Cream of Mushroom Soup

I am well aware that there are many of you out there who think this whole vegan experiment I’m doing is insane. Those who think you could never give up chicken or beef or cheese or eggs. Believe me, I thought the same thing, but one day, I just wanted to try it. I was sick of feeling sluggish because I wasn’t eating as well as I could be. Guess what? When you can only eat plant-based foods, you essentially have to eat healthy. I mean, you could eat an entire jar of cashews and a loaf of bread, but that would defeat the purpose. Instead, I’m eating a lot of kale, squash, mushrooms, quinoa, beans, and I even had my first foray into tofurkey. The verdict? Actually really good. Swear to God. 

Tofurkey

Anyway, the point is that I feel lighter and brighter. I have energy. I wake up feeling rested. And my cravings for sweets and heavier foods? Non-existent. In fact, I’m actually a little nervous to eat anything heavier because I’m not sure how it would make me feel. I could do without any stomach-related issues (which I haven’t had, btw) for the rest of my life. 

I’m doing this whole vegan thing for my health–because it makes me feel good, not because I want to lose weight. I feel like I need to say this one more time, just so everyone understands. I will probably go back to eating cheese and eggs and butter and meat at some point. But for now, I’m trying this. 

I’ve been having lots of fun concocting new recipes, and since it’s soup weather (well, not now–now, it’s 70* in December, but you know) I’ve been craving some comfort. This Cream of Mushroom Soup fits the bill. It’s creamy and delicious with almost 20g of protein per 2 cup serving. Plus, like everything else I cook, it’s easy peasy. 

(vegan) Cream of Mushroom Soup 

Makes 3 2-cup servings

2 T. Smart Balance light

1/2 cup onion, diced

2 T. flour

20 oz. cremini mushrooms, sliced

1 tsp. thyme

2 cups vegetable stock

3 cups plain soy milk (or other non-dairy milk)

Heat Smart Balance over medium heat in a large stock pot until melted. Add onions and season with salt and pepper, cooking until softened, about 7 minutes. Add mushrooms and thyme and stir, cooking about 8-10 minutes, or until mushrooms are softened and give off their juices. Sprinkle flour over mushrooms and stir until flour is absorbed. Season with more salt and pepper.

Whisk in vegetable stock and soy milk and bring the mixture to a bubble, then simmer, uncovered, for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

Puree in small batches in the blender, about 2 cups at a time, or if you prefer whole mushrooms, leave as is. I like mine to have some texture so I don’t puree it until it’s completely smooth. Make it however you like! 

Mushroom soup

What kind of soup is your favorite?

I love my dad’s homemade Pasta Fagioli and Trader Joe’s Roasted Butternut Squash.

8 thoughts on “Cream of Mushroom Soup

  1. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    Your food pictures always look so incredible. I think it’s great that you’re experimenting with going vegan. It sounds like a good challenge and if it makes you feel great, that’s even better! I always say that I’m an unofficial vegetarian because I eat like one 95% of the time. 🙂

  2. Ahh we really need to chat! So I have just given up meat from my diet and can already notice a difference. I am really thinking of getting on the vegan train though. I have read blogs and talked to people who say the same thing you do. I am also starting to get really turned off dairy too, so I don’t think it would be that hard (although I do have greek yogurt everyday) because I am not even a “cheese person.” There is something to be said about eating from the earth as whacko as that might sound

  3. I don’t believe in soup. It doesn’t fill me up. You’d think it would make you eat less for your meal, but it doesn’t. And then it’s not enough for a meal on it’s own. So then I walk around having eaten 200 more calories when that could have gone to froyo.
    I can only think of 3 soups I like – wonton, tom kah gai (that Thai coconut soup), and tomato soup (but ONLY if I have a toasted cheese sandwich to dip in it). Oh, I guess I like french onion too. But we all know why I like that one.

Leave a reply

