Now I’m a Lamp

This morning I woke up with every intention of running. My ankles were feeling a little achy, so I knew it was raining again.

What? You don’t get achy joints when it rains? Oh, it’s just my old ass that that happens to? Great. 

Anywho, I took Roo out to do her business, and sure enough, it was all drizzly and nasty out. It was the same way yesterday morning, but I ran anyway. And was miserable pretty much the whole time. So instead of punishing myself, I chose–yes CHOSE–to do a weights workout instead. 

I dont even know you anymore

This is what comes up when you google, “I don’t even know you anymore.” True story.

That’s right! I had a hot date with Jillian, and dare I say, I didn’t hate it! In fact, after over a month of not lifting anything but the odd moving box, it felt good to bust out my dumbbells.

Blog 001

Yep, those beastly 3 pounders made an appearance this morning. 

I’ve been trying to figure out all day why I suddenly enjoyed this strength training sesh when I’ve vehemently despised anything weights-related for . . . well, always. 

Here’s what I came up with: 

1. Variety is the spice of life. 

Yes, I love running running running. But my body occasionally needs a break–probably much more often than I give it one. After a month straight of only running, I think the ol’ bod was looking for a change of pace. 

2. Doing a video forces you to workout

I didn’t phrase that well, so allow me to explain. When Jillian and her chicks are in front of you doing the reps at a certain pace and moving through the circuit, you have to keep up. Well, you don’t have to, but it’s a workout video. If I can’t keep up with that, I’m going to hate myself later. I do a lot of motivating self-talk like, “Don’t be such a wimp!” and “They’re not even sweating you weakling!” It should be noted that I’m only this hard on myself. I would cheer anyone else on through this with sincerity and enthusiasm. True story. 

3. You have to warm up and cool down

That’s right. You have to. It’s built in. And I can never fast forward or rewind on my DVD player very well, so I may as well do it. But it reminds me, too, that I need to spend 5 minutes before and after any workout stretching and getting my body ready to go. Good lesson there. 

Is this earth-shattering news? No. but it’s good for me to experience a strength workout and actually enjoy it. I have to remember this  next time I think I hate strength training. 

8 thoughts on “Now I’m a Lamp

  1. I love Jillian’s “No More Trouble Zones” DVD. I’ve been doing it off and on for awhile, mixed in with the 30 Day Shred (yes, I’m a serious fan of Jillian) and my regular gyn workouts. Yet, when I did it this morning, I was POURING sweat by the end of it. Dripping. Please tell me this happens to you too (or else I’ve gotten crazy out of shape!)

  2. thehinzadventures says:

    As you know…i am constantly trying new workouts and videos! I love P90x, exactly for that reason…warm up and cool down motivation! Tomorrow is plyometrics….after 60 min u r dripping- its crazy! But my legs are getting really strong…Im noticing it on my long runs and speed workouts!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  3. I need to remember to do my Jillian workouts when I can’t run (ahem, like today). Love her!

    I DO get achy arms and hands when it’s about to rain — and mad pressure up and down my forearms. Getting older is AWESOME.

  4. hhrunner says:

    “They’re not even sweating you weakling” – hands down my favorite line of this post. I lava you mucho mi amiga. Don’t even try to guess what language that is, it was a mix of English/Spanish/Rachael Weirdness.

Leave a reply

