Vegan Update

You guys.

Hi.

I am sososo sorry that I’ve been M.I.A. but I am hellabusy. That’s right. Hellabusy.

My new job is superfab, but at the end of the day, I am BEAT, and it’s all I can do to take Miss Roo for a walk, make dinner, and collapse in front of my DVR.

However, I am settling in to a bit of a routine, which can’t be a bad thing, right? And I’ve continued that vegan thing in the midst of all of this–with a few exceptions. (I mean, I had to try a few of the duck fat fries when I went to happy hour the other night).

Soooo, what’ve I been eating? Well . . .

A whole lotta kale (+ roasted fennel, duh)

roasted fennel salad

I massage (yes, massage) the kale with lemon juice and a little bit of tahini and let it sit while I roast up some veggies–usually fennel, butternut squash, broccoli, zucchini, eggplant, mushrooms, etc. then add some beans or tempeh for protein, a few tomatoes, and it’s good to go.

Tempeh like whoa

vegan biscuits and gravy

I am newly obsessed with tempeh. I hadn’t tried it before I started eating vegan, but it is shockingly delicious. Tempeh is just fermented soybeans (while tofu is made from getting the soybeans hot and curdling them). Since it’s less processed, it has more protein (about 15 g in 1/2 cup) and fiber (4ish g per 1/2 cup) and the texture is a bit meatier than tofu–you can actually see whole soybeans. The flavor is still very mild and will take on whatever you season it with. I was especially impressed with this recipe for Vegan Biscuits and Gravy that I came across on Pinterest. I made it with my Sweet Potato Biscuits, and it was obscenely delicious. Yes, obscenely.

Pizza made with Daiya cheese

daiya pizzaGod bless the makers of Daiya. It tastes and melts like real cheese. Tapioca and arrowroot flours, non-GMO canola and safflower oils, coconut oil and pea protein are some of the primary ingredients that make up Daiya. No gluten, no soy, no artificial anything. I’ve tried a few soy cheese, and they just don’t cut it (pun sort of intended?), so Daiya is the best in my opinion. Trader Joe’s also makes a similar style shredded mozz that is legit.

Fun veggie mains

vegetable studelAnother Pinterest find, this veggie strudel made with (eh) soy cheese, red peppers, eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms, onions, and artichokes was totally delicious. I even used phyllo dough, and it wasn’t a total disaster!

Just a few of my eats, but they are sooooo tasty. Seriously, every time I make something vegan, I am so surprised at how delicious it is. I don’t feel deprived or like I’m missing anything. On occasion, I do miss cheese and eggs, but for the most part, I’m very satisfied. And if I really want something non-vegan, I just have it. But for the most part, I haven’t wanted anything.

I’ve also noticed my interest in sweets is practically nonexistent, which is a totally new experience for me. I’m snacky-er, though, which I attribute to the fact that a lot of my vegan meals are naturally lower in calories and fat than non-vegan meals I was eating. Almonds, cashews, and pecans are my go-to’s right now as well as kombucha (who am I???). It’s fizzy and kind of strong tasting in a way that makes it impossible to guzzle (which is always my problem), so I can sip on it for a good hour or 2. But I find myself craving it. So weird.

In general, I’m stil sleeping better, my skin is clear, my energy is high, and my stomach issues are completely gone. Kind of amazing.

Have you ever made a change in your diet that made you feel differently? 

Just curious!

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Vegan Update

  1. Angela @ Health's Angel says:

    I’m glad to hear this is going so well for you. And all of those eats really do look incredible. I’ve cut out most meat from my diet over the past couple of months (I still eat fish. I love salmon too much.) and I really do feel like it’s been a positive change! I also don’t eat a lot of dairy, mostly due to stomach issues. I’ve been meaning to try nutritional yeast.

    I’m almost to the point where I can say that I’m a pescetarian, but I don’t know if I want to make that commitment just yet. 😉 But I’m going to keep experimenting.

    • Haha, that’s why I say I “cheat,” or I’m not a strict vegan.

      It’s so weird–about a month after I started, I ordered a salad with salmon just to try it, and it tasted so rich! I couldn’t believe it. Your body adjusts!

      Nutritional yeast is interesting. I think I like it, but I can never really taste it when I add it to things 😉

  2. Glad that this is going well for you (oh, and your new job too)!! I LOOOOVE tempeh. It’s so good on pretty much everything (I love to order it on pizza and freak Dan out).

    When I cut out all artificial sugar my body kinda had an “a-ha” moment. Like – wow, you have tastebuds again!!

  3. Glad to see you are keeping up with this lifestyle change alongside a big career change! I keep wanting to try vegan, but the hidden dairy-mostly cheese-is still a hang up to me. I am doing nutritional yeast as a substitute as much as possible right now.

Leave a reply

