after all my long runs. Though, I never took them unless I ran over 16-17 miles. My first crappy marathon = ice bath, no pain. My second awesome marathon = no ice bath, and pain afterwards. Do it girl!

  4. what an interesting idea for a pizza crust. i’ve never heard of such a thing! i guess i need to go out more. i’m not a runner and the idea of an ice bath sounds extremely scary (and cold). i’ll probably say this every time you post a picture, but your dog is adorable!

  5. I need to add that recipe to my list! Cauliflower is a hit my house.

    YES to the ice bath. 20+ lbs of ice and lots of water. Try to cover all of your muscles in your legs for the full effect.

    I recommend bundling up before you jump in – with a hot cup of coffee in hand and mimosa ready to chug when you get out πŸ™‚

    I ice when I go 18+ miles — nothing below because my legs aren’t typically sore.

  6. I’m glad you tried it and loved it. SO good right? πŸ™‚ Roo is so incredibly adorable..
    I do ice baths and I think they really help. Last Saturday, I didn’t and really felt different on Sunday…more aches. I won’t skip them again!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  7. I do ice baths after long, gruelling runs and although they aren’t nice, you get used to them and they really help the body repair. During my football career(soccer), we had to have ice baths after every game and during pre season. It was done religiously as the healing process can be much quicker. It’s worth giving them a go and you will get used to them, just get through the first minute or two and it does get easier!

  8. YES to the ice bath! I hate the cold too, but am still willing to sit in the bath to avoid some of the pain. The first bath will feel like you’re dying… they get easier! I close up the bathroom and blast the room with a space heater so the air is nice and hot in the room. I run the water and then check the temp. Since the winter started I actually haven’t needed water- it’s been about 50 degrees coming straight from the ground. I turn on an episode of something like Modern family on the laptop so I have something else to focus on, wear clothes in the tub, and drink hot tea. blast the space heater on you too:) It’s worth it…

Leave a reply

