Peanut Butter Banana Muffins {with Coconut}–and a comeback!

Big news!!!

I ran over the weekend! πŸ˜€

On Saturday morning, I really wanted to do a “long run” on the elliptical because I’ve been worried about losing my endurance. I did 15 miles and sort of hated it–mostly because I’d rather be running, but I’ll spare you the woe is me rant about that. Anyway, after the 15, I decided I’d try running on the treadmill just to see how my back was feeling. I figured I’d set it at a slow, easy pace and just try for half a mile. After the half mile, I still felt decent, so I decided I could do a full mile. And after that, I still felt great, so I upped the pace a tiny bit (I know), and did another mile. Since I’m not a total lunatic (only a partial one), I knew I should stop after 2 miles, so I did. But the good news: no pain! And after: no pain! And because I’m a sap, I even got a little teary while I was running. Yes, I’m that girl on the treadmill at the gym crying tears of joy because I’m so happy to be running!!!

Totally normal behavior.

Anyway, I’m not back to 100% by any means, but I did another 2 miles this morning and felt ok. I’m going to keep my miles low and my pace slow–and there certainly won’t be running everyday right now, but I think I’m getting there.

Yipppeeeeee!!!!

******************************************************************************

Since I got my peanut flour, I’ve been chomping at the bit to put it to use. That happened the other day when I created some pretty stellar and decently healthy peanut butter banana muffins–with coconut. Oh, and chocolate chips. You know, just for good measure.

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins {with coconut}

Makes 6 muffins

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 T. coconut milk (or any milk)

1/2 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup peanut flour

1/4 cup coconut flour (or all purpose flour)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Optional:

1/4 cup chocolate chips

1/4 cup shredded coconut

Mix the bananas, applesauce, coconut milk, and vanilla in a small bowl until combined. Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients (except chocolate chips and coconut) with a whisk, making sure to get all the clumps out of your flour. You could sift, but let’s be real. I don’t sift anything.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just to combine, being careful not to over mix. Fold in the chocolate chips and coconut. Batter will be THICK.

Use 1/4 cup measure to transfer batter to a sprayed muffin tin. Bake muffins for 20-22 minutes at 400* or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

DSC06743

The peanut flour makes these muffins incredibly dense and moist. They taste totally decadent, but have fewer than 220 calories a piece and are packed with protein. If you left out your coconut and chocolate chips, they’d be even better for you.

DSC06742

I’m not going to lie: I’m pretty proud of these. Spectacular effort on my part! πŸ˜‰ Even Roo approves!

DSC06735

Check out the gooey-ness!

DSC06744

Yeah, you’re going to want to make these. A lot of stores are carrying gluten-free flours now, so you should be able to find peanut flour without too much trouble. Or, you can always order some from iHerb.com and use this code (AWO351) to get yourself a little discount!

I mean, don’t you want these in your life?

DSC06740

The answer is yes. Yes, you do.

I’m off to DC for the week, but I’ve got some fun guest posts lined up for you! I hope you enjoy them, have a wonderful week, and give my guest posters a little love!

12 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Muffins {with Coconut}–and a comeback!

  1. hhrunner says:

    πŸ™‚ that’s so exciting that you got to run!! i am now officially 100% jealous of you lol. have fun on your trip!!! ❀

  2. YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!! So happy that you are on the road to recovery….And you are playing it very smart and that will only work in your favor! You will be back to racing before you know it πŸ™‚

    As for the muffins….ohmygoodness! They look AMAZING! If you put coconut in anything, I will have hearts coming out of my eyes I will be so in love! YUMMY!!!

  3. woohoo!! i’m so excited for you and your successful run! i hope things continue to look up as you increase your mileage. πŸ™‚
    as for those muffins… WOW! these look and sound amazing. i’m glad i just bought some peanut flour! i’m definitely putting it to use and making these!

  4. Yay for two miles! I know exactly how ya feel. It’s a spiritual thing, running. So now judgements on the tears, haha.

    Those muffins look tasty; I’m always in the market for new recipes that pack a good protein punch. Must put these on my to-bake list before I head back to work in a few weeks!

  5. First of all, oh my gosh those muffins look amazing. PB & banana is pretty much my favorite food so I’m sure could totally demolish those.
    Second – CONGRATS CONGRATS on no pain for 2 miles! That is really exciting and I hope it’s a sign of more recovery and running to come! Overcoming boredom for 15 miles on the elliptical is no easy feat either, way to go.

Leave a reply

