A Roo Update, Among Other Things

There are a gazillion things swirling around in my head today. Well, most days. But anyway. Here’s a random smattering of what I’ve been up to and what’s on my mind.

Roo

Saturday was Roo’s first birthday. Girl is hard to shop for—mostly because she chews the bejesus out of everything. We’re talking destruction. She kills these toys, ripping the stuffing out of them within minutes of receiving them. Most of the time, I’ve taken to letting her chew on empty Gatorade bottles because they’re cheap and disposable. Oh, and she has an absolute field day with them.

But since a puppy only turns one once, I got her a Tuffy Octopus Toy. She really does love soft toys, and she’s played with Tuffy’s Lobster before without mutilating it, so I figured we’d give the octopus a try.

This happened within an hour:

At least she had fun with her $20 toy. Then she accidentally swallowed a piece of stuffing when I wasn’t looking and threw up in the middle of the night. The joys of motherhood.

Oh, she was also featured in my company’s newsletter last week as the pet of the month. She’s basically famous.

ENERGYbits

A few weeks ago, I got in touch with ENERGYbits about trying a sample of their algae tabs for—what else—energy! I was a little skeptical. After all, the recommended dosage is 20-30 little tabs, and I am not a huge pill swallower. The alternative is to chew them. I chewed one and immediately had to brush my teeth and rinse my mouth. To say that is an acquired taste is putting it mildly.

However! The bits? They work. Rather than taking them to power me through a workout, I popped them during my mid-afternoon slump. You know, the hours between 3 and 5 pm? Yeah, probably my least productive time of day. Early in the day, I’m good, but at 3, I hit a wall. So I popped some bits, and I was more productive than I’ve been in a long time—so much so that I lost track of time and was surprised to look up and see it was time to go home! While the Bits are a little on the pricey side, I think they’d be nice to have on hand for those days when you just don’t think you’ll make it another 2 hours.

Apple Sesame Panini

Lately, I tend to find one food I like and eat it like it’s my job. Right now, it’s this Panini:

Jarlsberg or Beemster, thinly sliced honeycrisp apples, thyme, sea salt, and pepper on sesame baguette. The combo is just ridiculous. Please try it. Especially on the sesame bread. Toasted sesame seeds are the jam. And I don’t say things like that.

Tumor

Despite Paula’s protests, I am still convinced I have a tumor. I’m happy, like, all the time. It’s weird. I don’t know how to handle it. Not that I want to go back to feeling dark and twisty, but still. Also, I’m not all that interested in drinking. Or dessert. And I’m sleeping really well. Told you. TUMOR.

Who else has a crazy chewer dog? What toys hold up?
Have you tried ENERGYbits? What gets you through the afternoon slump?
Did you make my panini yet???
Do I have a tumor? (I’m pretty sure I have a tumor.)

6 thoughts on “A Roo Update, Among Other Things

  1. thehinzadventures says:

    Roo is So famous. Dog of the Month – amazing!
    Glad your happy girl..we are going to have the best weekend

    xoxo from Trinidad

  2. Rachel S. says:

    Hi Melissa! I stumbled across your blog one day randomly and am hooked. I love your energy and you are so motivating.

    I have a little Jack Russell Terrior (at times I would call terror) that loves to play with water bottles too. To class it up a bit, one year she received one of these for her birthday.

    http://www.amazon.com/Fat-Cat-Water-Bottle-Crunchers/dp/B001B4SG2I

    Maybe a thought for Roo for the holidays. Keep blogging and hopefully the NY Marathon is a go next year as it is on my list of things to do for my 30th. Good luck from Seattle!!

  3. My puppy was in my work newsletter too 🙂 I cut out the article and put it on the fridge. Except then it went to his head and he started acting like a hot shot (i.e. not sharing the bed, digging thru the trash, eating all of the bulbs off of the Christmas tree), so I had to take it down and bring him back to reality.

    I was just thinking how the hours between 3-5pm are THE WORST hours of the whole day. Ughhh. DRAAAG ON….so yes, I think I need some ENERGYbits right about now:-)

  4. happy birthday roo! I hope she enjoyed her first birthday! 🙂 We’ve never really had animals that were chew-ers, but they also never really played with real toys either. The gatorade bottles sound like a great option:)

Leave a reply

