Life is Good

Have I told . . . you lately . . . that I love you???

Rodstew

It’s true. Me and Rod Stew. We think you’re pretty fantastic. So thanks, once again, for being the most amazing readers and blog friends on the planet! I adore you! 

{end lovefest}

OK, so quick update on a few things that are going on with me:

1. I love my neighborhood/building/apartment

U street dc

Oh yes. Everything is amazing. First of all, the people are super friendly and nice and welcoming, which I am kind of obsessed with! And EVERYONE in my building has a dog, so Roo has a gazillion playmates and is getting her sassy pants on every time we go down the hall. It’s fantastic. And there are bars and restaurants and shops and LIFE just steps from my door. The city energy is intoxicating. I am smitten. Deep deep smit going on up in here. 

2. Work is my favorite thing ever

I love my jobWeird, right? But I had one of those moments yesterday where I was working and realized I was having a really fun time. And then I realized, “Hey, this is my job!” It was like a rainbow appeared and fairy dust poured out and everything just seemed really shiny and sparkly. Yes! I think this is how you’re supposed to feel when you’re in a career you love. What’s even better is that I feel like I’m just getting started (obviously). It’s only going to get better from here! Wheeeeeeeeee!!!!!

3. Running in the city? LOVE.

Korean War Memorial Mall

OK, so the constant crosswalks and fear that I might get hit by a car are not the best. But how fun is it that I can run around the monuments, past the White House, around Dupont Circle (or past it anyway–I don’t really want to get tangled up in that shit), or along the Potomac any day of the week??? The answer is super fun. Amazingly fun. Ridiculously, obscenely, fantastically fun. 

4. The energy

Images  2

It’s weird, but even though I haven’t been getting a ton of sleep, I have so much energy–I think I’m feeding off of the city, but I’m not asking questions. It’s like a drug–intoxicating, but not harmful. Kind of amazing. 

What’s most amazing to me is here I am in a new city, effectively all alone. I’m away from family, friends, and everything familiar. But I don’t feel alone at all. In fact, I’m meeting new people all the time, and I love it! Will I have a random freak out in a week or two and wonder what I’m doing here? Perhaps. But for now, and I think for the foreseeable future, life is good.

17 thoughts on “Life is Good

  1. hhrunner says:

    This post makes me so happy, I am so glad to hear that you are loving everyone so much! ❤ You deserve the absolute best!

  2. YAY! I’m so happy for you :). Life definitely does sound great right now! I think I would love everything like that too. I’m so glad that things are going well for you girlie!! Hope you’re having a great Wednesday ❤

  3. Loved catching up on your blog today. What an amazing time in your life! I can FEEL the excitement come thru the posts.

    You deserve all of this happiness and I am smiling for you all the way in Kalamazoo:-)

    And can I just say that I am so happy that you got out of the state because that Craigslist Creep was downright stalking your ass! Dear Lord!

    Keep embracing this season and I am excited to follow along on your next chapter.

    Cheers to you!

  4. AAck your happiness is contagious, I was smiling when I finished reading this!

    Mt. Pleasant?! LOVE that neighborhood, a bunch of my girlfriends used to live right up on irving st, which I think is close to the photo?

    Just think of all the fabulous places you can run, so many options for new running routes…

  5. SO SO SO Happy to hear you are settling in so well!! I have a list a mile long for you of places you must try and things you must do! Now all I have to do is write them down…

  6. Rainbows and fairy dust? All you’re missing is the unicorn, but I’m sure you’ll see him on your next run. Any chance you could turn all this sparkly happiness into a catchy tune? I’d buy the mp3.

  7. thehinzadventures says:

    Hi there it’s me…..sorry I’ve been so MIA this week…this fundraising is kicking my ass…coupled with everything else life has been insane these past days! IM SO HAPPY YOUR HAPPY! I can’t wait to visit….so…speaking of visiting….I’m thinking seriously of july 4th…. am I still invited?

    xoxo from Trinidad

Leave a reply

