My New Meal Plan & Demon Back Injury Update

Even though I feel like I’m usually pretty good about eating healthy, I feel like I’ve fallen off the wagon in the last few months. While I’ve still been eating when I’m hungry, that tends to be all at once, and at night, which does not equal healthy balance. Not surprisingly, I’ve put on a few pounds, and while gaining weight isn’t the end of the world, the fact that I generally feel sluggish and that my jeans have started to get a little tighter than I’d like them to be is something of a problem.

Crisco and fishing line

Here’s the thing: I always thought eating when you’re hungry is what you’re supposed to do. And, you know, like,ย not eating when you aren’t hungry is a good thing, too. What that typically looks like for me is not eating much during the day, then getting ravenous at night and eating for 3 hours straight. Healthy? Probably not. Balanced? Most certainly not.

As I mentioned a couple weeks ago, since I’ve been marathon training, I’ve been really interested in nutrition for runners and getting the right kinds of foods into my body for fuel. Even though I could read any number of healthy living blogs and probably figure out how I should eat, I’ve decided to get some professional help from a dietitian.

Eat this not that

After doing some research, I found someone who was willing to help me virtually, since I’m a busy gal and running to dietitian appointments doesn’t really jive with my calendar right now. This weekend, I started my new nutrition plan. But really, I don’t want to look at it as a “plan” or a “diet.” I’m looking to make a lifestyle change, and a pretty big one at that, so I feel like I need some guidance from a pro to do so.

The biggest change? I have to eat all.day.long. Which freaks me out a little and seems odd to me, but apparently, this is the healthy way to do things. So whether I’m hungry or not, every 2-3 hours, it’s time for a meal. Yesterday was the first day, and here’s how it looked . . .

Breakfast 8:00 AM

Oatmeal made with cinnamon, vanilla, and coconut milk, half a banana, and a tablespoon of peanut butter. Plus coffee, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC06604

Snack 10:30 AM

Plain greek yogurt with a packet of splenda mixed in and fresh strawberries.

DSC06605

Lunch 1 PM

Giant salad with romaine, cucumbers, grape tomatoes, pickles, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, mushrooms, balsamic vinegar, and cottage cheese.

DSC06597

Snack 3:30 PM

Spinach & Artichoke hummus with red and yellow peppers and baby carrots.

DSC06606

Dinner 6 PM

Wild Coho salmon with BBQ sauce, sautรฉed spinach with mushrooms and grape tomatoes.

DSC06608

Snack 8 PM

Half a pumpkin cream cheese muffin with peanut butter.

DSC06587

The verdict? I feel good! Although that seems like a lot of food to me, I realize I was eating all really healthy stuff. I felt satisfied all day and never actually got hungry, which is a whole new sensation for me. I’m used to waiting until I get hungry to eat, so this is very new. The biggest change is having snacks, which I haven’t done since high school.

I’m supposed to have the following breakdown:

Protein:ย  4

Dairy:ย  3

Starches:ย  4

Vegetables:ย  4 โ€“ may eat more than 4 servings of the โ€œnon-starchyโ€ veggies

Fruits:ย  3

Fats:ย  5

I realize my inventory may be a little off, but I’ll get the hang of it. The thing I like about the plan is that I can eat whatever I like, I just have to limit alcohol and sweets. Thanks to some serious overindulgence on Friday night, I’m fully prepared to do just that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, this is the first time I’ve posted everything I ate, and it seems a little weird, but I thought you guys might be interested, so here ya go!

***************************************************************************

Demon Back Injury Update

Back pain

Yes, I still have pain. However, the pain seems to be subsiding. Thanks to Michael, who helped me out via email, I’m pretty sure it’s my SI joint that’s giving me trouble. He shared a bunch of exercises/stretches with me that seem to be helping, and I did yoga this morning, which didn’t seem to aggravate things, so I think I may be on the mend. Not running is driving me INSANE, but I’m trying not to bitch about it too much, although I may or may not have almost been in tears about it yesterday . . .

As of today, I haven’t run or worked out at all in a week, which is the longest I’ve taken off in several years. I couldn’t even tell you the last time I took this much time off. It’s somewhat traumatic.

Pity party

I’m hoping (praying) fingers and toes crossed that I’ll be able to start running again mid-week.

What’s the longest you’ve taken off from running/workouts?

Have you ever worked with a dietitian? Do you eat every 2-3 hours like mine recommends?

27 thoughts on “My New Meal Plan & Demon Back Injury Update

  1. I would really like to work with a nutritionist. Is it super pricey? I eat every couple of hours because I am always hungry.. I know I’m probably eating too many fruits and not enough veggies- but it would be good for a professional to help me out. Good luck, and I hope the back pain gets better!!

    • Hi Jessie! It’s not cheap, but I think it’s worth it. I mean, can you really put a price on your health? I’ll have to let you know later on in the process, but so far, I’d say it was a worthwhile expense. Plus, I think these will be skills for life, ya know?

      ________________________________

  2. Your eats look like my eats! Now if I could just get that schedule to stick on the weekend too life would be good!! And if it’s any consolation I haven’t had a real run since the marathon… January 15 ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I actually drove by my usual long run spot yesterday and almost had a meltdown.

    So thank your lucky stars you’ve only had to take a week off! I know it sucks but you’ll hit the ground running in no time.

  3. I wish I had that many good/healthy foods on hand to eat. I’m sure it’s easier when yo don’t have a husband eating the stuff in the fridge too. See? Reasons to not be married!

    I took 6 months off from working out once (I only ran at the time) because of knee pain that took a LONG time to go away. But I was young and loved going out drinking every night, so it didn’t bother me much. Now if I don’t workout for 3 days in a row, things start to twitch on me and I go crazy.

    • Ha! I love to eat, too, it’s just the adjustment of doing it all day in smaller doses rather than all at once! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know it’s a good change, though!

  4. After college my eating was all over the place. I knew that I had to make some changes so I started “smart snacking”. It works so well for me. I have a small, healthy snack mid morning and late afternoon. It helps keep hunger at bay so when lunch or dinner comes around I am not eating like a crazy, ravenous person. I think that once you get the hang of eating every few hours, you will adapt and love the results.

    And I have been thinking of you! I am glad to hear that your back is doing somewhat better. Hoping for a complete recovery soon! You are doing the right/smart thing by resting and letting it heal correctly. You will be back at before you know it;-)

  5. Whew…so glad to hear that your back is starting to feel a bit better and you are taking it easy! I was so worried about you girl! I have met with a nutritionist before…it was very helpful…i usually eat every 3 hours – especially now with all this crazy running!
    xoxo from Trinidad

  6. Your new eating plan looks pretty good! You seem to be getting a great balance of everything which is more than I can say right now. Is there a secret to eating more vegetables? If so, I’d love to hear it.

    I try to eat every few hours especially now that I’m nursing Charlotte. If I go too long without eating a good snack (particularly something with protein), I start to go crazy on the sweets and will eat anything standing in my path.

    Sorry to hear about your injury woes! Hope you get back on your feet soon.

    • I do a lot of salads for veggies, throw a handful of spinach into canned soup, and I’m doing a lot of cut up veggies with hummus for snacks. So far, so good! And I agree that roasting them makes them so good! I like to make a big batch and eat them all week long.

  7. myhealthyaddictions says:

    I usually eat every 2.5-3 hours- it helps keep me full all day long and keeps the metabolism up. I’ve never worked with anyone, just researched and planned everything out myself! It takes a lot of planning though, I usually pre-make a bunch of meals for the hubby and I on Sundays we can just grab and go throughout the week!

  8. I didn’t used to eat all day long. I’d eat when I was hungry or when it was “breakfast time”, “lunch time” and “dinner time”. But ever since I started upping my miles for the marathon, I am STARVING all day, so I end up eating about every 2-3 hours by default, to avoid a headache. At first I really rebelled against it, afraid of overeating. But then I started listening to my body and fueling it with good foods (like yours above) and I feel SO much better.

    Then when those late night snackies creep up I can confidently (most of the time) avoid them!!

  9. I eat every 2-3 hours and still somehow get ravenous haha so I’m impressed that with all of your running you didn’t get hungry til later in the day! I think your plan sounds great, and like you said- it’s more of a lifestyle change and not a diet which is a good thing! And boo to not being able to workout/run right now…as you saw on my post today I’m in the same boat and it’s no fun! I’m glad your back is starting to feel better though! Hopefully it won’t take too much longer to be back to normal ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a reply

