(Leftover) Turkey Pot Pie

Did everyone have a lovely holiday weekend? I will go ahead and be that cliche person that complains that it was waaaaaaay too short. But I realized this morning that I haven’t had more than a few days off in at least 18 months, so I guess I’m overdue for a vacation! Luckily, I’ll be in Trinidad in less than 2 months!

Stolen from Corey

Anyway, I had a very lounge-y weekend, including a quick trip to Richmond for Thanksgiving, a Thunder Shirt purchase for Miss RooShe loves it–I swear

and the ceremonial decorating of the Christmas tree. Truthfully, it wasn’t all that ceremonial and was punctuated by me yelling at the football game on TV rather than reveling in Christmas spirit.

But, the rest of the weekend involved a lot of movie-watching, internet-surfing, and face-stuffing.

In case you have any turkey left over, I have a recipe for you today–yes, I actually cooked something! I know it’s been a hot minute since I posted a recipe, but I actually remembered what I put into this and snapped a pic, so recipe it is!

(Leftover) Turkey Potpie

Serves 2 generously

1 T. Smart Balance Light or other buttery spread
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 T. flour
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup turkey or chicken broth–OR leftover gravy
1 cup frozen mixed veggies
3/4 cup leftover turkey, diced or shredded
1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning
1 pre-made pie crust

Preheat oven to 425.

Heat Smart Balance over medium heat until melted. Add onions and season with salt and pepper. Cook about 5 minutes until softened. Sprinkle flour over top and cook about 1 minute until flour is absorbed. Gently whisk in milk and broth, and whisk constantly for 3-5 minutes until bubbly and thickened. Add veggies, turkey, and poultry seasoning and reduce heat to low. Allow flavors to combine while you set up your crust.

In a small baking dish, lay out the pie crust. The dish should be small enough that you have quite a bit of crust going over the sides. I used the green one on the right:

Gently press the crust into the dish, and pour the turkey mixture into the middle. Carefully fold the crust over the top, sealing the edges. Cut a few slits in the top to allow the heat to escape, and bake 30-40 minutes.

Full disclosure: I did eat the whole thing. I do not recommend this. It is neither healthy nor necessary as this is very filling, but my stomach was all stretched out from all that Thanksgiving eating, so it felt like the right thing to do.

It may not be fantastically attractive, but I assure you, it isย good.

Don’t worry, the next day I ate this, which negated all the unhealthiness:

Black beans, corn, basil, cherry tomatoes, red pepper, avocado, and romaine dressed with lemon juice, salt, and lots of black pepper. Detox in a bowl.

What’d you do with your leftovers?

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “(Leftover) Turkey Pot Pie

  1. Corey Melke says:

    can u give me your login…to our st pete pics….I want to buy one for yours!

    Corey Melke

    โ€œChampion the right to be yourself; dare to be different and to set your own pattern; live your own life and follow your own star.โ€ Wilfred Peterson

    >________________________________ > From: Hungry Healthy Happy >To: cmelke620@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, November 26, 2012 12:39 PM >Subject: [New post] (Leftover) Turkey Pot Pie > > WordPress.com >Melissa posted: “Did everyone have a lovely holiday weekend? I will go ahead and be that cliche person that complains that it was waaaaaaay too short. But I realized this morning that I haven’t had more than a few days off in at least 18 months, so I guess I’m overdue for” >

Leave a reply

