Oatmeal Wow

First thing’s first–thank you all SO much for the snack ideas on yesterday’s post! I’ve got lots of ideas now! I’ll be sure to do a follow up with my favorites. πŸ˜€

Since beginning my new nutrition plan, I’ve noticed that I’ve had more headaches and been pretty wiped out by the end of the day. This seems counter-intuitive to me; in theory, I’m eating better and therefore should feel better and have more energy, right? I realized last night that I’m probably not getting enough protein. Even though I’m eating lots of plain greek yogurt, cottage cheese, and lean meats, it’s a careful balancing act.

With that in mind, I set out to add some protein to my usual morning oatmeal. I always add peanut butter or almond butter, but that’s only an additional 4 g of protein. Not much. I’ve tried adding protein powder to my oats before with disastrous (read: throw away) results, so I knew that was out. But recently, I’ve seen lots of people adding egg whites to their morning bowl.

I wondered how this would taste . . . I mean, would it be eggy? Because that sounds pretty gross to me. However, I’m not afraid of a kitchen disaster, so I figured why not give it a go?

A few months ago, Andie posted a recipe for egg white oatmeal that looked somewhat promising. I generally trust her judgement and nothing I’ve ever made inspired by her has been anything close to bad, so I went ahead and added egg whites to my oats using her method. And let me just say–WOW.

Oatmeal Wow

Serves 1

1/4 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup each water and unsweetened coconut milk (or any milk you like)

1/2 sliced banana

3 T. egg whites (I buy these in a carton in the dairy section)

splash of vanilla

1 T. almond butter (or nut butter of choice)

What makes these oats special is the preparation. I followed Andie’s instructions with a few modifications.

1. Add oats, water, and milk to a small saucepan and heat over medium high until bubbling.

2. Reduce heat to medium low and add sliced banana. Cook about 3 minutes, stirring often, until oats have absorbed most of the liquid.

3. Whip the egg white and vanilla together well with a fork, then add to oatmeal.

4. Raise the heat to medium and continue stirring oatmeal until the egg whites are absorbed, about 2 minutes.

5. Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.

6. Transfer to a bowl and top with almond butter.

DSC06615

WOW.

DSC06617

These are THE creamiest, fluffiest, most delicious oats I’ve ever made! And yes, I know I eat them out of a tiny bowl, but this would look pathetic in a giant bowl, so it works for me. If you need more, follow Andie’s instructions with her measurements, then add in some banana and almond butter because really, oatmeal’s not oatmeal without banana and AB.

These clock in around 260 calories and have 11 grams of protein–as much as most greek yogurts! I’m not used to eating a ton in the morning, so this is the perfect portion for me. I know every one is different, so by all means, adjust adjust adjust! Just promise me you’ll try adding egg whites to your oatmeal. It is fan-freaking-tastic.

*******************************************************************************

Demon Back Injury Update

My apologies to those of you who come here to read about running–I’m hoping to get back to it soon! My back is still feeling better, but not ready to run just yet. The pain has lessened considerably, but every time I walk Roo, she pulls on her leash and it tweaks my back, so I think that’s making my recovery a lot slower. I know she could probably live without walks, I can only placate her with rawhide for so long . . .

DSC06578

*******************************************************************************

Last but not least! I decided to (be the last to try?) order some PB2 to add a little variety to my snacking.

Pb2

If you’re not familiar with PB2, it’s a powdered peanut butter. You mix it with water to make your own lower fat/lower cal PB. They remove 85% of the fat and calories of regular peanut butter without using any of the usual chemical methods you’d find in processed foods. It’s also preservative-free. I ordered both the regular and the chocolate versions–I’m thinking the chocolate would be amazing mixed with some cottage cheese for a chocolate PB cheesecake snack! Also, since you mix up your PB yourself, I’m pretty sure there are endless PB combos coming my way–cinnamon, vanilla, chai, hot chocolate . . . I’m pumped!

Aaaaand iherb.com is offering $8 off your first order through the end of today! Just enter the codeΒ AWO351 in the shopping cart (before checkout), get an instant discount! After today, your first time order is still $5 off with the same code. Nice, right???

Do you put egg whites in your oatmeal?

Have you tried PB2?

16 thoughts on “Oatmeal Wow

  1. I am currently using peanut flour (Protein Plus brand) but I love PB2 as well. πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried Andie’s method yet but definitely have tried egg whites in oats before. This morning I added plain protein powder and a bit of cottage cheese to my oats with strawberries – protein packed! πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve thought of trying the egg whites thing, but you KNOW I’m gonna figure out a way to just put it in the microwave and skip all this complicated stove stuff, right? πŸ™‚
    How about beef jerky for some added protein? I eat that as a snack sometimes. I like the Jack Links Teryiaki nuggets cuz their soft and you don’t have to chew it for 3 years.

  3. I use Pb2 and I like it a lot. I haven’t tried the chocolate version- so you’ll have to let me know how that is!! I may go order some now with that coupon. The consistency takes a little getting used to but I think it’s worth the cut in calories. I like the idea of egg whites in my oatmeal- but I need a quicker breakfast before work! Maybe this summer when I have more time- it sounds delicious!!

    I’m going now to check your last post for some snack ideas!!

    • Yes–that is one perk of working from home. I have lots of time to make breakfast! Maybe it can be a weekend treat for you! πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

  4. Love egg whites in oatmeal! I even like making ‘oatless’ oatmeal with just the egg whites! Sometimes the body just needs time to adjust I think when you switch up the meal plan. I bet you will feel better in no time πŸ™‚

  5. I have not tried egg whites in oats, but after reading this recipe I just might have to πŸ˜‰
    Yumm!

    I can so relate with giving the dog a treat and passing it off as a walk! They SO know! haha;-)

  6. Hmm…never tried the egg whites in oatmeal…sounds delicious though! I normally pour at least 4 egg whites into my morning smoothies – you can’t taste them at all!
    Glad you are taking it easy – guess what? I ran my 1st sub 8 min mile yesterday in my speed work…7min 45sec. It was awesome!
    I have never heard of PB2….let me know how it is and maybe I will order some…

    xoxo from Trinidad

  7. Carrie says:

    Love the PB2, I generally only add it to my protein shakes though. So much better for you and I don’t notice a taste difference at all!

  8. Vanessa says:

    thankyou so much for this! Ive attempted making oatmeal with egg whites and it never panned out. But i followed this to the T and it was devine. Topped it up with some fresh mango as well. I was in heaven!

Leave a reply

