I Cooked! Aren’t You Proud?

Remember when I used to post recipes? Like, all the time? No? So you’ve been reading for about the past year then. πŸ™‚Β 

Yeah, in its infancy, this blog was packed with recipe posts for healthy party of one dishes that I whipped up for myself almost nightly. Now? Not so much.Β 

I mean, I still eat (duh), but my recipe inspiration has been seriously lacking. And I was making good stuff back in the day, so I have no idea why I stopped. Anyway, I felt inspired the other night and pulled together this light, fresh summery dish from the randomness I found in my fridge, and you know something? It wasn’t half bad. In fact, I’m going to go ahead and say it was incredibly delicious.Β 

DSC07049

Hmmm . . . I’ll call this one

Kitchen Sink Stir Fry

Serves 1-2 (a ha-uge portion for one . . . )

1 chicken breast, diced

1 tsp. olive oil

1/2 medium onion, sliced

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 zucchini, quartered and diced

6 baby carrots, julienned (or diced)

1 ear of corn, cooked and cut off the cob

1 cup canned diced tomatoes in juice

1 handful spinach

1/4-1/2 cup cooked quinoa (depending on how much you like)

2 T. crumbled feta (Trader Joe’s Mediterranean Feta is amazing)

salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add chicken, season with S&P, and cook about 5 minutes. Add in onion and garlic and cook 5 more minutes. Add in zucchini and carrots, season with more S&P, and cook 3-5 minutes, until carrots have softened a bit. Add in corn, tomatoes, and spinach and cook just until spinach is wilted.Β 

Serve over quinoa, sprinkle with feta, and crack a little fresh pepper over the top–done!

DSC07051

So I obviously forgot the feta in these photos, but you can imagine it for me, right? K, thanks.

This was easy, fresh, and filling. You could definitely use whatever veggies you have on hand–or prefer–to throw this together for yourself in no time!Β 

What are you eating this weekend?

11 thoughts on “I Cooked! Aren’t You Proud?

  1. I’ve still never had quinoa. I wanna try it but it looked like rice as far as nutrition facts were concerned. Is it better? I love me some chicken and veggies. Did you eat the whole thing? Cuz that sounds like a lot O’ food.

  2. Mmmm I am glad you cooked again Melissa! I have actually used a few of your recipes before (and linked to them on my blog of course πŸ™‚ ) … the scallop withe succotash was my favorite! This looks great too, of course!

  3. Your stir fry looks so fresh and yummy! I’ve had a lack in cooking motivation lately. I feel so drained at the end of the workday. What’s been nice about the weather getting better is the ease of using the grill. I prep on the weekend using different marinades, lean protein and veggies & quickly cook things up when I get home. Not sure what’s going to happen when it gets cold again, but I have plenty of time until then. Hope many more yummy, home-cooked dinners are in your near future. XO

Leave a reply

