Goooooood

With my back injury keeping me sidelined, I think it’s safe to say I’ve been pretty down. But when I get down, I’m not just a little blue. I’m 7 miles deep at the bottom of the ocean where no sunlight gets in and creepy, shapeless sea creatures haunt the depths. And no, I’m not dramatic at all. πŸ˜‰

But thanks to the early spring we’re having here in Michigan, there’s hope! I definitely have some Seasonal Affective Disorder going on, and every year in the spring, I feel like a new woman. Even though I’m still not in shape to run, my pain has significantly diminished, and I’ve been able to get out with Roo to take lots of long walks the last few days.

2012 03 13 15 14 33 471

Her new trick is to find the biggest stick she can and try to drag it along with us while we walk. I love my dog. πŸ˜€

2012 03 13 15 14 10 811

I’ve also been going to spinning classes. While they’re not exactly running, they do let me get my sweat on which is really what I’ve been craving. Plus, I actually feel challenged in a way I haven’t felt with running in quite some time. Don’t get me wrong, I’d still rather run, but I’m definitely digging the spinning, too!

The other day, as I was planning out my weekly meals like a good little girl, I came across a frittata on Claire’s blog. I’ve seen fritattas pop up here and there around the blog world, but never tried one for myself, which is odd. Odd because eggs? Good. Veggies? Good. Bacon?Β Goooood.

Channeling my inner Joey here . . .

Friends6

Custard? Good. Jam? Good. Meat? Gooooooood.

Anyway, 90s pop culture references aside, fritattas are goooood (had to, sorry). And the best best best part of them is that they’re pretty much the easiest thing on the planet to throw together. For reals. Just throw a bunch of chopped veggies in a pan to sautΓ©, throw in some bacon for good measure, then add your eggs and cheese and toss the whole thing in the oven. Done in under 15 minutes. Perfect for the lazy cook.

Vegetable Fritatta with Bacon & Cheddar

Serves 4 as a side or small breakfast or 2 for lunch/dinner

1 tsp. olive oil

1/4 cup onion, diced

1/4 cup red pepper, chopped

1 cup sliced mushrooms (I used cremini)

1 tsp. minced garlic

2 handfuls baby spinach

1/4 cup diced tomatoes (I used canned without the juice)

2 pieces turkey bacon, cooked and chopped

2 eggs + 2 egg whites, lightly beaten

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 tsp. dried basil

S&P, to taste

Preheat your broiler to High.

Heat the olive oil in a small sautΓ© pan over medium heat. Saute the onion, red pepper, and mushrooms about 7-8 minutes, until the onion is translucent, and peppers and mushrooms have softened. Season with S&P.

Add the garlic and cook one more minute, then pile the spinach on top. Toss with tongs to wilt the spinach, about one minute.

While the spinach wilts, add the cheese to the beaten eggs and season with S&P and basil.

Add the tomatoes and bacon to the veggies and mix. Pour the egg mixture over the top and leave it alone! I learned this trick from Claire. πŸ™‚

DSC06663

As soon as the eggs set on the outside and start to pull away from the sides of the pan. Then, pop it under the broiler for 2-3 minutes until the fritatta is puffed up and golden.

DSC06668

Cut it into four slices and serve.

DSC06669

Calorie-wise, this is pretty low–235 calories for 2 pieces of the pie. But, it’s got almost 18 grams of protein, too, and it’s really filling, so you don’t feel like you’re eating something super light. I had half one night for dinner and the other half the next day for lunch. I was surprised at how well it re-heated, but it was really good! Win!

Are you a frittata fan?

Any good cardio suggestions that won’t jack my back? Loving spinning, but I’d like to have a few other options in my back pocket. The elliptical still gives me some pain . . .

21 thoughts on “Goooooood

  1. Glad you are getting your spin on!! I love it — but definitely for different reasons than running πŸ™‚

    As long as the fritatta doesn’t taste like feet — we’re gooooood!

  2. hhrunner says:

    I haven’t been to a spin class in forever, count yourself lucky – I was just banished to the elliptical and will be pedaling my life away until my injury heals. I hate the elliptical. Also, fritattas remind me of crustless quiche, right? And have you tried the stair stepper?

    • I haven’t tried the stair stepper. I’m sure I will hate it because let’s face it, those things look evil. But I’ll give it a shot. There’s actually one in the “home gym” in my basement. πŸ˜‰

      And at least the elliptical is kind of like running! I actually really like it.

  3. I do something like that fritta but it’s WAY more lazy. Frozen mixed veggies in a dish, pour egg whites over it, bake on 400 for 45 min. DONE. It’s like a crustless quiche. Then I top it with cheese and salsa when it’s ready for my belly.

    Workouts…hmmm…stair stepper? Or find some stadium stairs somewhere and make Roo do it with you?

  4. Love me some frittata (and it is such a fun word to say!)!

    Umm, Roo is still the cutest thing ever. Carrying that big stick in her mouth?! I die! SO awe-dorable!

    I am hoping your back is still mending well. In the meantime have you thought about hitting the pool? It is really low impact and there are actually a lot of pool exercise classes you can take. A bunch of my runner group friends swear by pool running.

    And YAY for this sunny, warm Michigan weather! I am with you, such a mood lifter!

    • It’s totally fun, right??? And thank you, I think she’s pretty darn cute myself :) 

      There’s no pool at my gym or I might try it out. I do tend to feel like a fish in a bowl when I do laps, though!! 

      Wish I could run, but I’m still enjoying our early spring! Usually March in MI is like, the armpit of the year, ya know???

      ________________________________

  5. my mood is definitely affected by the winter weather as well, so i’m super stoked about the sunshine and warmer weather lately! i’m glad you’re enjoying it too! πŸ™‚
    that’s great you’ve been able to do spin classes. they are a great way to get in a quality sweat session without the high impact. have you done any swimming? or incline walking? incline walking always kicks my ass… it’s no joke!

    • I haven’t swam just because I don’t have pool access, but incline walking is a good possibility! I just worry that I’ll get on the treadmill and just want to run!! 

      ________________________________

Leave a reply

