Halibut with Coconut Curry

Update: my back is still killing me. I’m currently wearing a brace that my mom let me borrow (super hot), and it’s helping some. But chasing after this little stinker is not.

DSC06577

Fortunately, my parents are going to take her for the night to give me a little break. I’m hoping it will give me a chance to recover a bit!

*****************************************************************

Now, I know it’s Friday and you are probably all going out to dinner and doing fabulous things tonight, but I need you to do me a favor and bookmark this recipe for next week because it is SO good! And easy! And it feels fancy! And that’s a lot of exclamation points! So I must be serious!

I happened to splurge on some halibut over the weekend and wanted to do something special with it. I love halibut, but it can be pricey, so if you don’t want to shell out $30/lb. or whatever it costs, just use cod or scrod–it’ll cook up the same way; it’s just less firm than the halibut would be.

After searching around online for some inspiration, I decided to turn it into a light, healthy meal of Halibut with Coconut Curry.

I’ve never been a huge curry fan, but I’m liking it more recently, and using red curry paste makes the flavor pretty mild. The coconut part comes from my beloved coconut milk, and the flavor is subtle, but it pairs perfectly with the curry and halibut. The best part? This is actually easy. It came together in 20 minutes and was restaurant quality good.

DSC06580

Halibut with Coconut Curry

Serves one.

1 tsp. vegetable oil, divided

1 shallot, finely chopped

1 tsp.  red curry paste (or ¾ tsp. curry powder)

½ c. chicken broth

2 T. light coconut milk (use the kind in the can to get a thicker sauce)

1 halibut fillet (4-6 oz.)

S&P

Handful of fresh spinach

1 red pepper, sliced

2-3 cups sliced cremini mushrooms

1 T. cilantro, finely chopped

½ T. fresh lime juice

In a small sauté pan, heat 1/2 tsp. oil over medium-low heat. Add the shallots and cook until they begin to brown, about 3 minutes. Add the curry paste and cook about 30 seconds. Add the chicken broth, coconut milk, and a pinch of salt and simmer until reduced, about 5 minutes.

While the sauce simmers, heat the other ½ tsp. vegetable oil in a sauté pan and cook the mushrooms and red pepper about 5 minutes.

Season the halibut with salt. Add to the sauce and turn to coat. Cover and cook on medium-low until the fish flakes easily with a fork, about 5 minutes.

As the fish finishes up, season the mushrooms and peppers with salt and pepper and add your spinach on top. Sauté, tossing frequently, until the spinach is cooked, about 3 minutes.

Transfer the spinach, pepper, and mushroom mixture onto your plate. Ladle the sauce over the fish and garnish with cilantro and lime juice.

DSC06582

Right???

You could also serve this with rice, since it’s pretty low-cal on its own. Since I’m not a rice fan, I just went with veggies, but it was still really filling.

Are you a curry fan?

Like I said, I didn’t used to like it, but it’s grown on me. 😀


15 thoughts on “Halibut with Coconut Curry

    • We are going to be eating the ENTIRE time. And it will be awesome. There’s also an outdoor drinking place I want to take you. They have something called Constant Buzz. I know you’ll love it.

  1. I LOVE curry — especially red curry. That dinner looks awesome!

    Sorry about your back 😦 My running group buddy pulled her back out completely 1.5 months before our marathon. I felt SO bad for her. Have you done to the Dr? What about the chiro?

    Hope you enjoy your alone time — and have a great weekend!

Leave a reply

