{Healthy} Dark Chocolate Shake

As you are reading this, I’m up above the clouds–in flight to Seattle for this pretty lady’s wedding!

Seattle 2 030My favorite cousin is getting married this weekend!!! As she said in an email earlier this week, “Holy shit balls!!!” Yep, we’re related. 🙂

But I didn’t want to leave y’all totally hanging in my absence–and yes, it will be somewhat extended. I’m in Seattle until Sunday night, then I turn around and head to DC for the week on Monday morning. In the meantime, I’ve got lots of great guest posters lined up, and I’ll be popping in from time to time, too. You know I just can’t stay away!

Today, I have to share with you possibly the most disgusting, but best tasting recipe I’ve come up with to date. I hesitate to call it a recipe because it’s so incredibly simple, but humor me, will you?

As usual.

{Healthy} Dark Chocolate Shake

Serves one

2 frozen bananas

1/3-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 heaping tablespoon special dark cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. xantham gum, for thickening (optional)

sprinkle of salt

Break bananas up into big pieces. Add all ingredients to blender and process until smooth. That’s it!

DSC06873

Trust me, I know it’s not much to look at. But it is delicious. And the sprinkle of salt makes the chocolate chocolatier. Yes, you read that right. Just trust me on this one and do it, will you? I wouldn’t steer you wrong!

And I served mine in a champagne glass because it was the only one I had that wasn’t packed. I’m such a class act. 😉

You could do this with regular cocoa powder, but the dark cocoa makes it extra rich and delicious, so if you can find it, get.it.

What are you heallthifying lately?

6 thoughts on “{Healthy} Dark Chocolate Shake

Leave a reply

