(vegan) sweet potato biscuits

Let’s talk for a quick sec about this vegan experiment I’m doing. 

This is not something I’ve researched well or even thought through very much, so I am by no means an expert. But after a particularly gluttonous 3 days of Thanksgiving eating, I felt like crap and wanted to clean it up. On a whim, I thought, “I could be vegan for a few weeks!” I do eat mostly vegetarian as it is (not intentionally–I just tend to prefer veggies over meat), so I figured that eating vegan wasn’t that far of a leap. Mostly, for me, it’s eliminating eggs and cheese, which hasn’t been hard.

Here’s what I’m noticing since I started this 5 days ago:

  • Increased energy
  • Better sleep
  • Almost zero cravings for sugar/sweet things
  • Feeling full/satisfied all the time–I’m almost never hungry
  • Brighter skin/eyes (but this may be an effect of more sleep!)
  • Overall improved mood

So, I guess this could all be a fluke, but I feel good enough that I’m willing to keep it up and see if it makes any additional differences. To be clear–I am not doing this to lose weight. As I’ve said before, I don’t weigh myself, and honestly, I have no idea what my current weight is. But I do know that I was eating like Elvis during marathon training, and that didn’t feel great. I was tired all the time, not sleeping well, and constantly cranky. The difference I’m feeling now after just a few days is kind of remarkable, so I’m going to stick to it. 

Thus far, I’ve stuck to being completely vegan all the time, but if I decide that I want some cheese or an egg, I’m going to have it. That said, I’m not craving those foods at all. Or sweets, for that matter, which pretty much blows my mind given the historic power of my sweet tooth. 

Anyway, the vegan experiment means I’m spending a lot more time in the kitchen concocting things to fit with this lifestyle. One of the first experiments I had was with these sweet potato biscuits.

DSC07744

They don’t look like much; I know.

But I promise you, they are so freaking good. And here’s where I say something that doesn’t sound like me at all. Instead, it sounds like some super foodie/restaurant reviewer type. The flavor profile in these is really complex. Yep, you heard me. We’ve got sweet potato, maple syrup, cinnamon, black pepper, and garlic. An odd combination for sure, but it comes together in a sweet, savory, spicy symphony <–really getting into that foodie speak now, aren’t we? 

DSC07742

Also: this is easy. I don’t have a biscuit cutter or a mixer with a dough hook or any other fancy kitchen equipment. Nor do I have the patience to spend hours making dinner. Thankfully, these don’t require a lot of time or effort. 

(Vegan) Sweet Potato Biscuits

Makes about 6

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour 

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 T. baking powder

1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. garlic powder

1/2 t. black pepper

1/8 t. cinnamon

1/2 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato (about 1/2 a medium potato; I cooked mine in the microwave)

1.5 T. pure maple syrup, divided

2 T. Smart Balance Light, melted and divided

1/2 cup warm water

1. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl, mixing well. 
2. Mix sweet potato, 1 T. maple syrup, and 1 T. Smart Balance in a separate bowl and set aside. 
3. Add water and sweet potato mixture to dry ingredients. Mix in by hand until dough forms into a ball. (Add more flour if it’s sticky).
4. Press dough onto a floured surface into a rectangle with your fingers, and cut into biscuits. I don’t have a biscuit cutter, so I just used a glass. 🙂
5. Mix the remaining syrup and Smart Balance in a small bowl, and brush on top of biscuits. 
6. Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 400* for 20 minutes.

DSC07746

Even if you’re not vegan–or vegetarian, for that matter–give these a shot. 

Could you be vegan? Vegetarian? Or are you a meat-eater?

5 thoughts on “(vegan) sweet potato biscuits

  1. We are so alike, it’s scary sometimes! I recently went “veganish” in the last few months, also! I’ve been veggie for years, and after watching the documentary “Forks Over Knives”, I knew I could really try my best to eliminate all animals products. The hardest for me is cheese – it seems to sneak up EVERYWHERE!!

    I am having fun trying new vegan recipes, too. Like these Pumpkin Cran Walnut Muffins! http://www.fiterature.com/2012/10/19/pumpkin-cranberry-walnut-muffins/. Can’t wait to try these biscuits. They look great!

  2. Not sure I could ever give up meat. I know that things like tofu, beans and other natural forms of protein are better, but 29 years of eating meat isn’t something I could move away from. I do, however, eat a lot of lean meats. I try to stay away from red meat as much as possible. Ground turkey is an excellent alternative to beef in chili. The beans in the chili are an added bonus.

    I mostly just try to keep my diet as balanced as possible. I eat a lot of veggies and fruit. I also try to include some super foods whenever possible. I need to look more into chia seeds.

  3. If this posts twice, I apologize. I don’t think I could ever move away from meat completely. I have spent 29 years eating the stuff. I do, however, eat mostly lean meat, and I stay away from the red stuff. Turkey goes great in chili, and the beans are added protein. I try to keep my diet as balanced as possible, with tons of veggies, fruits and some super foods. I need to look into chia seeds though.

  4. I will need you to make these for me. I will make you a giant alcoholic beverage as payment. Then I might even dance.
    Also, work on some type of cinnamony-frosting like dip for these. Kinda like what they have for sweet potato fries at some places. That would make my night of binging on these complete.

Leave a reply

