And So It Begins

 

I guess I am feeling especially sensitive lately. Pretty much anything anyone says to me makes me feel criticized . . . inadequate . . . defensive. 

Somecards snark

I’m usually not this bad with criticism. I can handle a little constructive feedback pretty well, and usually, I actually want to hear it. I want to know what I can do better. But recently, I’ve been incredibly hard on myself–like, harder than usual–so I guess my tolerance for other people’s feedback is a little low, especially when it seems like people are just being mean. But, after reading your comments on my last post, I realize that haters are gonna hate for whatever reasons they have of their own, and if they don’t like me, well, who cares? 

So if you hate me and want to leave a negative comment, bless your heart. But I’m not going to stop blogging or being me because really, I’m not all that bad. 

Let’s move on, shall we???

Aside from having a lovely weekend with my friends Erica and Logan and running all over DC . . . 

DSC07140

With matching pimp cups . . .

DSC07157

and intern bars . . . 

DSC07185
monuments . . . 
 
DSC07187
and giant burgers and beers . . . 
 
. . . I am VERY excited about starting my marathon training! 
 
This morning, I did 5 miles at 8:26 pace, and although it was humid, I felt great. There’s nothing like a good run to shake off bad feelings, and this one definitely did the trick! 
 
This time around, I’m planning on an injury-free training. I can already feel that my hip/back might be sliding out of place again, so I need to find a physical medicine doctor to pop it back into place. For whatever reason, my alignment keeps getting screwed up, but at least I know how to deal with it now. I also think regular strength training–which I’m starting to actually like???–is going to help. So my weeks from now until November are going to look like this: 
 
Sunday: Strength/XT
Monday: Easy Run
Tuesday: Strength/XT
Wednesday: Speedwork/Tempo Run
Thursday: Easy Run
Friday: REST/yoga
Saturday: Long Run
 
If I feel like I need an additional rest day, I’ll probably take Sundays off, too. But I really want to try to get 2 strength sessions in a week and fit yoga in somewhere, too. I also plan on regular foam rolling and ice baths after those long runs. I think I’ll hold off until I’m at least up to 16 miles (i.e., as long as I can help it!), but after that, I know they’re going to be necessary. 
 
As always, if you have any helpful training tips for me, bring ’em on! Paula suggested getting more protein, which I think is really smart. To that end, I rocked a ginormous green monster this morning!
Green monsta
What else ya got for me? 
16 thoughts on “And So It Begins

  1. you’re exactly right – haters are gonna hate. i know it’s not always easy, but just ignore them. they are probably miserable and want to do what they can to make your life miserable too. i think you’re awesome, hilarious, and beautiful – don’t you forget it!

  2. I would definitely agree that more protein would help, and i think 1-2 rest days is smart. also, you might wanna go easy on the legs one of those strength training days to avoid having super fatigued legs all the time. at least, i had that problem my last marathon training cycle and only doing 1 full body day and 1 more focused on arms/abs for strength helped 🙂

  3. If you want an extra rest day, skip that easy run. Unless you plan on doing your long run another day?
    I want to run another marathon but the thought of all that training again is what kills me. Can’t wait to run with you on Saturday!

  4. I am SO excited to follow you along with your marathon training. I’m living vicariously through you right now. Kinda sad I’m not training for a marathon this year.

    And as for the haters? People throw rocks at things that shine 🙂

    Have a good week girl!

  5. I’m so psyched for you! I can’t wait to hear about your training leading up to the bid day.

    As for the haters out there. I know it’s hard sometimes to listen to negativity but they are a bunch of cowards. How hard is it to hide behind a monitor and a keyboard and lash out at people? I-G-N-O-R-E.

    Good luck with everything!

  6. i liked u better when you were training…lol Just kidding. Happy you are excited.
    MY foot is feeling better – have the BIG pre-olympic dr. apt on Monday. (hopefully…the boot will be coming off)

    xoxo from Trinidad

  7. Oh love, I just read your last post too…and I’m glad that you aren’t letting stupid haters ruin your blogging experience! I would miss you if you disappeared! And yay for starting marathon training! I definitely think that you are approaching the training with your head on straight…not that I would know ;). Happy Monday pretty lady ❤

  8. Melissa, my blood pressure rises when I hear of people who are being rude or mean to the ones I love and care about! You are such an amazing friend, blogger, and person – please, please do not let these people bother you. You are in a whole other class and they do not deserve your time or cares.

    And thank you for all of your prayers and support that you have been sending my way. It truly does mean a lot as I weather losing my mom. You have always been an inspiration to me and for that I thank you. Keep focusing on the friendships that you have formed and ignore the negativity.

    And on another note:

    I AM SO EXCITED to follow and cheer you on as you embark on your journey to the marathon….EKKKS! Best of luck in your training. You my friend are going to kick ass 🙂

Leave a reply

