Three Things Thursday: The Beauty Edition

I absolutely LOVED reading all of your comments about what’s making you happy–they all made me smile! And to those of you commenting for the first time, nice to “meet” you! πŸ™‚

And the winner is . . .

giveaway numberAmanda of Miles Gone By! YAY! Since she’s someone who’s been hanging around these parts for quite some time, I “know” Amanda, and she’s a total doll. A girl after my own heart with a love for pups, running, and sweets!

amandas commentCongrats, doll! Email me, and I’ll set you up with the My Race Ragz folks to claim your prize. I can’t wait to see what you create!

*********************************************************************************************

Today, I wanted to share some of my recent beauty favorites since I’m randomly obsessed with makeup right now. So strange since I’ve worn basically theΒ exact same makeup every single day for years, but I’m going with it.

1. Lorac Pro Palette

photo 2All the colors! The possibilities! And the best part is, they’re all fairly neutral which translates to wearable. I tend to go for gold/nude/brown tones, but I love the pinks and darker browns in this. There’s even a purple that I’m eyeing. Pretty sure that would do good things for my blue eyes. Oh, and this stuff stays on. No creasing, no fading. Pricey, but for a reason, ya know?

2. the balm Bahama Mama bronzer

IMG_0342(I had to use this instead of a better picture so you could see how oddly awkward and fiercely concentrating I was taking these pictures.)

I’m slightly obsessed with Miss Cara’s Make Up blog, Maskcara, and especially enamored with her highlighting and contouring video. She recommended this bronzer, and as soon as I got it,Β I got it. It’s not orangey at all. You know how with some bronzers, you feel like, “Hey! I’m wearing bronzer!” Yeah, not the case with this one. Just a natural, warm glow. Again, a little pricey, but it doesn’t fade, which is probably my biggest complaint with all makeup. This guy’s a winner.

3. Cover Girl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Flame

photo 1Lipstick kind of freaks me out. Mostly because every time I wear it, I am acutely aware of the fact that I’m wearing lipstick. Anyone else know what I mean? This is especially the case with red lipstick–it basically terrifies me.

Anyway, my friend Erica was rocking this lipstick at a few holiday parties back in December, and it looked amazing on her. Since we’re similarly fair-skinned, I thought there might be a chance that it would work on me. For $6.99, I figured I’d give it a shot. Because I am a total nerd, I wore it around the house first before debuting it in public yesterday. It looks pink in that photo, but it’s just a soft red that I think would work on most skin tones. It’s a long wearing formula, but it’s not cakey and doesn’t get all weird on your lips (<–vaguest description ever). If you’re looking for a red lip to try, pick up some Flame.

Also on my LOVE list:Β 

photo 3But let’s chat about these another day, hmmmkay?

What makeup or beauty product are you loving right now?

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: The Beauty Edition

  1. Apparently we are all reading Maskcara and getting the products she recommends. I just bought this L’Oreal Gel 24h eyeliner that is the bomb diggity that she recommended. And a Maybelline eyeshadow color that I’ve only worn once but I’m gonna bust that crap out like a champ soon.

    • Yes! I saw your pic with the eyeliner yesterday–it looked great! I am afraid of eyeliner like that so you can show me how to use it next time you visit, k? K.

      ________________________________

  2. I just started using Lorac’s Natural Performance Foundation & I ❀ it! I've tried pretty much everything out there (drugstore + high-end) and 95% of foundations will oxidize within 10 minutes of being on my skin and turn ORANGE. Not a good look. This Lorac foundation is the only one that hides my redness, isn't drying, AND doesn't change color on me.

    I also just picked up Urban Decay's (I really need to stay out of Ulta + Sephora) Triple Threat Pencil set. Their 24/7 pencils have an awesome formula and this one is pretty affordable for 3 colors AND is perfect for travel http://www.urbandecay.com/Triple-threat-travel-Pencil-Set-by-Urban-Decay/351,default,pd.html?start=8&cgid=9999&prefn1=isNewDisplay&prefv1=true&srule=best-matches

    • Ooh, I have to look into that foundation . . . I know what you mean about staying away from Ulta and Sephora! I’m obsessed with the 24/7 pencils, too. They stay on foreverrrrr! And they have the best colors. I probably need this set, right? Right.

      ________________________________

  3. Lady!! I was having THE CRAPPIEST MORNING (i.e. fighting with apple tech support and forking over hundreds of dollar bills yo to replace my iPhone), so to say that this turned my frown upside down is an understatement! Thank, thank you!! I am so excited about winning this πŸ™‚

    Also, love your make-up in the car-selfie photo πŸ™‚
    I have a wedding in two weeks where I want to venture away from my usual gloss and try red lips. I think you have me convinced! Going on a Target run tonight to purchase….I will let you know how it goes!

    xoxo

  4. Is that an Audrey Hepburn phone cover??? If so, I seriously need one!

    I am loving Urban Decay’s eye primer in Eden. It is a yellow color & not only is it good for keeping the shadow on (I mean I HAVE to use makeup remover to get it off) it also works really well under your eyes at hiding dark circles. I always swore by Mac’s paint pot, but they haven’t had my color lately so I decided to try something new. Glad I did!

    I am totally going to try that bronzer you suggested (I always feel orange) & definitely the lipstick too. I always love red on people, but just never have the nerve to try it. I am definitely acutely aware anytime I wear lipstick & always test drive it around the house … totes normal!

    • Oh, I like the idea of the primer hiding dark circles! I’ll have to look into that. I hope you like the bronzer and lipstick. I love them!

      And yes, it’s Audrey. I heart her. πŸ™‚

  5. I have randomly became obsessed with makeup lately too and i blame youtube. it started when someone told me to youtube my naked palette for more ideas for new looks. well that turned into a slippery slope of finding other products i have and then finding reviews of best drugstore and sephora makeup. i have found so many amazing new products! the Lorac palette has been all over youtube recently, might go on my wishlist… πŸ˜‰

  6. I have the same fear of lipstick as you. I’ve been wearing gloss lately b/c my lips are so dry and I feel like a stranger every time I look in the mirror.

    I *almost* bought that Lorac palette – but when for the Naked palette instead. Expensive eyeshadow is totally worth it though!!

    I got 20 emails today (from friends – not Sephora) about magnetic nail polish – so I’m sure that’s the next thing I obsess over. And I don’t even like nail polish.

    • The Naked palette is on my wish list. :) 

      I don’t even know what magnetic nail polish is, but you’ve got my attention . . . 

      ________________________________

  7. i cant wait to try this bronzer. i feel so pale right now πŸ™‚
    my absolute fav fav fav eyeline is makeup forever. it goes on so smoothly and literally lasts FOREVER…lol…thus the name πŸ™‚ i am also a fan of MAC lipgloss, but d/t my increasing amounts of being irresponsible, i lose them…..ALL. THE. TIME……so now i refuse to spend more than 7.00 on a lip gloss…..
    happy weekend to you! thanks for sharing your favs!

  8. I love rockin’ a red lip every once in awhile, but since I stay away from lipstick as a whole otherwise, my husband always looks at me like I’m crazy when I wear red.
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Essie nail polish!

Leave a reply

